We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not that nice”
Review of Settlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Settlers Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been going to Settlers for some time now. Back when they were rated 3 diamond, I could enjoy myself. When they were awarded 4 diamond I was excited for them and eagerly made a reservation. The first time I dined there under 4 diamond I was a bit confused, knowing what to expect with 4 diamond rated quality. From table setting, to the attentiveness of the staff, to the consistency and quality of the food It is just not what is even required for the 4 diamond status. There are 2 other 4 diamond rated locations locally that simply surpass what the Settlers Inn offers for dining on every level. I like the Settlers Inn and will continue to go there on occasion, but it does make question how they obtained their AAA 4 diamond status.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourstarseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Settlers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently selected Settlers Inn to take a short vacation and visit the Ponconos area in Penssilvania, we love biking and Settlers Inn was offering a special package with bikes and information on trails so we decided to give it a try. While the building is very charming and the restaurant is very good we sadly found the property is in a buzy intersection (for being Hawley, PA) we selected one if not the most expensive rooms to find out that it was a bit worn out, not very well maintained which is different from being old or antique but well preserved... and sadly the walls are not sound proof, there was noise from the morning traffic, I most add that the beds even though featherbeds are not comfortable at all, I can not tell why, I've tried so many featherbeds before and always loved them. The innkeeper was not around in the 2 days we stayed, the coziness of a BB is not present in this inn. Breakfast and dinners were very good. Overall if you are close by and need a place to spend the night this is not a bad property, clean and with decent service but far away from a romantic inn.

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor, we did not have a good experience in the 1st floor.. some noise from the street.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We are so glad that you recently decided to join us here at The Settlers Inn.

Our Bed, Breakfast and Bicycle package is very popular, and the town of Hawley has also started a BikeShare program to encourage more cycling in the area. We are happy to recommend various bicycle routes at our front desk, as our owners are avid cyclists.

About 1,200 people live in the town of Hawley. Pennsylvania Scenic Route 6, a two-lane road, goes past our property, leading to Honesdale in one direction, and Lake Wallenpaupack in the other. We do not consider it to be an overly busy intersection, but are sorry that it negatively affected your stay.

The Settlers Inn, constructed in 1927, originally housed 50 rooms on site. Extensive renovations have occurred since that time, and we have focused on expanding and updating rooms while maintaining their historic charm. Currently, we have 21 guest rooms on site, with varying sizes and amenities.

One such amenity that all rooms are equipped with are the famous feather top beds. Our housekeepers spend significant time fluffing these beds so that they are puffy and inviting, just waiting for guests to sink in to. Most guests eagerly look forward to resting in these fluffy beds, but for those that don’t, our front desk attendants are happy to remove the feather tops from your bed.

All of our staff are dedicated hosts. Our innkeeper owners are on site most of the time, and talk to guests frequently. However, they do not always identify their role. If you would like to meet our innkeepers, please do not hesitate to ask our staff.

We hope that you will join us again in the future, and alert us to any problems you encounter during your stay so that we may have the chance to rectify them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our first wedding anniversary weekend and we wanted an intimate and warm bed and breakfast. The Settler's Inn was everything we were looking for! My husband and I couldn't get off the amazing down feather bed, he slept 11 hours the first night!! It was modern but cozy, the food was great, and the staff was really friendly and helpful. I would recommend to Settlers Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I recently visited the Settlers Inn to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. It was so beautiful, the staff was friendly and it's in a wonderful location. We loved the fact that they keep the doors open to the rooms once they clean them so you can check them out. The bed was so comfortable....huge king bed with a pillow top. It felt like we were sleeping in a big fluffy cloud! The garden in the back is enchanting. Enjoyed the rustic but yet modern feel of the room. The breakfast was delicious. There's also a really cool zoo called Claws n Paws about 20 minutes away.We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Checkout the website to look at the rooms they offer. You can call and tell them which room you woul...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Found the inn on the internet and it was more than described. Loved the quaintness, hospitality, special touches of warmth throughtout and thebeautiful gardens. Had the best sleep in years on the comfy bed in rm.217. Breadfast was awesome. Will definitely plan another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently visited the Settlers Inn as a guest of a friend's wedding. The outside ceremony was beautiful and the Inn's garden was the perfect place to enjoy the cocktail hour. The dinner was delicious, the wait staff was friendly and accommodating, and the bartenders were top notch.
We were also extremely pleased with our overnight stay. The room was cozy, impeccably clean and charming right down to the smallest detail. The art nouveau and frank lloyd wright inspired decor was a bonus, very classy. We definitely felt at home during our stay. The breakfast was amazing and was the perfect ending to a great weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautiful, quaint, cozy and friendly B&B that is away from the main resort areas in the Poconos. Easy access to the Lake and other main towns. Retreat back to the Inn after a day of activities. The restaurant at the Inn was packed with locals and visitors who weren't staying in the Inn. This shows how good the food is at the Inn.

Affordable, on the upscale side of B&B, with breakfast included (about $15-20 worth per person).

Room Tip: Room 301-only room with 2 queen-sized beds. This room faces the main road, Main Avenue, which has l...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
2.3 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
4.6 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
0.9 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,197 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,614 reviews
16.0 mi away
The French Manor Inn and Spa
The French Manor Inn and Spa
#1 of 2 in South Sterling
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Inn

Address: 4 Main Ave, Hawley, PA 18428-1114
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hawley
Price Range: $179 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Settlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Settlers Inn is an authentic 1920's Arts & Crafts Lodge at the gateway to Main Street in Hawley, Pennsylvania, the small downtown that serves the Lake Wallenpaupack region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Settlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing