We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun winter family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NY, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun winter family getaway”
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Add us to the list of happy customers. We spent two nights, three days in the guest homes in the DEAD of winter (daytime temps in the 20's, nighttime in the single digits). Our 3-bedroom house was warm, clean and comfortable. I would say comparable to a 3- or 4-star suite hotel like Embassy Suites. Never had to call the front desk, everything was there. It was nice that the houses were detached so that we didn't hear our neighbors and they didn't hear us!

We have 5 kids ranging in age from 2 to 17 and there truly was something for everyone to do there, including swimming, bumper cars, exercising, snow tubing, ice skating, indoor playgrounds, and riflery.

A few tips for planning a visit: The resort will not promise you a certain number of beds, but they will try to help you out with cots if necessary. In our three bedroom we had two rooms with queen size beds, one room with two twins, and a loft area with a pullout sofa bed. One bedroom had an extra cot. Our kids were not cool about sharing a bed so they took turns on the sofabed, which was comfortable enough. They say the 3-bedroom will house 8 people but I felt we filled it up with 6. Also the dining room only had six chairs. If you can when in doubt go with the bigger size villa.

Everything was open every day we were there (midweek, off season) but not all day and some things were only open an hour or two. They give out a schedule in the office but it helps to look at it first thing in the morning on the resort's cable TV station. The schedule changes every day and since things can be pretty far apart you need to plan ahead. We took two cars which turned out to be essential.

The guest houses are a pretty far drive from the main resort and activities. Although it's only about 2 miles total you have to drive about 25 mph most of the time on twisty roads and it took about 10 minutes each way. We were lucky driving conditions were good at the time.

I only have a few quibbles. It would have been nice to have more activities open more hours. Some were unstaffed, and when my kid lost money in the game room it took a while to find someone to give us a refund. The toddler room was hard to find and some of the toys were broken.

While it was not cheap or a bargain, I found this vacation to be a good value. By staying in the houses we had enough space for everyone and we were able to control food costs. We saved a lot by going midweek.

  • Liked — Lots of things to do
  • Disliked — Short hours for some activities
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nycfamily-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    196
    60
    31
    11
See reviews for
1,064
83
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

This was our first trip to Woodloch Pines Resort. Though we did not stay at the Pines Resort we rented a home in Woodloch Springs. The home was beautiful! There were 2 families staying 3 nights, 4 adults and 3 children and we had more than enough room. We enjoyed all of the ammenities of the Pines Resort while having our own home with our own food. Great atmosphere for families. My children are 6 and 3 and they had a wonderful time. I would vacation here again maybe a fall weekend. The winter landscape was incredible and I can only imagine the fall one being beautiful as well.

  • Liked — The home was immaculate and the scenery was beautiful.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmcbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We were overall very happy with Woodloch. We have a 21 month old and wanted to have a vacation where my husband, myself and our son could enjoy ourselves.

The food is good. The rooms are clean. The staff is mostly nice. The splash park and pool are amazing. The pictures online do not do it justice. There are plenty of things to do. We kept our son very active.

The Forest is AWESOME! If any of you have ever been to Fun 4 All then you will know how cool it is to have access to the Forest facility for free.

There is also a smaller toddler area next to the forest that is okay.

There is a toddler room in the north lodge. We were there A LOT!


There are 2 game rooms that have pretty updated games that you have to pay for. There is an indoor and outdoor basketball court and a pretty okay gym.

The only real negative is that not all of the buildings are connected. They provide a bus to take you from place to place and everything is in walking distance...the locality of it all is mostly an inconvenience.

The go cart operator was a real jerk. He looked like he didn't want to be there. He didn't give any instructions on what to do after we had our fill and lectured me after I couldn't figure out where to return my cart.

The vending machines have candy and snacks but they charge you an arm and a leg for them. BRING Snacks! There are no food options between meals. They do have a deli onsite but it closes very early and there is nothing close for shopping.

We were told upon reserving the room that a 4 night stay was required. This is not the case. There were some people staying there on a overnight only.

You have different waitstaff everyday which is a bummer. What's nice about a cruise is creating that relationship between you and your server. You can't do that here. We were lucky enough to have Donna a few times and she was great!

It's totally worth the money.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclync324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyShore
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2008

The first time I went in 2003 I was in fifth grade and we went with my whole family and family friends. We were a group of nine altogether. It was the best vacation I have ever had, and I think in the last five years I have already been there eight more times. At Woodloch you really feel at home. The food and accomodations are great. The activities are so much fun. Woodloch is my absolute favorite place to go on vacation and it always will be. I know I will continue going as long as I live, and everyone I know that has every been there agrees.

  • Liked — Everything is perfect at Woodloch. It is absolutely completely worth the price.
  • Disliked — It goes by too fast. =[
  • Stayed February 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank woodlochislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I highly recommend renting a stand alone home in Woodloch Springs instead of staying at the Pines resort (which is more like think sleep away camp). If you have children (not infants) the Pines might be a better destination due to the fact that all the activities other than golf, swimming pool & gym, are located in the Pines. Yet the Pines side is older and in great need of an upgrade. The Springs units are located on the gold course and provide privacy. We were there with another couple and we each have an infant. There are kiddie pools as well as main pool (indoor and outdoor). The golf course is amazing. The only issue were the small bugs due to time of year. Each unit contains a gas BBQ which we used every night. There is a full service grocery store within a 10 min drive of the resort. I wouldnt recommend any eating establishment up there. You are in the middle of nowhere yet is peaceful and private and a great escape if you enjoy the comforts of the country and good golf.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank OBVIOUSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Our whole family loves Woodloch Pines. Their accomodations, activities, services and food are all top-notch. We've been going for years, never had anything but a great experience and my 8 year old son counts down the days when we're booked for a visit.

  • Liked — Servixce and caring for guests.
  • Disliked — Can't go enough.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We were a group of 4 families with small children and Woodloch worked o.k. for our needs, but we found it disappointing, given its costs: The accommodations need to be updated, spruced up; there are no supervised children's activities available (e.g. if you take your kids to the art room, you have to stay with them, etc.); there also are almost no lessons available (ONE waterskiing lesson the entire week we were there is all we found). And Woodloch's visiting schedule is quite restricted - Sat. to Sat. only for a week's stay. Since the check-in is for late afternoon, and check-out 11 A.M., there really is only one weekend day (Sunday)to use for a week's stay.
On the plus side, we had an assigned table in the dining room for our entire entire group, so we could eat family style, and the staff were friendly and accommodating...
Bottom line: unless you're a group like ours - several families with babies and toddlers who want to have prepared meals together, but have separate sleeping facilities for each family - you probably can find a more luxurious and/or engaging situation

  • Liked — pleasant staff, sufficient equipment, (e.g. paddleboats, canoes), family dining
  • Disliked — price, rigid schedule, lack of child-care options, decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hanabluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
651 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,184 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,601 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Property: Woodloch Pines Resort
Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hawley
#1 Green Hotel in Hawley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing