We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a disappointment”

Boat House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Hawley
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whether you are looking for lunch, dinner, a late night snack, or just meeting friends after work, we've got something for everyone at the Boat House!
Mountainhome, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow what a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Boat House is a Lake Wallenpaupack fixture. The atmosphere is pleasant, but as other reviewers noted, don't expect a view of the Lake. It must have been tattoo celebration night because the crowd in the place last Saturday was, let's say, the "ecclectic" I've ever seen there. Overall, it was noisy, rushed and the food was rather ho-hum. Oh, and don't waste your money on mixed drinks. The Long Island Ice Teas were mostly Coke and sour mix. There was little or no alcohol in the drinks--which at $10 each should have been amazing. Stick to beer or wine instead--at least you know what you're getting. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking for a nice experience. It used to be much better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    115
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
418 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A Great Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our friends discovered this restaurant, which is located on Lake Wallenpaupack (in the Pocono Mountains of PA) and we were so lucky to share the evening with them.

One small detail that almost prevented us from eating there was their reservation policy. They only accept reservations for parties of 7 or more......and they told our friends who had tried to make reservations that they get very busy between 5 and 7:30 PM on a Saturday night. We arrived at 6 PM on a Saturday night and we had a 30 minute wait. Normally, when they tell you that you have a 30 minute wait, it amounts to a 20-ish minute wait, but this time, it was the full 30 minutes. To be honest with you..........I really think that they had a shortage of waitstaff that night as we noticed that there were several empty tables in our requested screened patio area....and they were still there when we were seated 30 minutes later. I guess that we could have griped about the wait, but we would rather wait a few extra minutes and have great service rather than being seated immediately and have little or no attention. Our wait was well worth it as we were really happy with Susan, our server..............she was wonderful! Ask for her, if you can, as there was nothing that she wouldn't do to make your dinner a great experience............and that it was......for all 4 of us!

Two members of our party ordered the Seafood Sampler and were really happy with the entree. Another person ordered the Prime Rib (one of the specials for that evening) and was SO thrilled to see that it was done exactly the way she had ordered it, plus she said that it was the most tender prime rib that she had eaten in a long time. I selected a tuna steak and a fresh mango salsa from their "Mix and Match Seafood" entrees. It was to die for!!!!!!!!!!! I would HIGHLY recommend looking into this part of their menu as they offer 4 or 5 fish/seafood items and 5 sauces/toppings for them. I had a hard time deciding both the seafood and the sauce options.........too many great choices. All entrees arrived with a choice of starch and then the chef's selection of vegetables, but they also included a tossed salad too. Instead of each person individually ordering their dressing for their salad, the salad (with dressing) was delivered to the table in a huge bowl to be divided among us. I would LOVE to have the recipe for the salad dressing........it seemed to be a combination of garlic and a ranch dressing.........very light. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!

Even the bread basket was interesting.........nice warm crusty rolls with butter and banana bread with a cinnamon sugar butter.

We had no room for dessert, so you are on your own for that.

Would we return? You betcha! It is hard to find a restaurant where all four diners can leave really happy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casual on the Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's our default place when we want to have a special outing, and also for a casual later evening sandwich. Nice people, good although not large menu, and always good food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very nice lunch. Grilled Salmon was well (rare) prepared. The salad was fresh. Nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Both the food and the service was good. Not the best ribs on the Lake but was good. Crab Cakes were excellent! A bit of a letdown that the restaurant is on Lake Wallenpaupack but there are no views from the dining room. All in all, a nice meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boat House Restaurant also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing