We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An excellent hotel experience for a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, PA, United States
1 review
“An excellent hotel experience for a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is modern, nicely decorated and very clean. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The room was nice and spacious. The staff was exceptional! We had such a great experience, we are booking a weekend getaway there again. I absolutely recommend the Best Western Primier in Harrisburg!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    294
    81
    24
    5
See reviews for
498
184
31
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st robert, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you want great service and a place that is good with kids, this is the hotel for you. Indoor pool, ice cream social every afternoon and there is a restaurant/bar attached. Kids under 12 eat for free if you are staying at the hotel and if you do the buffet breakfast, you get a discount for being at the hotel. Kids loved the pool and ice cream. So close to Hershey and just about 35 miles away from Gettysburg. Perfect spot to stay. Clean rooms and clean towels every day, hotel is very quiet after 10 at night. Those who worked the desk at the hotel were fantastic, whatever you needed they were there to help, service was quick and they responded quickly to all of our questions and requests. The restaurant staff was wonderful, they made eating there very enjoyable. I would stay at this hotel again, hotel is so pretty, quiet and you will have an enjoyable time. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at during a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We originally booked a 2 night stay at the Howard Johnson in Hershey, PA. We wanted an outdoor pool, proximity to Hershey Park, and comfort. The visuals on the HoJo web site seemed adequate, so I booked online. Boy, are pictures deceiving! e got there, and were attacked by flies in the lobby. It was run down, and the manager was not very helpful. He showed us our room, and the beds were sunken in, the room smelled of mold, and was tiny! We were a group of 4, so this was not going to work. I got my money back and left running! We then went to about 4 other hotels in the Hershey Park viscidity, and were thoroughly disappointed. I found availability at the Best Western Premier Central Hotel and Conference Center in Harrisburg, which on the GPS, showed it was only about 18 minutes away. We pulled into the parking lot, and out eyes lit up. We were greeted with a smile by a young lady named Sagan, who also gave us each a Hershey chocolate bar LOL. The rate was the same as the HoJo, and the hotel was 150 times nicer. The rooms were huge, and ours opened up directly to the pool, game room, and fitness center. Service was outstanding, as the staff is incredibly helpful. We even got upgraded to a family room, which was enormous, for our 2nd night.


It was so worth the 18 minute drive. I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool on the first floor have an extra door that leads right to the pool, game ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LocaLaBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is truly a pleasure to hear of your memorable experience with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel! As you have mentioned, our guests find great value in our superior service, clean comfortable accommodations, and convenient location to Hershey Park. We will be certain to recognize Sagan for her unwavering support of our goal to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. We thank you for providing us with an opportunity to turn a pleasant experience while visiting Hershey Park into a powerful memory. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Central Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine, CHA
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent hotel in a good location to access all the sites the area has to offer. Staff were helpful and all the facilities at the hotel were to a high standard. Would stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We originally booked a 2 night stay at the Howard Johnson in Hershey, PA. We wanted an outdoor pool, proximity to Hershey Park, and comfort. The visuals on the HoJo web site seemed adequate, so I booked online. Boy, are pictures deceiving! e got there, and were attacked by flies in the lobby. It was run down, and the manager was not very helpful. He showed us our room, and the beds were sunken in, the room smelled of mold, and was tiny! We were a group of 4, so this was not going to work. I got my money back and left running! We then went to about 4 other hotels in the Hershey Park viscidity, and were thoroughly disappointed. I found availability at the Best Western Premier Central Hotel and Conference Center in Harrisburg, which on the GPS, showed it was only about 18 minutes away. We pulled into the parking lot, and out eyes lit up. We were greeted with a smile by a young lady named Sagan, who also gave us each a Hershey chocolate bar LOL. The rate was the same as the HoJo, and the hotel was 150 times nicer. The rooms were huge, and ours opened up directly to the pool, game room, and fitness center. Service was outstanding, as the staff is incredibly helpful. We even got upgraded to a family room, which was enormous, for our 2nd night. It was so worth the 18 minute drive. I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My Mother and Son stayed over for 1 night on a little vacation to Hershey. It was super close and convenient so I booked it through Hotwire. It had a perfect indoor pool for an evening of fun! The rooms were clean and new looking. The fridge was super convenient. There was a Giant Supermarket nearby as well. The game room made a fun activity as well (thought very small). Hotel was clean, well run, quiet and staff was very nice. They were also extremely hospitable about changing from a Kind bed to 2 queens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing about your family’s most recent stay with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel! Our team is committed to providing superior guest service, and I am pleased to hear we fulfilled our commitment! Our convenient location to Hershey, paired with full service amenities, and friendly, hospitable service makes the Central Hotel a great choice for travelers of the Harrisburg, Hershey Region! Thank you once again for your comments!

Safe Travels,

Peter J. Chiccarine, CHA
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is the best among I ever stayed. The main entrance hall is beautifully decorated . Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Nice breakfast buffet. Staff was very friendly. Hotel has multiple entrances so its to locate your room. Plenty of shopping places nearby. Would like to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navdeep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Central Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Premier! It is a pleasure to hear we succeeded in providing you with clean, comfortable accommodations during your time with us! We also appreciate your recognition of our unique Grand Atrium, and exceptional breakfast buffet. We wish you continued safe travels, and thank you once again for choosing to Stay with People Who Care at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel!

Kind Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine, CHA
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
3.6 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#8 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#11 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton
Harrisburg Four Points
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing