We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding resort for every member of a young family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Having just come back from our first visit to Woodloch, I can see why this resort has such broad appeal. It is an excellent place for a family vacation.

They do their best at meals to provide a range of both sophistication and comfort. Every family has the privacy of their own table without the stress of having the only child in the room who may have a temporary stumble of their table manners or behavior. The staff at meals is welcoming, cheerful and helpful. They act like they are there to be your family's personal helper.

The quantity, quality, variety, and availability of activities throughout the day and evening is fantastic. If you can't find something truly fun to do no matter what your age, you must have fallen asleep, which is something you can also do without interference unlike some other family-marketed destinations in the Poconos.

The management clearly takes the approach that they expect to be accountable for not just providing a satisfying retreat but to create the opportunity for vivd treasured memories.

I was impressed how you could not pass by a single employee, literally, without seeing a smile and being offered a hello and a wish for a great day.

The place feels like the family-owned environment that it is. I know many people understand what I mean by that. You don't get nickel and dimed. The staff put you ahead of their own convenience. No one takes themself too seriously when they shouldn't. Guests and employees alike all behave like they want to be there. How refreshing is that after the work week/environment that many of us have these days?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Greenbriar section which particularly in winter-time with the winter activity layou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife, daughter and I went to Woodloch over the Xmas break. It was expensive,about $1900 plus tax and 15% gratutity for 3 nites, but we wanted a nice place and decided to splurge a bit. It's an all inclusive resort mostly so it made life easy. Turns out there are some extras like drinks, ammo for the shooting range, and, believe it or not, ping pong balls. The people were great and couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The food was quite good and plentiful especially for an all inclusive type resort. Unfortunately, there was no snow and the weather was warm. The resort did make snow for a small tube run. Overall, we felt that this was a place for large group or family gatherings and it probably is much better during the summer when you could do more like swim in the lake and be outdoors all day. After all, who wants to do go-carting when it's 40 degrees? The evening entertainment was good for this type of resort. We took a hayless hayride to see the Christmas lights and we saw a musical. Both were fun. Because of the weather being too warm for snow and we had some rain, we didn't find it too exciting. The rooms were decent and clean and we had a nice view of the lake. My wife wishes Woodloch had some nice quiet sitting areas in front of the fire for reading but we didn't find any. We did play some bingo and resort organized trivia games but overall I'd say go with a bunch of friends or extended family during the summer.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeffb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

jeffb1 – Thank you for sharing your fair and honest thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. While it has been an unseasonably warm winter thus far with little to no snow, we were able to open our snow tube run with a little help from our snow makers. We also provide many different activities every single day, so even in a winter with no snow you will still find something to do, no matter what your age. We are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating and that the meals were to your liking. Since Woodloch is an all-season resort, we definitely encourage you to visit us again and take part in a whole new set of activities. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Coming back to Woodloch is like spending time with extended family . For the last 21 years our group has been returning to Woodloch and has grown to usually over 100 families.Even though nearly 400 people are on our trip. I did not hear 1 single complaint. Woodloch is in a beautiful lake setting and all the buildings,facilities and amenities are well maintained and very clean. There is a large selection of accomodations. Lakefront in the mainlodge which is my favorite to large 1 & 2 bedroom suites in the pool complex and maginificent large 5 bedroom houses on site. Certainly the beauty of the resort is a significant factor in making Woodloch such a great destination but it's the owners and staff are what makes it a unique destination. They welcome you and treat you like family and the spend a great deal of effort talking with the guests to insure that all is well. The owner is on site,visible and each evening walks through the dining room conversing with the guests.
The activities are great fun and geared for all ages and are designed to bring families together. The food is very good and abundant and the waitstaff is efficent and friendly.
There are few resorts which can truly say we offer something for everyone but Woodloch can easily say that and much more. Woodloch Springs is an oustanding golf community nearby with beautiful homes,clubhouse,pools,grill rooms and most importantly a challenging and beautiful layout. The Lodge at Woodloch is breathtaking and is regarded as one of the top desination spa's in the world.
No matter what you are looking for you will find it at Woodloch and you will find it amongst people who really care about your expierence and who will do whatever it takes to keep you coming back again & again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

lenk58 – Thank you so much for your review. Woodloch has been around for 54 years, and we appreciate that you and your group have been a part of that history for so long. We strive to provide a fun and engaging experience each and every time a guest comes through our doors, and we hope to continue to provide that for many years to come. From our family to yours, thank you so much!

Sincerely,
Your Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our 30th year and probably at least 40th visit to Woodloch this past December continues to impress and amaze my growing family (12 of us were there). Warm, friendly (know us by name), activities for all ages (1-60 in our case) from arts and crafts, boat rides, bumper cars, zip lines, snow tube runs, go-carts, nightclub, on and on - GREAT!

Room Tip: All of the various room types never disappoint - from hotel style to suites, houses, townhouses, cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Woodloch has a feeling like nowhere else. It starts with the family ownership team and never stops. Every guest is made to feel like they are one of the family, whether it is your first visit or your 15th. The atmosphere makes for a great way to spend time with your family and there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodlochfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Woodlochfan17 – We love the name! We appreciate the opportunity to share our hospitality with you, and the Kiesendahl family is always at the forefront when it comes to spreading the warmth of Woodloch. Thank you so much for your experience.

Sincerely,
Your Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is an awesome place to take your family and to go with extended family and friends. The all inclusive activities are great. The food is excellent and plenty of it! We go at least twice a year with extended family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Ann Marie T – We are happy to see you had yet another good time! Thank you for your kind words and we can’t wait until your next visit!

Sincerely,
Your Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

What a wonderful weekend at Woodloch. My 8 year old sobbed when it was time to leave. Our family was saving towards a trip to DIsney World and we all agreed that we would rather go back to Woodloch instead of Disney World. There is NEVER a dull moment at Woodloch. I know that we will be returning many times in the future.

Room Tip: We had a suite and loved it. Washer and dryer and small kitchen made the trip even easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

sarah c – Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. It seems your little one had a blast judging by the reaction to the thought of leaving. Hopefully there were some smiles that appeared after hearing of a return visit! We strive to provide many different fun and entertaining options as possible at any given point throughout the course of any day, and we are glad that you had not one dull moment during your stay. We appreciate you joining us and hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Your Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
9.6 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
138 reviews
6.9 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
696 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Price Range: $392 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing