We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Woodloch
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Woodloch Spa 1/19-21 as a birthday get-away from the hectic lives we lead. Our GPS took us the scenic route and the snow-covered countryside was spectacular! The service was impeccable and every amenity was available. We took as many classes as we could because there were so many to choose from...kundalini yoga, rolling, meditation, and even ballroom dancing. We had so much fun and were so relaxed. The only problems we found were: meals were gourmet quality but minuscule. Many of our friends frowned upon hearing this and said that was the main deterrent that would keep them away. When we asked about ordering another entree we were told it was an extra charge of $25-30. This would be in addition to the $1600.00 that we paid for the 2 night all inclusive! Insult to injury! Another negative for me was the fact that there are no bath tubs in the deluxe rooms only in the suites! A spa resort without a tub was disappointing for me. Generally it was pleasant, relaxing.
and a very expensive experience.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you enjoy relaxing in a tub!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amzoo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie F, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear amzoo00,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your scenic trip here, the level of service we provide, and the wide variety of classes and activities to choose from! While you enjoyed the quality of our cuisine, I would like to address your concern regarding portion size. As a destination spa resort, our focus is on healthy, fresh cuisine in smaller portions. This philosophy ties into the bigger picture of exercise, relaxation and overall well being that we promote and encourage. We have designed a dinner menu that offers a variety of "Beginnings", or appetizers (of which you can order multiples), and a nightly variation of entrees, and desserts. I apologize that you were inconvenienced by the charge for an additional entree, but the package rates that we charge are set up to include one entree per meal. In addition, while our Deluxe rooms do not have tubs, our Mens and Womens Retreats offer jacuzzis, and we have two indoor jacuzzis at the pool area, and an outdoor infinity edge whirlpool for your soaking pleasure! I am glad that you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback; it is truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Woodloch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was my second time at Woodloch Lodge. Both were for girls weekends (8-12 women). The service at Woodloch is exceptional. The food at Tree is delicious and the small but filling portions allow you to have a three course meal without leaving the table feeling grossly overfull. The food options were varied but not overwhelming and it was almost without exception well cooked (we did have an issue the last night with the filet mignon being under cooked for some people- but they took it back right away and fixed it with a great attitude). We loved the spin, aqua challenge, and yoga classes. The meditation was pretty hokie (the female instructors voice was so sing-songy, it was all we could do to get through w/o laughing). EVERY ONE OF US WOULD GO BACK!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I recently visited the destination resort and were both impressed by the entire experience. Whether the professional spa services, clean rooms and amenities, or fantastic food and wine we left completely relaxed and satisfied with the experience. Be sure to take the water color painting class with John Leon, attend the cooking classes, and enjoy the tremendous creativity that comes out of the kitchen at the restaurant Tree. Food and Wine Director Erik Karner takes great pride in making the menu unique and delicious and does a wonderful job pairing wine to the food. He also hosts the wine tasting class which is a lot of fun. We look forward to visiting again and highly recommend the Lodge at Woodloch to anyone looking to get away and completely escape the day to day hustle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYFrontier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very relaxing, and the people are all incredibly hospitable. This is not a 5-star luxury resort, but rather a 4-star experience only a few hours outside of NYC. Food was quite good (give it a 7.5/10), spa service and exercise classes excellent, and rooms and property very nicely cared for. A terrific weekend getaway for all seasons (winter was surprisingly enjoyable here!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansoma2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I just returned from my first visit to the Lodge at Woodloch after my sister had recommended it from a visit last year.  This was to be my 50th birthday present to myself and one of my best childhood friends joined me. Upon arrival on Monday afternoon, we both knew that this was going to be a wonderful experience.  From the smiling gatekeeper at the entrance who first greeted us, to our valets who took our bags and car and led us to the front desk to check in, we immediately felt taken care of. We were able to settle into our lovely room upon arrival and had just enough time for lunch before joining the winter woods walk. We continued afterwards with a brisk walk on the paved trail around the lodge and then warmed up by the fire pit outside.  By the time we arrived back to our room, we both had already decided to make a pact that we would make this an annual visit! Our experience exceeded our expectations -- the entire staff was friendly and courteous, the meals healthy and delicious, the spa treatments were outstanding, our classes were challenging and the pool, outdoor jacuzzi and eucalyptus steam room were amazing.  The service, cleanliness and beauty of the lodge were top notch. The only thing missing was a few extra days!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second level (a short walk from the dining room) with a view of the woods as th...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife & I enjoyed a relaxing getaway to the Lodge last week. We took advantage of the planned outdoor activities as well as the indoor spa & exercise sessions. The 3 hour hike was very enjoyable. The "bodypump" session kicked our A__'s. The spa treatments were great. All three meals daily were both healthy & delicious!! The service was top notch throughout the resort. All gratuities are included in the plan cost which is refreshing. I would highly recommend this resort for a couple's retreat to recharge your batteries. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have been there all four seasons and after Christmas and New Years. The quality of food, services, facilities and programs is outstanding. We have done destination spas since the early 90's and found this location has it all. Outdoor programs that are fun and well run, indoor classes that are fun and educational, the dining choices and bar selections excite our palates. The guests are interesting and friendly, with a great coed mix. Staff does everything to welcome you and make you feel like family. The rooms are well appointed and really clean. Try to get a least two nights in so you can appreciate full days at the spa, but if you can do 5-7 days, that is even better! Lots of special rates and programs, so explore their website to get the best fit for you.
D & D

Room Tip: lake view is the best side , but all rooms are great
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave162174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
22.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
665 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
378 reviews
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,197 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Woodloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Woodloch

Address: 109 River Birch Ln, Route 590 East, RR1, Hawley, PA 18428-9649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
#2 Family Hotel in Hawley
Price Range: $869 - $1,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Woodloch 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Woodloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Woodloch Hotel Hawley
Hotel At Woodloch
Spa At Woodloch
Lodge Woodloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing