We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy bartender and cold food”
Review of Grotto Pizza

Grotto Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unhappy bartender and cold food”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We like to go here on Sundays to watch sports. Unfortunately we will never return. The bartender never once cracked a smile. We waited nearly an hour to receive cold food and she had no apologies, only excuses. She told us the wings came out of the fryer cold. She forgot about our order and she knew it. And not only did she drop off cold wings, she didn't even care to notice our empty beers. Tried calling the manager "Ray" and he was condescending and rude. I emailed the company and received no response. They obviously think they have such a gold min out there, they don't need go respond. They certainly my lost my business and anyone that I know. They need to rethink their staff since its obvious they don't want to be there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jobeeone_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just not what it used to be”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Time for Grotto to either step up to the plate or go the way of the Dodo. Dated furnishing (1985 called. It wants its decor back) It is just not what it used to be. Service was VERY slow. A pizza and sodas should not take 45 minutes. The server messed up our order, and because we were pressed for time, we ate what was delivered. Not to mention we did not want to have to wait for another pizza to take 20 minutes! We were not offered any kind of credit or reduction of the bill, just apologies for the mistake. The pizza was bland, lacking in sauce, and very dry. For a Sunday afternoon I would have expected a bit more spot on service. Next time I will spend my money at another one of the areas fantastic pizza places. I cannot understand how a great pizza spot could go downhill like this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAHM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Must not have been our weekend”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We're so used to going somewhere and having great dining, lodging and leisure time experiences, but this stop was right in line with our let downs for the weekend. The salads were a bit droopy but ok, and our usual cheesesteak pizza was just not quite right. The crust wasn't its usually tasty just right consistency and the overall taste just wasn't there. We go out of our way to go to this restaurant, but now we'll think twice about it when we're looking for Grotto Pizza. We're back to thinking it's better to drive another 45 minutes to get the real thing at the beach - plus it's at the beach.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubaman77-CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great pizza, good Italian food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the original Joe's Grotto that been around since the 1950s. The pizza has always been among the best in NE Pennsylvania. The menu also includes basic Italian food. The Italian food is no-frills, but good. The service was good except that after our waitress gave us our check, there was a long delay before she came back for it. She apologized and told us she had a lot of customers to serve.

I grew up in the W-B area but hadn't been to this restaurant in over 40 years. It was worth the trip back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenGPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay is best way to put it”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Im told this is the Original Grotto. During the summer, this is a social hub for the lake area. It gets packed. During the winter its kinda dead. Its goign to be PACKED during summer holidays. I usually get pretty good service. The menu is mediocre and unimaginative. Its basics. Nothing exciting. Supposedly the pizza use to be a big thing, but it looks like it was made on an assembly line and is blah for pizza. For being the big bar of the area, I was expecting a better selection for beer wine and alcohol. My in-laws like it so we go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thaddeus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza also viewed

Harveys Lake, Luzerne County
Harveys Lake, Luzerne County
 
Harveys Lake, Luzerne County
Harveys Lake, Luzerne County
 

Been to Grotto Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing