We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun is the name of the game!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun is the name of the game!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I'm giving this five stars (even though there are a few things that almost made me give it four stars, which I'll get into further down into my review) because overall, this place is SO MUCH FUN for kids. Plus, we immediately booked a summer stay after our Presidents Day weekend. If you are looking for quiet, relaxing, romantic, gourmet food, Woodloch Pines is NOT for you. If you are looking for tons of action, extremely friendly staff, family-owned (and you can see that the family cares) type of vacation, then this is the place for you. We stayed three nights in a Springbrook suite and it was perfect for our family (two kids, ages 7 and 8). We had indoor access to the pool complex and it was only a short walk to the main dining hall. I loved how fast the service was in the dining hall, and I loved that the table you were assigned became "Your" table throughout your stay, so you could go straight there when you were ready. The rooms in Springbrook were clean and comfortable, with beautiful views of the lake. I can only imagine how pretty it would be in the summer. The food was just OK. Almost mediocre. And the drinks were expensive (with very short pours on the wine). These are minor complaints. There was something to do almost all the time; the magic shows in the evenings were spectacular. The snow tubing was a blast. The go cars and bumper cars were tons of fun. What I really loved was how the members of the family and the staff would stop by your table and talk to you--and really care if you were having fun or had any questions. And the characters at dinner (plus their parade at dinner) were a hit with my kids. Some ways to improve: food could be better. There should be a snack bar or gift shop with food on the property in case you got hungry during meals. I needed a minor toiletry and had to take the shuttle over to the Inn at Woodloch, which ended up being a half hour excursion. We tried to get massages over at the Lodge at Woodloch (and called a week in advance) and could not get one. I think they should make it easier to get massages for those staying at the Pines. It would be great if there was a Kids Club where you could drop off your kids for even a couple of hours a day, so parents could get "alone time." I understand that this is a "family togetherness" place, but even if they had it so that, say, "from 3-6 pm kids can go to the Club without their parents." That would go a long way. Overall, though, this is a terrific weekend (or even weeklong!) getaway place that is close to NJ and NY. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Choose Springbrook if you want to be close to the main lodge. Mountain Laurel seemed like a hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenEndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear JenEndyB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you and your family had so much fun taking part in the various things Woodloch has to offer. It's nice to know you enjoyed your Springbrook room and the efficient and customized service in our Dining Room, as well as the amenities and evening entertainment.

We are disappointed that our food options did not meet your expectations, but are glad that this did not diminish your entire stay. We are constantly evolving our menu to suit our guests' needs, and we strive to only use the freshest of ingredients. If you have any suggestions on how to improve this experience for you, we would love to hear about them because we always want to meet or exceed your expectations in all areas.

Our Country Store is located right on property, and features a deli as well as various snack options in addition to being one of our gift shops. For any food needs in between the meal times, we also have a snack area inside our Main Lodge located on the third floor. We apologize if you were not alerted to these options while you were here. Even though we do not have a "Kids Club" here at Woodloch, we do offer babysitting services at very reasonable rates in case parents did want some alone time either at night or during the day. These services can be arranged directly through our Front Desk.

Thank you so much for your recommendation, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    193
    56
    29
    10
See reviews for
1,031
82
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A ball got stuck in the pool table so he had clever ideas and helped us find a way to get out the balls. He was a very nice guy who was determined to help and knows what he is doing. Without him we would have not got the job done.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERTY619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear TERTY619,

We are very thankful Bob was able to help with you with the pool table issue. We always love to hear about situations where a member of our staff was able to make the stay of a guest better. We will definitely pass along your kind comments to him. Thank you for choosing Woodloch, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had a great time at Woodloch this year. EMT Bob helped us so much with the pool table we had a problem with it. He spent so much time trying to fix it with us. Bob was a huge help to us and it means a lot that he did this! EMT Bob is the best, thank you so much it made our stay so much better!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlombo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Jlombo50,

We are so glad that Bob was able to assist you with the pool table, and, in turn, was able to enhance your stay. We always appreciate any feedback regarding members of our staff, and we will be sure to let Bob know his help was appreciated. Thank you so much for your recent stay, and we cannot wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

As other reviews have mentioned Woodloch Pines is a cruise meets "Dirty Dancing". Our family-2 adults and 3 children ages 4, 6 and 10 had a great time. It really was "fun for the whole family". From the pool to outdoor sports, to all the organized games there was so much to do-in fact you cannot do it all! But there is never a sense of frenzy-you can do as little or as much as you want. The entertainment at night was quite good (except one magician/comedian who was mediocre the other acts and musical shows were so fun!). The most surprising aspect was the food- it was excellent: fresh, balanced, well-cooked meals with plenty of selection. And plenty of kid friendly options as well. We enjoyed shrimp, salmon, prime rib, king crab- and all very delicious. One night is buffet the others all sit down. My children loved it and loved participating in the activities (winter Olympics, gingerbread wars) and earning their "medals". We really bonded as a family and met other really nice people as well! I highly recommend Woodloch and look forward to returning in the near future: I presume the warmer months are even more fun!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APanagiotakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear APanagiotakis,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and share your thoughts with others.

We are glad that you and your children had such a positive experience during your stay. It is always our mission to give our guests a large selection of activities and to ensure that the fun doesn’t stop! The majority of our activities and amenities are designed to promote family bonding and the making of new friends, and we’re glad to see that you were able to spend some quality time together. We also appreciate the positive feedback on our menu selection.

Each season at Woodloch brings new and exciting activities and events - summertime brings even more outdoor fun with many outdoor games and contests, as well as boating, waterskiing, swimming, and more along Lake Teedyuskung. Each and every visit is truly unique.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you once again!

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon twp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Wish I had known it wasn't for couples. My boyfriend and I wanted a getaway with tubing and all inclusive. We read great reviews on this resort but none stated how the tubing was or if there was a lift. Well there is no lift cause the hills are for children. We were disappointed because the resort is mostly for families. We felt out of place but made the best of it. We enjoyed the 4 course meals and the entertainment! Glad I only booked 1 night. If you have children I highly recommend staying in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Maria L,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your review of our property.

While we have been predominantly a family resort since 1958, we’ve come to understand that the term “family” is starting to mean different things to different people. We host many reunions, corporate retreats, scout groups and more - “family” seems to mean any group of people that are looking to spend quality time together.

While we are disappointed that we varied a little from your expectations, we thank you for your positive words and recommendation to parents for children. Our sister property, The Lodge at Woodloch, is a destination spa resort and only 2 miles from our main property - it might provide a nice alternative for your next vacation plans, plus, you have access to our resort as well. Thank you again for your insight.

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I enjoyed all the shows they were fantastic.... as far as the food not impressed by the meals at all.
Soup was the only thing that was good..... I suite we stayed was beautiful. but again as far as the meals really wasn't impressed at all...... Staff is good, but the place is a bit old especially the dining area.... prices are way too high I feel other places are better then this. Was not impressed by all the hype.....probably a better place for kids in the summer. Not older adults

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Phyllis T,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community
.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the Woodloch dining experience. We are continuously expanding our menu and making adjustments based on guest feedback. The main dining area is currently being renovated in an effort to strike a balance between the modern and our country rustic charm. We strive to provide a comfortable and family-friendly atmosphere that make all of our guests feel at home.

We thank you for recommending us to families, and we are glad you enjoyed your accommodation. While we’re not exclusively an “adult only” resort, we aim to provide a list of entertainment options, activities, and amenities of which everyone can find something that they would enjoy. If you have any specific suggestions or recommendations for activities that would make your experience more positive, feel free to email me at Woodmark <At> Woodloch< Dot> Com.
We appreciate your candid remarks, and hope that you will reconsider us for future getaways!

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The experience was ok.its best for families with young children because of the really small hills.it really wasn't that great,i'm not sure what the buzz is about. the place isn't really nice looking, looks a bit old. the food was eh but we paid $300;no comment. It looked eh for the price we were paying. I've been to way nicer(forgot the name of the resort cus i was younger)places but we had huge hills,awesome tubing,etc. for a much lesser price. I really don't see what the hype is.it was an ok stay and my family and i made the best of it:) the thing i really liked was the performers, they were awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Lorena H,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to review our resort.

We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us was just “ok” - we strive to provide an excellent vacation experience to every guest that walks through our doors, no matter what the age. While we certainly enjoy tubing during our winter months, a Woodloch vacation offers much more than just snow tubing. We offer dozens of activities, events, and amenities each day. We hope that all guests, especially new ones, are able to give a few of them a try and embrace in the spirit of fun and competition. We are glad that you enjoyed our entertainment and the various performers.

We appreciate your feedback. If you have any specific recommendations for us, feel free to email us at Woodmark <At> Woodloch<Dot> Com. We always appreciate any constructive criticism that can be provided, and we always want to know what our guests might be looking for in a vacation!

Sincerely,

Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
6.8 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
21.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
335 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,568 reviews
17.8 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Property: Woodloch Pines Resort
Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hawley
#1 Green Hotel in Hawley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing