We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family camp, great for kids, some things to watch out for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our big extended family had a great long weekend at the resort to celebrate a major birthday. The place is wonderful for kids, with lots of activities and a very friendly, very skilled staff. I especially appreciated the guys who ran the lake boating, bumper boats and go carts, they were patient, helpful and polite with everyone. This is a great place for a big family trip. We had suites in the Mountain Laurel building, and the rooms were spacious, quiet, clean, and had nice views of the lake. A great pool complex is attached. All good!
Here are just a few gripes and observations to help frame some decisions while you visit - -
First, the resort has grown over time in a meandering way, so the layout is not simple and the paths between buildings, or through builidings, is sometimes unclear. Ask if you aren't sure, or you will do more wandering than you need to do. Shuttles are available and run frequently, but, note for older folks: they don't always take you exactly where you want to be, there is some walking from the shuttle stops to some of the places you will want to go, like the lakefront.
Second, if you are looking for a polished setting, go to Skytop, the buildings and grounds here are very clean and well tended, but the resort feels and looks like a summer camp. And again, drives and paths intersect everywhere, it would be nice if they just replanned all the roads and paths, hid some of the parking, and had less paving.
Third, beware of some hidden expenses, like kids' cocktails. Included in your package are plenty of soft drinks and juices, but at dinner kids are tempted by expensive non-alcoholic drinks wtih sparkling trinkets, laid out on a table as you enter the dining room, and, personally, I think that's lame. Also, the TV system is geared to showcase pay services, it takes several steps to find free TV with the remote. One family in our group ended up with all sorts of TV charges. Especially beware the movie charges: over $15 a pop. My advice is to stay outdoors in the sun and leave the TV alone.
Fourth, the food is fine but not great, and the selections are more limited than you might find at some similar resorts. Don't expect better than you can get at a good diner (or a summer camp dining hall) and you won't be disappointed. Think of meal times as a social events, and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suburbandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

@SuburbanDad Thank you so much for your recent visit. Along with our picturesque Pocono landscape comes a moderately hilly terrain. It allows us to enjoy not only a beautiful lakefront but also rolling wooded hills that are perfect for a hike. Our resort has also grown a tremendous amount over the past 20 years- future renovations will ultimately make sense of current layouts. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

My sister and I visited Woodloch Pines resort on Mother's Day weekend as a way of honoring our Mother who loved visiting Woodloch on day trips with her local Seniors. We were at once transported to a state of relaxation in the beauty and warmth of the Woodloch experience. There was always something to do and the staff made us feel so welcome...one of the best getaways EVER...

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the lake...priceless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

@Jane P, Woodloch was founded in 1958 on a basis of FAMILY and TRADITION. We are very pleased to hear that we are a part of your family’s tradition. Thank you so much for your visit and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time with our family at the Woodloch Pines resort. It was "off" season (before the summer season hit) and we were blessed with two days of pouring rain. But, our children were busy, had many activities to keep them occupied and they loved the food. We were so excited to have the sun shining, finally on our third day, and spent the majority of the day outside, multiple indoor/ outdoor playgrounds, lake activities and outdoor moments were had. The youngest loved the "character" greeting him every day at lunch and dinner, whether it was the Woodloch bear, Elmo, Buzz Lightyear or more, it gave him a squeal of delight. the evening activities were well attended and kept us going. This was a fabulous vacation and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are wonderful. it's a beautiful setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

@Judith E, Thank you for your recent stay and for your kind words. We like to think that “the sun is always shining at Woodloch” even if it isn’t- we do our best to stand up against Mother Nature and share fun times with family and friends no matter what the conditions. We’re glad to hear that the sun finally peaked out to say goodbye to you- and he promises he will be around next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spent a long weekend at Woodloch Resort to attend a friend's wedding. Different groups of guests rented out houses together at Woodloch Springs and attended the ceremony and reception held at the Pines. Though this is usually thought of as a family resort, it is also a great place for small or large groups of twenty somethings to get out of the city and spend time with friends in the outdoors.

The price to rent the houses is very reasonable and the number of optional activities included with your stay is great. The houses are clean and comfortable and each one has a deck that comes with a grill on it. The grounds are beautiful and I would definitely go back again on a couple's trip, a trip with a group of friends, or with family.

The only drawbacks are that the size of the place and the location make it hard to get to, and to get around in, without a car. Additionally, the food options within the resort are limited, so you will definitely want to get groceries for your stay.

Room Tip: If someone sleeps on the pull-out couch, you can lower the per person cost to rent a house, as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeistyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

@FeistyNYC, Thank you for joining us recently. We strive to keep our grounds as pristine as possible, and we are pleased to hear you had a positive experience with us.
While the roads on the last stretch of your trip to us may be a little windy, once you have found your way once, you will not get lost again. Most of the amenities are located at Woodloch Pines, a short drive from the Woodloch Springs Golf Course. We offer 160 rooms available on property at the Pines as well. We look forward to seeing you once again!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I started going to Woodloch seven years ago, and I continue going to Woodloch. I've gone during my chemo treatments, which meant I went with no hair, fuzzy hair, in a wheelchair, with a cane and I kept going. We are always meeting new people, laugh, laugh. laugh. I will continue to go as long as my body can get me there, We took our whole family up to Hawley for a week in July. My 18 year old wanted to suggest the place for his project graduation. Woodloch is for everyone, of all ages. I can't say enough.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in Timberline (sp) no buses, and can walk to your room anytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Eileen F - Thank you so much for your kind words. We try to provide something for everyone here, and time spent laughing and having fun with others is what it all boils down to. You’re very brave and quite the trooper to visit us even with everything else going on in your life! On behalf of the whole Woodloch Family, allow me to express our best wishes to you. We look forward to seeing you again for year number eight!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was a family trip to celebrate my husband's birthday. I heard about Woodloch for years and was anxious to try it. 11 of us stayed in the Mountain Laurel Suites . Great , spacious and well equipped. The best response about the trip came from our 16 year old grandson. As we were leaving he said , "You know, this is really better than I expected". The 8 year old said that he wanted to come back for his birthday! Out of the mouth of babes.
The entire staff is there to accommodate your every need. Activities galore. Bumper cars were their favorite.We have 5 very active grandsons( ages 2-16) and that were not at a loss as to what to do. Couldn't swim in the lake yet but the indoor pool is terrific and fun for the little ones.
It is pricey but we all felt it was worth it. The food is satisfactory. Could use some adjustments but they will prepare the food as you like it.More than ample amounts. Certainly much better than Disneyland and Great Wolf Lodge!
My whole family would like to return again and that a real positive. We look forward to a return visit.
Note: Older folks - don't travel there at night. Getting there has some winding , dark roads. We never used our cars once we got there and that was terrific.
Kudos to the owners and staff for providing a wonderful family vacation.

Room Tip: We were happy with the size of our rooms in The Mountain Laurel. Not in the main lodge but shuttle a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YoungRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

YoungRetirees – Meeting and exceeding our guest's expectations is what we strive to do, and it sounds like we did in your grandson’s eyes! We are happy to see you enjoyed everything from our Mountain Laurel Suites to the various activities we offer on a daily basis. We would all be honored to have your family come back for a return visit, and thank you for trying us out for the first time!

P.S. Please wish your husband a happy birthday, and we hope he had a blast!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have been going to Woodloch for over 10 years but this past weekend was our best trip yet! How can it get better we thought? Well, it did and the Kiesendahl family has done it again. What a special place Woodloch has become for me and my entire family. My parents when I was single, my husband when we were married and now our daughter loves it just the same. From the time you enter the property to the time you depart you are made to feel special and no stone goes unturned. From the meals and choice of food, cooked to perfection to every activity under the sun. This trip we paddled boats, bumper cars, bumper boats, batting cages, I zipped on the zip line, bet on a few hourses, went to shows, played bingo, my daughter went on a pony and we all enjoyed a game of bocce ball. Of course, we are an active family but we could have curled up by the lake and read our favorite book. At Woodloch you feel like family and your comfortable no matter what you choose to do. I even had the opportunity to get to the Spa and that is another review simply in itself. Thank you again Woodloch. Thank you for letting my family make more memories and leave smiling waiting until we come again. First class all the way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Janis M – You had the best trip yet after ten years at Woodloch? Excellent! We hope that the memories you have created at Woodloch over the years are ones that you will cherish forever. We hope to provide the same level of service to your family for many, many years to come. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we will look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
6.9 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
682 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,225 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,642 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hawley
#1 Green Hotel in Hawley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Price Range: $359 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing