We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average resort, but just what we needed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanglwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanglwood Resort
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average resort, but just what we needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

Although it could use some MORE renovations (some rooms are very nice, most look like they are from 1970), this resort had everything our family needed. Outdoor pool, rec room, shuffleboard, tennis, playground, and even access to a nearby health club and indoor pool. The staff were extremely nice- especially the rec center staff where we spent a good deal of time. We had an older room, but it was clean and spacious. It's no 4 star resort, but it's location near the Claws N Paws zoo (cute), some nice restaurants, Family Fun Place (indoor mini-golf and more), go-carts at Costas, even whitewater rafting on the Delaware made our vacation a pleasant one at Tanglwood.

  • Liked — good location for us
  • Disliked — room needed upgrading
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 38katelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
54
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

We booked through RCI. We really went there to get away and enjoy the area. We went horse back riding at Triple W stables close by. That was rally awesome. The first time I rode a horse and they made it a very safe and relaxing experience. We also wen to the Paws N Claws Zoo. Don't miss it. Nice size zoo. The pool was closed at the resort. So was the restaurant. And the tennis court. There lake across the street is beautiful and downtown Hawley can be walked in about an hour. There isn't much to do however. The unit was fine. open kitchen looking into the LR which was great. sliding door to woods view. clean. the AC is very loud. Nice to stay - but only for a weekend or so.

  • Liked — close to horse back riding, lake
  • Disliked — no activities, pool closed, tennis court closed, restaurant closed
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank trip4betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

Booked 2 units (condos 213 & 222) through RCI. Arrived Wed 12/27/06. Evening of 12/28/06 water main break, no water until 12/30/06. Given 2 gallons of water with an apology.
12/30/06 - microwave with a built on date of July 1986 (actually stamped on the inside) failed to work, maintentance man spent 1 hour scraping 20 years of food particles from the inner parts.
12/30/06 - mice in both condos along with their droppings onder the sink.
Heating unit in bedroom did not work properly.
Out dated decor, furniture and amenities added up to a long list of funny stories to tell additional family members who joined us at Tanglwood on New Years Eve.
On a positive note, condo 213 has a great lake view.

  • Liked — Nice view
  • Disliked — everything but the view
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

Me and my husband we went to the tanglewood resort for our honeymoon and i would say it just was our biggest mistake because we had the most horrible time and returned back the next day. The pictures and definition online for this resort is insufficient and misleading. The name shouldnt be tanglewood "resort" but "cottages". Its nothing like a resort. It took us 7 to 8 hours to get to the main check-in office, by that time the sun was about to set and was getting darker. We were glad we reached finally as my husband was tired with the long drive but they gave us the directions and map to our tanglewood ski resort which was again a few miles away from the office.

It was very far and the street name signs are not big enough to read plus there are "NO street lights" so all we were driving on were the car lights. The board for Tanglewood resort is small too so its really hard to see with just the headlights. The directions given by the front desk were misleading too so we had to call the tanglwood customer service and ask for the directions two times from the middle of nowhere!! The directions said go up the hill to the dead end and go accross the huge parking lot and there you will find the ski resort. We made two trips down that road but couldnt find it. It was so dark and its such a hilly area in middle of the trees and deers around its really scary to make turns into streets that go down-hill because you dont know where it might take u.

Finally we reached the resortat around 10.50pm. We were somewhat relieved but it was very disappointing looking at the old looking cottages where there was no main office or any person from the resort to help us out plus there was not a single soul outside just two cars parked and no lights in the next two cottages and all we could hear were the insect noises. Pretty scary!

On entering the cottage we checked the kitchen which had all the utensils and equipments but all were very old looking and there were no bathroom mats in the bathroom and the zacuzzi was the small tub with the little outlets. The recreation ares were again miles and miles far from where we lived and no fun atall. It was a veryyyyyyyyyyy disappointing experience as the only night we spent there was horrible and we dint have a good night sleep and i would NOTTT recommend this so called resort to anybody unless they are looking for a place to spoil their vacation. The next day we went back and stayed at Niagara falls at travelodge and had fun and enjoyed our Honeymoon with a heart-shapped zacuzzi. But this did spoil our honeymoon to some extent.

  • Liked — NOTHING Atall !!!!
  • Disliked — Absolutely Everything!!
  • Tips/Secrets — There are many other places that can be visited! DONT Spoil your vacation! Stay AWAY!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Payal_sh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2006

We spend a delightful weekend at the Tanglwood Resort in Hawley, PA. The area is surrounding the largest lake in PA. The unit is perfect. Newly renovated with flat screen TV and upscale beds and appliances. We stayed in the Lake Unit with great views and the indoor swimming pool, golf and health club is up the hill. They have very nice dinner with wine tasting for $28 per person. This resort is being completely renovated by new management and it is in a great location around the lake.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank schong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

We, as two seniors from Massachusetts, had a delightful time! We selected the mid-October trip to view the lovely foliage -- we weren't disappointed at all. Our unit was so very nice;--two bedrooms (one on each of two levels), a large living room/dining room, kitchen and two baths (one on each of the two levels). The upstairs bathroom had a large water jetted tub, under a sky-iit roof -- a very large bathroom! The unit was extremely well equipped (pots, pans, linens, pillows, two T.V.'s, microwave, ice maker in refrig., carpet sweeper, iron, ironing board, paper towels, extra tolilet tissue, facial tissue, dishes, glasses, coffee maker, dishwasher, etc., etc. etc. (even had a bathroom plunger :). And, our unit had been totally renovated! New furniture, new carpeting, new kitchen cabinets and appliances, new luxury draw-drapes. We arrived there in cold weather and the heating system was noiseless and efficient. In other words, it was really, really nice! We were there to see the foliage, and do some sightseeing -- so it was a perfect "home base" for us to roam around the area. Downtown Hawley was so quaint -- happened to have been there for their "Hoedown" weekend. Went to a country auction in Honesdale -- lots of fun on a rainy day. Explored the Delaware Water Gap -- very educational. Found some really nice restaurants (Erhardt's in particular). We came home with pleasant memories, having experienced a very satisfying and positive mini-vacation.

  • Liked — Everything so new (re-newed)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your hairdryer and groceries, unpack, relax and enjoy :)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

We booked our stay through our timeshare company RCI the picture of the resort was not how the resort looked that we stayed in. There are many different areas to the Tanglwood Resort - the one we stayed at was very old and run down. We were not aware that it would take us about 15 minutes from the main building to get to our unit. It was difficult at first to find the Yatch Club road that would take us down to another road to get to our unit. I would suggest a larger sign that would say Tanglwood Resort and have the staff mention the strip mall (that has a deli and not much else) which is located on the left hand side of a sharp corner, put your direction light on, at the top of the hill you need to turn left. (they mentioned a boat rental on the right hand side-- there are a few boat rental places)
The parking was not the greatest, it seemed there were not enough spots for the units. Most of the time we had to park close to the road because there was no room in the gravel parking lot. (maybe there should be designated numbered parking spots.) We had to walk a long distance to get to our unit. Very disappointing.
The units need a lot of work. These units were not the cleanest.Appearance at first is neat and tidy. Then we noticed there were cobwebs on the walls and ceilings, carpets,tiles and funiture are old and need repair. The walls were patchy, all walls needed to be painted, the deck floor outside the upstairs bedroom is in need of repair. The front of the unit facing a lake was a untidy (twigs all over the place). The patio furniture is in need updating or at least some paint.
We were told that some units were being gutted and redone ... however we never saw any.
To use the in-door pool, you had to find your way over to the golf course, we did not venture over there. The entertainment room was at the main building which was about 15 mins away.
There was no meet and greet, no suggestions of things you might want to take in while there. Very dissappointing. We would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Liked — The deer that came to visit nightly.
  • Disliked — Location, units in great need of repair/update
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Chicklet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
0.3 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
4.3 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
15.2 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglwood Resort

Property: Tanglwood Resort
Address: 9 Crest Dr, Hawley, PA 18428-9152
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tanglwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Pa
Tanglwood Hotel Hawley
Tanglwood Resort Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing