We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Inn in the Poconos”
Review of Settlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Settlers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Settlers Inn is our very favorite Inn in the Poconos.The owners Grant and Jeanne Genzlinger live up to their mission statement which is stated on the internet, especially the part about providing an memorable hospitality experience for each guest. The arts and crafts decor thru out the Inn is so well done, the food is excellent and very fond of the bird seed bread and desserts, the rooms are very comfortable in this old Inn, the garden and grounds are beautiful located in the back of the Inn, and the attention to the details is so appreciated.
When we were up in the Fall we mentioned to the owner Jeanne that we were coming up for the first time to Winterfest in Hawley. Jeanne mentioned that we should plan to attend The Virgin Consort Friday evening. We were so thankful because the music and the whole experience was outstanding.We really enjoyed Winterfest in Hawley and many fun things to do.
Each time we come up to the Inn, which is know a few times a year, we find new places and things to do. The Settlers Inn is our getaway place to go and only three hours from home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Virgin Consort during Winterfest weekend is a must-see event - we are thrilled you were able to experience it! Thank you again for your continued patronage, and we look forward to greeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Settlers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 372 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We attend a friends Christmas Party everyyear and this was our third time at the Inn and it was just as great as the other two. The breakfast menu is terrific! Our only problem was the heater, we couldn't regulate it very well. We difinitely will be back next year!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cntrycricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Manager at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your repeat patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had a lovely room but there were some things that greatly concerned us during our stay. First, (and this is not a concern but just worth mentioning)- the walls must be paper thin because at 6:30am when the neighbors decided to awaken and have a conversation we too were awakened and could hear everything. Secondly the hot water was never hot, always luke warm and it took forever to turn from freezing cold to warm (not a great thing during a very cold day). Finally, the heat took almost an entire day to warm our room. It was set on 68 when we arrived but the baseboard heat in the rooms seemed to be throwing out a minimal amount of heat. We turned it up to 74, and nothing. We reluctantly turned it to 76 and it was finally comfortable the NEXT day. However, once it reached that temp. it did stay warm- but it should not take 24 hours to warm the room.

Okay, now for the safety concerns- We experienced a power outage in the early morning hours (it was an area wide outage) but it was extremely dark in the hall area. The exit lights did NOT work. The emergency lighting did not work. There was nothing lit in the hall area (outside of our room) at all. The one emergency sign was extremely dimly lit but that faded after about 10 min. Although it was the early morning, there was not enough light coming in from outside to illuminate the halls to move about at all, forcing some to stay in their rooms. When we brought it to the attention of the front desk staff (after we asked to talk with a manager and were told there was no one available), we were told that someone had "just" come through and checked the exit signs etc just the other day. Well, if that was true, "someone" did not do a good job. I was greatly concerned because this is a safety issue. There is a fireplace and a kitchen/dining area in this old building and if there were a fire, those on the top floor would have no idea which way to go without emergency lighting. In addition, the drawing on the back of the door was reversed and very confusing.

Other than that 'little issue' the place was just lovely. The people were very accomodating and the waitstaff in the restaurant was great. It was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season and fireplace along with the decorations made this place a great choice. I was going to give it a 4 but honestly the safety issues are very big for me. And if I don't feel safe in a place, I can't enjoy it as much as I should. Hopefully they will fix the safety issues

On another note- we stayed there to attend the Hawley Winterfest. That proved to be a total waste of time. The town seems very depressed, run down and sadly there was only a few things to do for this 'festival'. Someone seemed to put a lot of effort into making it a wonderful festival but it honestly seems like the town was just not supportive of it. Things that would have taken a few hours were spread out over 3 days- a HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinmama1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

We appreciate and value your comments and feedback - we are ever-improving and striving for excellence. A few notes about safety at the Inn:

We routinely check our emergency lighting system, and have checked again recently since your comments - we are happy to report that all emergency lighting at the Inn is functioning properly and has been found to be in working order.

The emergency lighting that most hotels use is designed to provide temporary relief in the event of a brief power outage. They typically work for 2 hours after the power goes out. During that particular power outage you experienced, the power was out for over 4 hours, so the lights did go out by that time.

We do also have fire prevention systems in place throughout the entire inn, and have them tested on a regular basis, too. Our fireplace in the lobby area is maintained during the day by constant supervision, and at night it is covered to prevent embers from escaping.

Hawley Winterfest is a fantastic annual event in our little town. This year, the Virgin Consort concert was particularly delightful. The entire town also participated in a Winterfest Beer Tour, offering various flights of beer at different local establishments (The Settlers Inn, in particular, offered Rogue Hazlenut Brown Nectar, Ithaca Cold Front, Anchor Steam Merry Christmas Happy New Year 2012, and Fat Dog Imperial Oatmeal Stout from Stoudt’s Brewery in Adamstown, PA). Holiday tree sales were offered locally, as well as a holiday house tour and cookie walk throughout town. Many local establishments offer sales during this time, and fun activities abound through town. We are sorry that you were disappointed.
We hope that you will return to give Hawley another chance, and, again, are thankful for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I just spent a lovely weekend at the Settlers Inn. We live about 2 hours away and it is the perfect escape from the stresses of the "real world". The Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas and everything just sparkled. The common area is spectacular with the biggest fireplace I've ever seen and the tap room immediately adjacent is perfect for a drink or light snack. We attended the Victorian Christmas dinner in their dining room and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Our room (216) was small but very comfortable. The bedding was crisp and inviting and we slept GREAT!

Just one word of caution -- the steps are very steep and there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acouplefoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

The Victorian Christmas celebration at our Inn is quite a magical time. The Inn is fully decorated with boughs of pine, stunning ornaments, and various holiday accents. The fireplace is a particularly popular place to gather for drinks, snacks, and conversation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will join us for many more. Thank you for your kind words and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Beautiful lobby with fireplace, with bar restaurant and piano. Rooms and halls are full of beautiful antiques and art the most comfortable bed I ever slept in, warm and comfortable. great bath shower and TV. The most polite, courteous helpful people run this fine hotel. free breakfast!

Room Tip: nature walk along the river, great for occasions with class.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words - we appreciate your comments and hope that you will return to stay and dine with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been staying at the Settlers Inn as a mid-way stop between New England and Virginia for many years. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice fire-side common area and great food. Our stay this time was different. Our room (215, one of the cheapest at the Inn) needed attention. The heat/AC unit on the wall was complaining loudly with what sounded like a broken fan. This unit kicked on and off during the night and woke us up every time. I mentioned this at check-out. Also, the toilet flush was like a jet taking off. I've never heard anything like it! I measured 90dB on a decibel meter app, which was almost twice the quiet of the night. Since there is only a thin door separating the bedroom from the bathroom, it was guaranteed to wake someone up. Between those two, it was a restless night. Not what we expected. Otherwise, the Inn was just as fabulous as always. What happened to the home-made bread that used to be sold at the counter or in the gift shop?

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the cheapest rooms and they're all small, but nice and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

We appreciate and value your comments and feedback, and have looked into the concerns you mentioned (a/c unit, noise level). We are so glad that you continue to join us on your travels, and hope that you continue to do so. The famous birdseed bread is available for purchase, sometimes at the Inn, but most often at the Mill Market, located at the Hawley Silk Mill. We offer a wide variety of breads and baked goods, as well as other prepared foods, for purchase at that location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our visit was an anniversary gift from our children. We stayed only one night, but it was very nice. The room was immaculate, the bed extremely comfortable, everything satisfactory. We did not have dinner in the restaurant, but the complimentary breakfast was delicious - no bagels and coffee here. The only regret we have is that the gardens were not in bloom - they looked like they would be gorgeous in season. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 591Na0mi_W591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary celebration with us, we are so glad that you enjoyed it! Please return when the gardens are in bloom - they are quite stunning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
2.3 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
4.6 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
0.9 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,197 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,614 reviews
16.0 mi away
The French Manor Inn and Spa
The French Manor Inn and Spa
#1 of 2 in South Sterling
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Inn

Address: 4 Main Ave, Hawley, PA 18428-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hawley
Price Range: $179 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Settlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Settlers Inn is an authentic 1920's Arts & Crafts Lodge at the gateway to Main Street in Hawley, Pennsylvania, the small downtown that serves the Lake Wallenpaupack region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Settlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing