We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only for the wait staff.”
Review of Settlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Settlers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only for the wait staff.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great waitstaff. Nice rooms. Great ambiance. Good food. Pretty. Awesome fireplace! The restaurant staff and John at the front desk are great. Housekeeping are very thorough, be sure to tip them they work very hard. Sophie at the front desk is awesome too! Steven, Jo, JeanMarie, Cathy and Lisa are sure to make your dinner experience memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindasanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    88
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
45
237
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wading River, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We made reservations here several mos. ago for an anniversary get away for 2/8/13 for the weekend & when I called several days before to make dinner reservations Lisa told me someone had called to cancel our reservation. this was not true and the Inn did not even attempt to make amends other than to say "sorry." After inquiring further, Lynn gave me the number of the person who called & when I contacted them turns out they were a different family & the Inn was totally at fault. They cancelled the wrong reservation and our weekend was ruined cause we had to stay home!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We went for our anniversary. The room was great and the dinner was even better! Try the pork belly appetizer! We had a deluxe queen room which was very nice but we will book a king room next time. We live locally and will try to go as often as we can for dinner and dessert too! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoplocalpoconos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Another wonderful stay as always at this wonderful Inn. We have been coming here for almost 20 years. The Inn is very well kept, clean, comfortable, cozy. From the minute you arrive, to the time you check out, each and every staff member we dealt with was attentive and polite and very accommodating. It was our first trip in over 2 years and at dinner I made a special request for the chef to prepare the Smoked trout like they used to serve it, with capers,onion and Horseradish cream sauce and it was done for me and as always just perfect. THANK YOU.Made my stay. The dinner and breakfast are excellent. We met up with a friends this time who have also been here before.They too were just as satisfied. I think another plus is the price. I feel they provide Excellent lodging and breakfast at a reasonable price. The rooms are charming and ours was very cozy on the 3rd floor. I love it here and plan on not taking so long to revisit, it was a nice getaway for Valentine's Day, I must say....still my favorite place.
THANK YOU TO ALL for everything.
Lisa F.

Room Tip: Have stayed in many over the years on 2nd floor, this time we were on third floor and it seemed a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lilindians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanne g, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Lisa, thank you for the many years you have visited the inn. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay! All the best to you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed a weekend in January. The inn was very comfortable and the food absolutely delicious. We chose the fireside package, where you arrive for cider and a three-course lunch, which was just wonderful. The lounge has a roaring fire and comfortable couches and chairs, but do not expect to lounge there on Friday or Saturday evenings--that is where people sit to wait for tables in the restaurant. However during the rest of the day, the lounge is just the place to read and relax. In warmer weather, there would be outside spots to sit as well. The Arts and Crafts style is very warm and inviting. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. (I would warn those who stay in room 204 to watch out for the corners of the bed which extend beyond the mattress. We just put a pillow at each corner to protect shins after a few bumps.) I would love to go back to the inn in the summer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the inn have a view of the garden and river. Music from the first floor can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwarthmoreMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at The Settler's Inn for 3 nights this New Year's Eve. The staff will cater to your every whim. The food is divine, and the wait staff is the finest I've ever seen. If you care to leave the property, there is lots to do in the area and you also have access to a fitness center and a sports complex about 5 minutes away. You can not go wrong by staying here. There is something for everyone. All the rooms are gorgeous. Have fun!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are beautiful. Just ask for what you need, and the staff will try to find you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinkiesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Manager at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
New Year's Eve at the Settlers in is truly a special evening, as we have two fantastic dinners to choose from. Upstairs, in our main dining room, we serve a special menu accompanied by soft piano music. Downstairs, in The Undercroft, we host a Jazz Supper Club with special dinner menu, which this year featured a Jazz Quartet. Everyone rings in the New Year on the chime of midnight in The Chestnut Tavern.

Thank you again for your continued and loyal patronage, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Settlers Inn is our very favorite Inn in the Poconos.The owners Grant and Jeanne Genzlinger live up to their mission statement which is stated on the internet, especially the part about providing an memorable hospitality experience for each guest. The arts and crafts decor thru out the Inn is so well done, the food is excellent and very fond of the bird seed bread and desserts, the rooms are very comfortable in this old Inn, the garden and grounds are beautiful located in the back of the Inn, and the attention to the details is so appreciated.
When we were up in the Fall we mentioned to the owner Jeanne that we were coming up for the first time to Winterfest in Hawley. Jeanne mentioned that we should plan to attend The Virgin Consort Friday evening. We were so thankful because the music and the whole experience was outstanding.We really enjoyed Winterfest in Hawley and many fun things to do.
Each time we come up to the Inn, which is know a few times a year, we find new places and things to do. The Settlers Inn is our getaway place to go and only three hours from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Virgin Consort during Winterfest weekend is a must-see event - we are thrilled you were able to experience it! Thank you again for your continued patronage, and we look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
2.4 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
22.6 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
5.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
17.8 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Inn

Property: Settlers Inn
Address: 4 Main Ave, Hawley, PA 18428-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Settlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Settlers Inn is an authentic 1920's Arts & Crafts Lodge at the gateway to Main Street in Hawley, Pennsylvania, the small downtown that serves the Lake Wallenpaupack region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Settlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing