We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, nice staff but poor sleep”
Review of Settlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Settlers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We went up to the Settlers Inn for an overnight on route to the Woodloch Pines Resort. First let me say the place is really nice. We were greeted by a really nice gentleman, taken to our room with nice service. The reason for the low rating is that one does need to sleep well on vacation. Our room was a sauna. We had a wonderful bed pillow top and all but we were sooo uncomfortable. When we arrived we put the air conditioning on and left for dinner. We would have opened the windows but they were sealed. When we returned the thermometer registered 80 degrees ugh...both floor heaters were not on but the place was cooking. By morning our sinuses were sooo stuffed we were miserable. Number two, at 12am our next door neighbor has a loud conversation on his cell phone and we woke up. The walls are paper thin so bring a sound machine. So overall that really really impacted our stay. Breakfast was great, the place was clean and neat, no bed bugs and yes I checked....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymomdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 390 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Settlers Inn over Valentine's weekend. We could not have picked a better place to get away for a few days to relax and unwind. From the moment you walk into the lobby you know you are in for a treat. Our room was great, and I have never slept in a more comfortable bed. The staff was amazing, from the bartender in the tavern area to the front desk who made some great suggestions for the complimentary breakfast, everyone helped to make our stay a great one.
Dinner was also great, and the inn has a fantastic wine selection. If you want to get away for a weekend and just relax, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoxFan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My wife and I decided to splurge a little and book an all inclusive stay at the Settlers for Valentines Day. The room was clean but not quite. We were able to hear conversatons from adjacent rooms and through the bathroom ventalation vents. We booked an eight o'clock dinner reservation and were looking foward to a relaxing and delicious dinner. I ordered the lamb to be cooked medium rare and my wife ordered the salmon cooked medium.
Unfortunately, the lamb and the salmon were extremely overcooked. My wife doesn't like to complain and suffered silently but I decided to send mine back. They returned with a new plate and the lamb was not cooked at all. The Inn pro-rated our dinner cost but, the evening and our moods were spoiled.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NjHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Settler's Inn the week-end before Thanksgiving and were pretty much pleased. We had supper there, Squash Soup, Duck Salad, Chicken Liver and Truffle Mousse and Scallops. Everything was excellent and also received a complimentary sticky toffee pudding since it was our anniversary. I do believe that our room , 217, must have been remodeled because everything seemed new and clean including the bathroom. We enjoyed the down comforter and feather bed . Our only complaint is that the walls are thin and during supper (6-10p.m.) we had the noises from the dining room, including the piano playing. I suppose that could be a problem for some!
The breakfast is excellent - you can order "anything and as much of anything" that you want off the menu. This could very easily be a $30 meal.
Hawley is a very small, quaint town with just a few shops and restaurants and 2 antique malls. We like it there, but it may not be what everyone is looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packednreadyNePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed at The Settlers Inn for our honeymoon getaway and were so pleased with our stay there! Nice location in the Poconoes at leaf-changing peak! Dinner there is a must (fabulous food and service). Inspiring decor and comfortable room. We really enjoyed the jetted tub and private deck of our room. Staff were great. Cute gift shop out back in the gardens. OK, have you booked your room yet???

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We have had an overall wonderful stay. We arrived about 7pm and had a light dinner at Tavern/bar area. It is a little less expensive this way, but still cozy and it wasn't too busy the night we were there. The only thing to be aware of was that the menu had just changed and the menu listed in the room was outdated. Later in the evening we sat on the porch and listened to the rain falling. It smelled like a fire had been going in the big, beautiful fireplace in the main lobby area earlier, but the fire was out when we got there.
In the morning, we went to the WoodLoch Sports Complex to get in a little exercise and take a quick dip in the pool and whirlpool. It is about a 15-20 minute drive from the inn. We rushed back to the inn for our complimentary breakfast, but found out we really hadn't needed to rush. Breakfast is listed as ending at 10am, but there were only two staff waiting tables. So, we waited a few minutes until a table by the window was cleared. The breakfast was really amazing. Delicious, fresh food.
Checkout isn't until 12noon, which is nice for a relaxing morning-or a busy then relaxing morning!
The room itself was very nice, feather top beds and flat screen tv's. I had chosen room 210 because of the beautiful wooden bed frame picture on-line and then was somewhat surprised when there was a different metal frame in the room itself. So, it would be helpful if the inn updated their web pictures, but it was still a lovely room.
My husband and I have really enjoyed our stay. It was a nice place to celebrate my 32nd b-day and relax and catch our breath for an evening.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cynthia160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed there one weekday night having been to the area for the past 9 years to visit our daughters camp. The room we were placed in front left (facing towards the Inn) over dining room . It was small but cozy but there was a constant humming sound that eventually became apparent.
The mgmt let us move into another larger room at no extra cost and was very accomodating.
The breakfast, included, the next morning was excellent with great choices and fresh food.
We also had a drink at the bar which is very quaint. Guests at the Inn were pleasant as the staff.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank vairolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
2.4 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
0.9 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hawley
364 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,243 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,668 reviews
16 mi away
The French Manor Inn and Spa
The French Manor Inn and Spa
#1 of 2 in South Sterling
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Inn

Address: 4 Main Ave, Hawley, PA 18428-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hawley
Price Range: $179 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Settlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Settlers Inn is an authentic 1920's Arts & Crafts Lodge at the gateway to Main Street in Hawley, Pennsylvania, the small downtown that serves the Lake Wallenpaupack region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Settlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing