We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a "family resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've heard glowing reviews about Woodloch and my husband and I decided to spend a weekend at the resort. It's a very nice property, but definitely more suited for families than couples. There are lots of activities to do (boating, rock climbing, Segway rentals, etc.) while you're there. Our room was comfortable, although it had an "off" odor to it - I'm not sure if it was just stuffy or a little mildew (although the room was very clean). We tried to open the windows, but it was too hot outside to go without air conditioning. The air conditioners are a bit loud, too. The main dining room is nice, but meal times are very limited (i.e. breakfast seating between 8:30 and 9:30 only, and dinner from 6:15 to 7:15). An early-bird continental breakfast from 6:30a.m to 7:30 a.m. would be nice for anyone who wants to get up and out early.

The oddest thing I noticed were red boxes located throughout the resort's bathroom, including our room, to place hypodermic needles. I even noticed a red box in the clubhouse at the golf course that had at least 6 used needles in it. Please know that I mean absolutely no disrespect to anyone who may need to use needles for medicinal purposes, but I can honestly say I've never seen needle waste just sitting in boxes at any hotel that I've traveled to.

I don't know if I would return for the price we paid ($1,000 for 2 people for 2 nights), but I definitely think if money is no object, and you have children/grandchildren, this is a nice place to go.

Just as an FYI - allow 3 hours from the Philadelphia area to get here. If you're traveling at night, be careful because resort signs are hard to see (they're not lighted).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelCritic0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

HotelCritic – We are thankful you gave Woodloch a try this July, though there is no doubt during the summer Woodloch is family-centric. Our meal times are structured so families won’t miss a lick of the action, but having other options (continental breakfast, extended dining hours, etc…) is something we discuss often.

We would love to have you return, as summer turns to fall Woodloch becomes a bit more relaxing while still having all the same great activity as July. Woodloch offers so much more than strictly family activities, Woodloch Pines in the fall can very much be a great location for an adult retreat, in addition, Woodloch Springs is our championship golf course and luxury guest home community as well as The Lodge at Woodloch, a destination spa resort, which is a 16 and older facility and is rated a world's best resort.

Thank you for your feedback, though to properly correct some of the issues you’ve raised, we would love to speak with you directly. Please email us at woodmark (@) Woodloch.com.
Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

1st time at Woodloch at the suggestion of our neighbors and we found it to be a very fun, relaxed atmosphere. The games and activities were top notch! The food and accommodations were terrific. The real charm of the resort is the staff. Every single staff member we encountered went out of their way to make our stay fun. We especially enjoyed Jafar and Oliver in the dining room, our zip line crew, and Hip Hop Jorge!! If you let your hair down and decide to be a kid for a couple of days, you will laugh and have many memories and stories to share for the rest of the year!! Make sure you don't miss out on double dare :)))))))

Room Tip: The suites in Springbrook were wonderful. Very spacious and great location by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We’re so glad that you and your family made the trip here to Woodloch at the recommendation of your neighbors, Carleen! It sounds like you had a great time and got to partake in a lot of what we have to offer! As you mention, Woodloch encourages guests of all ages to enjoy the fun of being young! Double Dare is an absolute guest favorite; what’s not to love about sliding down the bounce house slip and slide and jumping around in a cloud of soap suds? :)

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our 1st time this year and we LOVED it. Will definitely be going back again next year and bringing our family and friends. So much to do...Something for everyone!! Resort has the most friendliest staff you will ever meet. They make you feel like family there. Loved every show and activity. Highly recommend!!!! Not ONE complaint.....now THAT'S a Vacation !!

Room Tip: Loved the lake view rooms. Mountain Laurel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you, Tammy! We love seeing how much our first time guests enjoy their stay. Before you know it, you’ll be one of our long-time guests with over 20 stays under your belt! Woodloch is built on the principal of spending valuable family time together and making memories that will last a lifetime. We have put family first since we opened over 50 years ago, and our staff goes out of their way to make our guests feel completely at home. Be sure to come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were 13 people, 3 generations from all over the country, celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary at Woodloch Pines. Everyone from 4 to 73 had more activities than they could get to in 4 days! The food was excellent and each member of the staff was outstanding...friendly, helpful,and always pleasant. Our accommodations were perfect and management was suburb in arranging every detail of the special family events we requested. We can't say enough good things about Woodloch as the ultimate family vacation spot!

Room Tip: There is a great variety of accommodations. Study the descriptions and use the beautiful map on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

It sounds like you all had a wonderful time here, Gail! Thank you for the kind words. What a great way to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary but to make a trip to Woodloch and bring the entire family together from around the country! Our staff is our greatest asset, and they always strive to make each guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible. We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After reading all the reviews starting with the bad first I had a good idea of what to expect. We were a group of 26 people ranging from 8-90 years old. We stayed all over property from a lake house to all the different buildings. Everyone liked their accomodations with the exception of the air conditioners turning on and off. Literally when it turns on and then off it can wake you out of a light sleeper. Some rooms had the option of continuous fan unfortunately ours did not.

Good: Lots of activities for ALL ages. Like a land cruise you can find something to do all day into the night. Fun family activities to do together. It's a FAMILY camp so if you are looking for a drop off kids camp look else where. DRINK the Woodloch kool-aid!!! BUY into the theme of the camp, yes it's schmaltzy but that's the charm.

Bad: Food very average. Breakfast was fine. Lunch & dinner was difficult if you are a picky eater. Our clan comes from NYC etc and food expectations are high. It's ok but don't expect high end. They were accomodating for sauce on side etc but it's set menus every night.

Over all, staff very nice, upbeat & happy to help. We had a great time, bought into the place and will return!!

HTH anyone thinking of going.

Room Tip: The most accessible rooms to the activities are in Timberline. Other rooms are scattered all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your honest review, Melboca! We do everything we can to make Woodloch enjoyable for our guests of all ages. As you mention, there is a vast array of activities for everyone! We’re glad to hear that everyone in your group enjoyed their accommodations, but we’re sorry to hear that you found the noise from the air conditioners to be disruptive. We will certainly look into how we can improve this situation as we want our guests to be as comfortable as possible! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Have been here 3 summers. We were there with three generations of family. There is something for everyone-all ages, all interests. You can be busy, busy, busy or you can relax and do nothing. We stayed in a house off the main property which was lovely, but it was serviced by the shuttle bus and maid service. We went to the go-carts, kayaking, golf, paddleboats, fishing, bingo, shuffleboard, wagon ride, bumper boats, mini golf, bumper cars, petting zoo, family feud, magician, rowboat, pleasure cruise on the lake a pantoon boat, cupcake wars, we lounged on the grass in front of the lake, we watched wimbledon in the sports lounge, gameroom, saw a juggler who'd been on America's got talent, swam in 4 different pools and the lake, watched fireworks, saw a movie, went to two carnivals. This is only what we did. There was tons of stuff we didn't do. Customer service was excellent and with a smile! They've updated their activities, now have zipline, horseback riding, segways and paintball. The food has been updated too. They had edamame and quinoa! They still have meat and potatoes too. Perfect for families.

Room Tip: I liked being in a house off the main property. I think it was quieter which is a plus for me. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alis60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

ALIS- It sounds like you had quite the busy vacation- and we’d love to have you return for all the fun you weren’t able to catch this time! We strive to keep everyone happy, and we are glad your group had a good time. Thank you for your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went to visit Woodlock Resort as part of a family wedding. We had no expectations but were part of a large group ranging in age from 12-82. We stayed in the Woodlock Springs and had our own 3- bedroom house. All of the wedding attendees got to stay on our own block with a cul-de- sac. It was really very quaint, yet relaxing and fun. There's an abundance of activities for all ages: boat trips, canoeing, kayaking, go carts, bumper cars in addition to all the water sports, hot tub, pools, etc. we had a great 3 days there and the resort is extremely flexible. Even on the check out day, we could use the facilities until sundown. My only complaint was that there is only one small general store for buying food for the cabins. Has I known in advance, I would have stoppped in the town of Hawley--9 miles away-- ans stocked up in advance. I can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank LKWendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

LKWendel- Thank you for your recent visit, and of course congratulations to the bride and groom! We’ve had the pleasure of sharing great lifetime wedding memories with many of our guests and we’re happy to hear everyone in your party had a good experience.

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
9.6 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
138 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wayne Inn
Wayne Inn
#3 of 3 in Honesdale
29 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Price Range: $382 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing