We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
montoursville
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice overnight”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great Priceline Express Deal for a nice secluded King Room. Very comfortable bed and location was prefect. If you are a lite sleeper, you may want to request a room away from the highway. Noise did not bother us but I could see it being a complaint for others. We would certainly stay here again if our travels require an overnight in Harrisburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charleygop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. Your comments regarding our convenient location and comfortable, well maintained accommodations are a tribute to our team members who are genuinely interested in exceeding our guests’ expectations. In the future, check our website for exclusive competitive rates aimed to provide our guests with an exceptional value! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel during future travels to the Harrisburg/ Hershey area!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    346
    100
    27
    7
See reviews for
625
216
42
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ends of the earth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed at so-called 5-star hotels from Los Angeles to Houston, Charlotte to Dubai, and none have rivaled this hotel chain's step up from the consistently good BW's. From the front desk staff (sorry I didn't make note of your names, but every one of you were friendly and professional) who arranged a poolside room for my family in spite of my reservation being erroneously made by me for the following evening, to giving my wife free brand-name toiletries, to the cookies, punch and coffee at check in. The hotel is pet friendly which worked out well for my wife and daughter's two dachshunds, but you won't smell or hear dogs since the hotel has excellent soundproofing. The adjacent restaurant, an Irish pub, has excellent food; Kristal was our server for dinner and Gail saw to our needs for the breakfast buffet - both were outstanding. The dinner crew went out of their way to find the NHL playoff hockey game for us!! Sorry to the PA fans there, but the Bs are rolling over your Pens. Okay, not really sorry at all.

The poolside room was very clean, had two queen beds, a mini fridge and microwave. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower water pressure is great. The temp of the indoor pool is nice and warm; no hot tub/spa. I didn't use the gym since most never have free weights, just cardio. An outdoor playground on the grassy area beside the parking lot would be a nice touch.

Only two issues are people smoking so close to the exterior of the building, and the sliding glass doors being locked at 10pm. I understand why they're locked, to keep people from making noise in the pool all night, but what if there's a fire and people need to get out. I imagine one of the staff's first priorities would be to remove the metal pins locking the doors to the pool. If I ever stay over again in Harrisburg, I will not even think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and poolside, which can be a bit noisy, but the pool closes at 10pm. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afghanwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel well exceeded my expectations for the star level. Very clean, updated rooms. Friendly and efficient staff. I got an amazing rate on a Priceline express deal. My one complaint- they began playing the lobby/entrance area music pretty loud at 8:30 am and it woke me up. Make sure you get a room far from main entrance to avoid this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Valued Central Guest,

We appreciate your positive remarks regarding your stay with us, and are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations, and provide you with an exceptional value! Our team takes pride in providing our guests with clean, well maintained accommodations, and we thank you for recognizing our efforts! We are privileged to have a dedicated team of individuals who truly care for our guests, and their accommodations. We also thank you for your constructive comments relating to the background music in our grand atrium, and will be certain to review the play schedule. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel during future visits to the Harrisburg, Hershey region!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was driving across the country; Harrisburg was a scheduled stop.

I enjoyed my stay! Got this hotel on Priceline for a good rate. Hotel itself is older, but the rooms are modern. The wifi is not the best, and breakfast is not provided. Parking is free though

I checked in late in the evening. The manager, Stephen, was at the reception. HE was very nice and interactive. Made me feel welcome to the property. At the reception desk, they have complimentary refreshments (lemonade, punch, and chocolate chip cookies).

My room was neat and clean. No complaints, other then the wifi goes in and out.

Enjoyed my stay here. Not sure if I will be rolling through Harrisburg, PA again in my life, but if I did, I would stay here again

Room Tip: They have computers and free printing in the lobby. There are restaurants (Panera) and a grocery sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tariq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having stayed at Best Western facilities over the years, we expected a certain level of cleanliness, courtesy, etc. and were pleasantly surprised with the exceptional service and the overall experience at this one. From the great looking Lobby area to the nicely appointed room - to the Irish Pub located on site we were more than pleased. If we get to this area again we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Tell the helpful staff at the Front Desk what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Loyal Best Western Guest,

Thank you for sharing your observations in relation to your recent stay with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel! We appreciate your recognition of our clean, well-kept guest rooms and public spaces, as well as the friendly, personalized service provided by our team members throughout the hotel, and in O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen! We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back during future travels to the Harrisburg, Hershey area!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Welcoming and helpful staff, georgeous lobby with spacious sunken area for laptop use and gatherings, pool and exercise facility is in excellent condition. We loved the room; it had all the ammenities, clean, well decorated. Wi-fi. Pet friendly. Irish pub on site, and walking distance to great shopping. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C172FlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Agatha, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I picked this Best Western as it was on the way home from GA to ME. Also due to the amenities. I chose a king bed, whilpool room for my wife. I also asked for a pool side room.
It seems that there is some confusion when using the term poolside, as the person responsible for filling requests gave us a first floor, two queen bed room with sliding glass door access to the pool.
I would have preferred the original request for a king bed whirlpool room. When I showed Alise the reservation, she attempted to correct the situation but all whirlpool rooms were taken.
We had no choice but to keep the room we were given.
We did take a meal at O'Rielly's Tap room which was enjoyable.
Should we stay here again, I will be much more specific when making a room request.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton
Harrisburg Four Points
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing