We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Settlers Inn Hawley PA”
Review of The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Settlers Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hudson Street (Route 590E)
Transit: Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.
Description: A meticulously restored Arts & Craft Lodge in the Lake Region of Pennsylvania's Pocono Mountains boasting native Chestnut Wood Beams, Bradbury & Bradbury hand screened Wallpapers, Fulper hand crafted tiles, a Stickley Grandfather's Clock, a collection of Arts and Crafts Pottery and Mission Style furnishings. Our hospitality extends from the head to the heart to the hand. Gather with friends or family in the inn's many comfortable common spaces. Bask in a summer's day on the terrace, or stroll the colorful Garden and the banks of the meandering Lackawaxen River. Take a spin around town on one of the bikes on our front porch. Walk out the front door to the Bingham Park and Riverwalk Trail to our sister property, Ledges Hotel, where you are invited to relax on one of the many decks and surround yourself in the natural beauty of the waterfalls and gorge.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Settlers Inn Hawley PA”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Beautiful lobby with fireplace, with bar restaurant and piano. Rooms and walls are full of beautiful antiques and artwork the most comfortable bed I ever slept in, warm and comfortable. free breakfast!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    73
    26
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food, great place”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Always creative and changing with the seasons. The staff was a little rusty, but the food was very good. They strive to provide 'farm to table' and make note of the local ingredients used. It is a pricey, but great for an occasional night out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tropicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great special occasion place”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wonderful menu, great service,excellent wine selection. Nice for couples and special occasions. Wouldn't be too good for small children,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cag0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent meal for a lot of VERY picky people!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would guess that between 25 and 30 of us sat down for a wine-pairing dinner at the Settler's Inn. We were all innkeepers from other Select Registry inns and B&Bs in the north-east region, and are all particularly picky about food, service, hospitality, cleanliness and all the small things that make an inn successful. Our set dinner started with Blooming Grove Trout Dumplings with a Miso Lemongrass dipping broth, accompanied by an Anakena Sauvignon Blank. The pairing was excellent with the wine cutting through the unctuousness of the dumpling and broth.

I should tell you at this point that all the food was great, and so was the wine. If you would like to stop reading now, then that's fine, you've already got the gist of this review :-).

Oh? You're still here? Then I'll carry on!

Being from England, I had never really eaten Pork Belly until I visited Charleston a couple of years ago. On that occasion it was so good, that I was put off trying anybody else's recipe. I am SO glad this was a set meal because the Cider Braised Berkshire Pork Belly with the Pillar Box Shiraz, Cabernet and Merlot blend was outstanding! My wife tells me that the Beet Salad was good, but I don't like beets, so I wouldn't know.

The Crispy Herb Stuffed Chicken Leg Roulade was crispily delicious. I've always thought that the legs and thighs were the best part of the chicken, and these stood up well to the Herb Stuffing. The accompanying Sweet Corn Sauce with the Sweet Potato, Apple, and Poblano Hash was unusual for my trans-Atlantic taste, but worked extremely well with the Iris Vineyards Pinot Noir.

For dessert, we had an English Toffee Pudding with Warm Caramel Sauce and Whipped Cream. Now this was a good dessert, but NOT English Toffee Pudding. I doubt that the average guest here would know that, and as I said it was good - just neither English, nor Toffee! As I enjoyed it anyway, it did not really detract from what was overall an excellently convivial evening in a delightful restaurant.

Finally I must add that the staff were really terrific and helpful, and it was a pleasure to be able to show our appreciation to the kitchen staff at the end of our meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner at Settler's”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner at Settler's. The dining room is beautiful with its craftsman details. We had a 4 course meal that was varied and delicious. We would certainly eat here when in the area again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyDonovanNike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Settlers Inn also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing