We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday Specials”
Review of Shogun 3

Shogun 3
Ranked #40 of 74 Restaurants in Havertown
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tuesday Specials”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

They do have great sushi, with great specials on Tuesdays, where it is half off certain rolls. The tea was very good. The service did take a while but the food was very good and well worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Issa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Service award goes to...”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Do not go here!!! It is not just a problem on Monday or Tuesday during their specials. The service is the worst and their management does not care. Last night (Friday, approx. 8:30 pm), the server brought someone else's bill to us, and then someone else's order, and then started off by asking if we wanted anything else when we pointed out we wanted to place a drink order. And we were 1 of 3 of the ONLY three tabletops with less than 3 people at each table (and the 3-top family was the group trying to get their bill to leave!). If you say something about the terrible service or the fact that you have to find someone to provide service, they laugh at you. Additionally, the bathroom has not been cleaned in a long time...to say the least. The "flowers" on the table had mildew growth in the water, and when you point out that the sauce dishes that they leave on the table are dirty, they do nothing about it. It is extremely disappointing and highly disconcerting. We will never come back to this dirt hole. Furthermore, how did they ever pass their inspections???

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food here is great and it's close to home, so, we drop in several times a year. The only drawback is that we have to go into it knowing that the service isn't great. Once we were ready to order when we got there and were rudely told we had to order drinks first. Another time, we were told we had to order immediately because they were going to close for dinner, despite there being no indication on the door or menu about said closing. The waitress silently and impatiently stood over us while we looked at the menu and then abruptly walked away once we finished stating our order. It's almost become a running joke in our family... "let's see how today's service goes!"

Based solely on service, I'd say - If you've got a good Hibachi spot, don't go out of your way to try this one. However, if you're in the area and have a craving, the food here is good. Just don't expect service with a smile every time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ak195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The half-price on selected sushi offer on Mondays and Tuesdays is a great deal and brings in a lot of business so expect to wait a while unless you go early. The food is worth it. If you have family members who are not into raw food, tell them not to worry...it's also a hibachi (grill) restaurant so they can get cooked meat and seafood. The Bento option is a beautiful and tasty variety. Their salads come with that delicious ginger dressing. Don't wait...stop in today! You'll find it tucked along the side of the Manoa shopping center near Staples.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite alright..”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We frequent this nice restaurant, Mondays and Tuesdays get very busy due to sushi half price, I love the place personally, the food's great, I will be there tonight!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allstar431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun 3 also viewed

 

Been to Shogun 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing