We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally warm staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptionally warm staff”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Have been here for two business trips this year. Open, friendly lobby, good mattresses. All the staff we encountered, from front desk to breakfast servers, went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They really do go over the top! Really good breakfast buffet. No more of those "make your own waffles" breakfasts for me when I can find places like this! A very good value, good location. Lots of positives at this hotel, but what separates it from others is the staff. I just want to see one change - they could add coffee makers in guest rooms. That being said, it is always there waiting for you in the lobby - complimentary.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the highway. Not a big deal, but you get a bit of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experiences with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel! We appreciate your recognition of our clean, comfortable accommodations, as well as the personal service you received during your time with us. We are also pleased with your experience in O’Reilly’s Taproom & Kitchen; as we are proud to provide our guests with an exceptional value for breakfast by offering a full hot breakfast buffet, in addition to our ala carte options. We sincerely appreciate your recognition of our team members, as it is through their efforts, and commitment that we are able to distinguish the Central from other hotels in the Harrisburg/ Hershey area. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back during future visits to the area, and thank you again for choosing to Stay with People Who Care.

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    333
    95
    27
    6
See reviews for
564
206
39
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whoville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel accuses their guests of taking various electronic items from rooms and then they try and charge credit cards they have on file for replacement costs. If they have such a problem with this supposedly happening you'd think they'd have working security cameras and 24 hour security to prevent this from happening. Would someone trying to steal something as large as say a television really go unnoticed by other guests or the employees on duty?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Annie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Annie Q from Whoville,

We are terribly sorry to hear of your recent experience in the Harrisburg/ Hershey area. I have sent you a private message through your Trip Advisor account in an effort to gain more information regarding your described experience. We unfortunately are unable to find record of any such incident occurring over the last several months at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. I certainly look forward to speaking with you privately regarding your comments; and thank you in advance for providing us with the opportunity to resolve this misunderstanding.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallupville, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I were just passing through, staying one night. I made the reservations online, and mistakenly thought we had booked a jacuzzi suite. Once the manager, Jessie, realized the error, she immediately upgraded our room, complimentary breakfast buffet, and the best part; chilled champagne waiting in our room!! She went above and beyond; all of the staff were friendly and kind. The room had french doors that opened up to the indoor pool, room was clean and cool. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salemsowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We wound up at this hotel after checking in and immediately checking out from a Sleep Inn that was disgusting and filthy. Steven helped us and was the consummate professional. He gave us an amazing deal on a suite which was a million times better (and cleaner) than the hotel that we just checked in (and immediately out) of. The lobby is beautiful and screams 4 star hotel, I was very surprised this was a Best Western... I didn't expect it and was pleasantly surprised. Unlike the last hotel we briefly checked into, the room was very clean and there wasn't a single speck of dirt, a single hair, or a single stain on the bed. We were very pleased with the entire experience and will absolutely return to this hotel next time.

The Good:
Excellent and friendly customer service
CLEAN!!! (With the few exceptions below which can easily be fixed)
Competitive rates
Huge pool! (Big plus for us)
Overall feeling of a 3.5 / 4 star hotel

The Bad:
The only critique I have about the hotel is that the grout in the bathroom is moldy and the shower curtain is not sufficient in keeping water in the shower and off the floor. Twice we flooded the floor and didn't realize it, I could only imagine the damage this is doing in all of the rooms and contributing to the mold issue.

The dropped ceiling tiles in the room had water stains on some of them and they weren't uniform, it looked sort of oldish and patched up which took away from the beauty of the rest of the room.

The room was hot and humid when we went inside, the A/C doesn't work well at all and it took a full day to cool the room off. I wish the A/C worked better.

The fridge was dirty and unplugged for some reason, I plugged it in and it worked fine so I threw a few bottles of water in it. A former guest could have done this so I don't blame the hotel.

Our room's windows face into the lobby and for some reason they played some rock music VERY loudly Saturday morning while we were trying to sleep which woke us up and really annoyed us since we didn't get to bed until 2:30am.

This is only constructive criticism for the hotel so they know what they need to work on, as a whole we were very pleased with the room, customer service, and our stay and will absolutely be returning. Thank you Steven for the amazing experience, we WILL be back thanks to you!
-Keith

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel has very nice lobby, inviting and pleasant. It has attached pub that serves as breakfast buffet with good ingredients and nice service. I leave out the poor quality of the coffee, as this is the situation in most hotels and restaurants in America.
The rooms were very big, cozy and clean. They had a fridge in it and hi-tech-ready with iPod docking station, and video in ports (of various kinds!) into the TV.
This place is very much recommended to all...

And it was offered on priceline (anonymously on the super-saver) for the price of a motel (without breakfast). What more you can ask for?

Room Tip: I would listen to this fellow traveler who recommended to avoid the highway side if you sleep lightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Senior TripAdvisor Contributor,

Thank you for taking a moment to recognize our clean, comfortable guest room accommodations, the friendly team members you encountered, and the exceptional value you received while staying with us. Our team is committed to ensuring our guests experience unparalleled accommodations, and we are pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. We thank you for sharing your comments, and truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Central during future visits to the area!

Kind Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Front desk staff ...over and above my needs...restaurant..is excellent...breakfast, dinner...all the bar Staff ...Tip of the Spear...
Give them all a raise....
Everyone. Period.

Best Hotel I've stayed at since Wausau...Best Western.

Highest Praise

Have a few days here and looking forward to them.

Room Tip: Be honest with want you want when you reserve your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Central Guest,

We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us, and are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations! Our team takes pride in providing our guests with clean, well maintained accommodations, and we thank you for recognizing our efforts! We truly believe the guest experience begins with our management team’s ability to embody a culture of care by supporting our team members each and every day. Consecutively, our team members are motivated, and empowered to provide our guests with memorable experiences through well maintained accommodations, and friendly, personalized service. Thank you again for your observations; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel during future visits to the Harrisburg, Hershey region.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed overnight to attend a conference and the room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The air conditioning wasn't working properly and so I reported it before going to dinner. When I returned I found that they had looked at the system and decided to move me to another room because they couldn't fix the problem right away. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJ33314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel while attending a conference. Our efforts are directed towards providing the highest level of guest services, hospitality, and comfort, which set us apart from other hotels in the Harrisburg, Hershey area. Our convenient location, combined with clean, well maintained guest room accommodations and extraordinary service and care makes the Central Hotel the perfect choice for business, and leisure guests alike. We look forward to providing many more travelers of the region with a memorable overnight experience!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
3.6 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton
Harrisburg Four Points
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing