We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Babymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Woodloch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Woodloch
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Babymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you're looking to take one last quiet and restful trip before you have a baby, I recommend this hotel/spa. I recently travelled here for a long weekend with my husband and we both had a great time. The spa facilities (including the pools, hot tubs, changing areas, and gym) are all very nice and well maintained. Even though the hotel was full, as it was a holiday weekend, you could hardly tell. The hotel was busy but not overcrowded and there was plenty of access to spa treatments and classes. I found the staff to be professional, friendly, and courteous at all levels. Even when I did encounter a scheduling mixup at the spa when I arrived for a treatment, they literally rectified the situation within minutes. If you're travelling here when you're pregnant, they have a pretty wide selection of prenatal-specific treatments, as compared to other destination spas we checked out. In additon, they can modify other treatments and will tailor the tour of the spa's facilities to show you how to modify your use of their equipment. This is not an inexpensive vacation by any means, but I found it to be worth the expense and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJtraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlochlodge, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear NJtraveler78,

Congratulations on the upcoming birth of your child! Thank you for taking the time to write abour your Babymoon experience at The Lodge. We are glad that you could get away and enjoy the peaceful environment we have created here. Although you were here on a holiday weekend, it is nice to hear that you didn't feel as though the property was crowded - this is a balance that we have worked hard to achieve. Your compliments on the staff and the facilities are greatly appreciated; thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing weekend when time allows.

Sincerely,
The Lodge at Woodloch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    109
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
163
466
93
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

The lodge exceeded my expectations. Everything was spotless!! The activities were well planned. The spa was excellent! I am not a big spa person, but after their treatments, I have never been so relaxed.

The food was good. Okay portions and I loved that I could ask for more if I wanted too. There was a buffet at breakfast and lunch in addition to the main menu.

We will definately go back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audi_yes_BMW_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlochlodge, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Audi_yes_BMW_no,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay. It is nice to hear that we exceeded your expectations, especially since you mentioned not being a big spa goer. Hopefully we have changed your mind! We would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Exceptional place to get away. Every time we thought "I wish they did...." we found out that they did indeed do "that". Incredible fitness center very modern state-of-the-art equipment. An after dinner drink in the outdoor infinity jacuzzi was also a highlight of the stay (even though it was 15 degrees outside). On top of the incredible ammenities of the resort the staff was what really made it for us. They were all so genuine and caring. Stay here once and I guarantee that you will come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayInnConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlochlodge, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear mitch9498,

Thank you for your recent review and your glowing comments! We are committed to taking care of our guests in a genuine and caring fashion, as though we are welcoming you into our home - so your comments about the staff are greatly appreciated. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi in the winter; it is certainly one of the best times of year to be out there! Please do come back and visit when you have the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

We recently returned from a weekend trip to the Lodge at Woodloch. This was our fourth time staying at the property and we were disappointed by the overall decline in quality from our previous trips. In general the service level seems to have really fallen off. The front desk was not helpful bordering on rude. Additionally the spa services were really hit or miss. Some were great, others were terrible. In general I would say go for the Lodge Massage rather than some of the more elaborate treatments and have your treatment in the morning. We booked a number of late afternoon appointments and it seemed like the attention to detail and employee enthusiasm waned later in the day.

The quality of the food has also really taken a turn for the worse. They seem to be going for a quantity over quality philosophy encouraging guests to order multiple appetizers which are then served together on the same plate. Also, I like edamame, but do you really need to serve it at every meal (including edamame soup for lunch)? The food used to be interesting and healthy dishes but it seems like it has now become rubber chicken hotel food. When they bring out a bowl of cold undercooked risotto 90 seconds after you order it you can tell that the kitchen is no longer focused on quality. The overly pushy service in the dining room was rushed and off-putting.

The mix of guests seems to have changed with decline in service. The spa was really crowded to the point that it was loud and busy. The spa seems to be drawing a much larger number of locals and guests from the surrounding lower-rent properties on day passes. Additionally there were a number of large groups of women who could best be described as hopefuls for the cast of the Real Housewives of Scranton. This wouldn't be a problem, except that these guests were generally noisy and inconsiderate of others who were there to relax and enjoy the serenity of the location. After your spa treatments you are deposited in a room called the whisper lounge, where most people sit on comfortable chairs and read a magazine or doze off in front of the fire. The Real Housewives took over the whisper lounge as their own little clubhouse where they talked loudly with no regard for the other guests. Management was nowhere to be found.

In general the physical property is still in great shape, and the location is beautiful, but it is a shame that such a great getaway is so lacking in management attention. In the past, the husband/wife duo who ran the place were always around talking to guests and supervising, but on this trip they were nowhere to be found. We probably would not return unless we heard that the property had returned to a more high end service level.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tzf628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlochlodge, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear tzf628,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay, as well as for sharing your concerns. We certainly take all guest feedback seriously, and should you wish to reach out to us with more specifics, we will personally address each concern you have raised. Our commitment to the guest experience has not changed since the day we opened, and as managers we are attentive to all of our guests needs. We will be reviewing your comments and working together as a management team to continue providing the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a review for the adults only Lodge, not the Pines family resort. I chose this hotel for our recent retreat for a group of eight women. We are mostly high maintenance with high expectations, and I was so relieved that the resort was able to meet and exceed our expectations. We were fortunate our stay was during a low period. The rates were attractive, but more importantly the service was outstanding. From the restaurant to the spa to the room services, everybody was very professional and always available to serve. For example, it took 30 seconds for house keeping to answer a request of mine.

Furthermore, the Spa/Gym facilities rival those of the Peninsula or even come close to those at the Mandarin Oriental, NY. They offer several classes too. The food (all included) was healthy, but delicious, and unlike what I heard was the case in the past, it was very plentiful. I was actually disappointed, as I was hoping to limit my food intake during our stay, but did not have the discipline to keep from eating too much of the yummy meals.

Finally, I understand there are many outdoor activities available at charge, but we didn't not take advantage on this trip. Skiing would be a good option in the winter.

This is one of the best weekend getaways from NYC!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlochlodge, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Etty11,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you could find the time to get away with your friends and visit us! Because of our proximity to New York City, we have become very popular for girlfriend getaways such as yours. We pride ourselves on the quality of our facilities and the attentive service we provide; thank you for noticing! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights for our 4th anniversary and had a great time. We felt like the staff cared vs. just doing their jobs. We loved the drum circle, our massage--and most of all our watercolor class. Neither of us have painted, yet each turned out a wintry nature scene in just 2 hrs. Lots of fun. The food was excellent, even better than expected.

It was freezing and snowy out so we didn't go outside once during our stay, but i'd imagine this is a beautiful summer destination when the outdoors are opened up. We stayed for 3 nights, but felt like 2 would have been enough as we had covered all the ground we wanted in that time. Perhaps, since we were indoors the whole time. It's not a huge place to explore.

We didn't feel the need to walk around in our robes but many people did--even dined in them--and that could be considered a convenient perk. You really can leave your dressy clothes at home. I brought a sweaterdress and boots to dine in but never even pulled it out of the bag. We wore jeans the whole time.

I would recommend making spa appt.s in advance as we could not squeeze in even on a Monday--it was full. I did talk to a local in the spa who just came for the services but wasn't staying at the resort. We had made one appt. in advance and the services were great. The spa facilities were nice too--i loved the eucalyptus steam room and the waterfall hot tubs indoors and out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeTraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

My husband and I just got back from a two night stay at Woodloch and if I could sum up our experience in one word it would be DELICIOUS! We went for a quick mini-vacation before our second child is born. The spa delivered everything we expected and more. The hotel is gorgeous, with beautiful common spaces, and very comfortable and luxurious rooms. The food is wonderful, tasty, and healthy with lots of variety to choose from. The spa is enormous, very clean, and modern. Our spa treatments were fantastic and some of the best ones we've ever had.

I've been to Canyon Ranch in Lenox several times, and Woodloch is very close by comparison. Woodloch doesn't offer as many classes (yoga, aerobic, etc.) as Canyon Ranch, but the food, accommodation, and spa services are very similar, if not surpass the experience you'll have in Lenox and at about half the cost. The area is very rural and there are tons of outdoor activities to choose from.

One of the best mini-vacations we've ever had and we'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramccafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlochlodge, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear ramccafferty,
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us, and we are glad that The Lodge at Woodloch could be a welcome respite prior to the birth of your second child. We have been getting rave reviews about our food and accommodations - nice to hear that you are in agreement! We are often compared to Canyon Ranch. Because they have a stellar reputation in the industry, it is great to hear positive feedback from someone that has visited both properties. Our rates are very competitive these days, and from the sound of it you felt as though there was significant value. We would love to welcome you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
The Lodge at Woodloch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
19.9 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.6 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
1.2 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Woodloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Woodloch

Property: The Lodge at Woodloch
Address: 109 River Birch Ln, Route 590 East, RR1, Hawley, PA 18428-9649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
#2 Family Hotel in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Woodloch 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Woodloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Woodloch Hotel Hawley
Hotel At Woodloch
Spa At Woodloch
Lodge Woodloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing