We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee in PA”

Cocoon Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffee in PA”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I agree with the previous review, this is certainly not Starbucks (in a good way) and that is exactly what I was looking for. This is a lovely coffee shop with great service and location. The coffee was very smooth unlike many popular chains. It has an inviting sitting area, inside and out. An additional plus is that the coffee house is located next to the silk factory which now houses a spa, galleries, boutique shops and the Mill Market which provides locally sourced produce.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gclabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“First Fridays!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Harmony Presents and the Hawley Downtown Partnership have a wonderful First Friday collaboration. Great art on the wall! Local musical talent on open mic! Your favorite coffee, soda, wine or beer. Supportive environment for artists, appreciative audience members, friendly staff. Great community vibe and books on sale support the library, a donation box at open mic night for the local downtown partnership. A real coffeehouse with a lively community feel, even got our local sign up sheets for the adult and continuing education classes at the local school district. Had an iced coffee and a soda. Happy to see neighbors I had not seen in a while in attendance. A great start to the month! (You can usually get a quiche, sandwich, salad, or baked good at the Cocoon. Even for gluten free you can find something, try the Kind bars which are very good.) Thank goodness it is not a Starbucks! Locally owned and operated and community concerned! Where can you hear a local minister doing Maroon 5 covers, or see a talented duo of dulcimer players. Show off your guitar stylings or just sit back and watch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great coffee!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Their coffee was amazing! When ordered they freshly ground the coffee beans and brew it as you order for a very fresh taste. One of the best coffee houses I have been to. Each coffee type was also described in detail and accurately. Had to visit this place each day of our vacation it was so good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank E4210OOchrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Coffee and Cocoa”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped in here for a coffee and a cocoa, after visiting the silk mill. My cocoa was very creamy, and my husband said his coffee was good also. It was a nice cafe, with the sofas, coffee tables, etc. There was alot of interesting artwork on the walls. They had a nice selection of sandwiches and snacks, although we did not try any, they looked really good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top notch atmosphere and food!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Cocoon as become my favorite destination in Hawley to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee. Their state-of-the-art menu perfectly compliments the modern renovation of the historic bluestone structure in which the extensive use of wood, leather, and stone create a soothing, "organic" atmosphere. The wall of used books for sale adds an intellectual touch. The coffee is excellent and the prepared foods are inventive and very tasty. Local art is displayed, as well as historical information about the building. One could spend a great deal of time here taking it all in, or just enjoying a leisurely beverage. Beer and wine now served, too! A first class operation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjcurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoon Coffee House also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Cocoon Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing