We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaya's is no more”
Review of Kaya's Cuisine - CLOSED

Kaya's Cuisine
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Kaya's is no more”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sorry folks. Kaya closed. There is a new restaurant La Tez that opened a few weeks ago. We did not have a good experience. Very expensive for Mexican tapas. Food was inconsistent. Basically nicely flavored but for instance tacos fell apart and you have to eat with a fork. Nachos meat good but chips got soggy. We were asked if we would like our dessert to go because they had a reservation coming in. Good potential but you might want to wait a while to let them iron out their kinks if you don't mind $60 for 5 small plates sized for 2 people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank susrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riviera Maya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“High end food in a neighborhood place.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food and friendly staff! We eat out all the time and Kaya's is definately one of the best eats in the Havertown area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars...”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Birthday dinner was delicious. One of my favorite BYOs, I keep getting wine glasses that aren't quite clean though...

Helpful?
1 Thank frederick_hilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
380 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A Perfect Neighborhood BYOB”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a wonderful store front BYOB on Brookline Blvd in Havertown. Warm and cozy seven of us visited on a quiet thursday night when there were four other tables (couples) enjoying the friendly atmosphere which defines Kaya's.
Perfect spot for a married couples night out. Affordable and romantic. Terrific for a night out.
Never going to win a foodies destination restaurant award, but it fulfills what it wants to be, a great neighborhood placed to enjoy a meal in a relaxing envirnoment.
Limited menu which leans to traditional servings. The night I was there, two fish entrees were offered to compliment the regular menu.
Liked, did not love, my NY strip steak.
The server could not have been more friendly or professional. Will happliy return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appetitetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redstone CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for an intimate rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Jess and Mike Hawthorne run a sweet, cozy BYOB restaurant in what my source says used to be a florist's shop. The staff is relaxed, friendly, and helpful, especially Kara. Jess gave us good advice, was accommodating, and available for planning a group dinner with clients from out of state via email. The food was excellent, and unique, beautifully presented. Everyone expressed their appreciation for the atmosphere along with the food. Jess even wiped off the remaining bottles for repackaging for the trip home again! There is metered on-street parking out front and in the nearby lot, but after 6 PM, parking is free there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya's Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing