We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean & good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean & good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 days during the Hershey Car Show & Swap Meet. We chose to stay a little further away from Hershey on purpose due to the nightly rates close by and the BW was only 15 min. away. Room had nice appointments, comfortable beds with plenty of pillows and nice linens. Towels were soft and sufficient. Bath had good water pressure for showers but more light would have been preferred, maybe our age but so many hotels seem to have low lighting. The entrance light was really bad; one of those awful curly-q lights that was very low upon turning on and taking several minutes to warm up & make much light.

There is a nice Irish pub on the property. The hotel gives you a voucher for their breakfast buffet @ $8.95. As we were always in a hurry in the morning to meet friends in Hershey for the swap meet we chose to stop at the Burger King just down the street. We did enjoy drinks at the pub one night and quite a few people (several appeared to be regulars) seemed to be enjoying their meals but cannot say from personal experience on the food.

There is a grocery store within a block if you wanted to have breakfast items to heat up in the microwave, also a fridge. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank najune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Hershey Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel! We are pleased that our location just minutes from Hershey was convenient for you as you attended the 2012 Hershey Car Show! We are proud to provide our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations, and thank you for your positive remarks!

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you, and many additional visitors of the Hershey area, back the the Central Hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    318
    94
    27
    6
See reviews for
547
204
38
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here Oct 10th ad 11th and were very pleased with the whole experience. The entire property seemed to be well maintained and very clean. I usually bring lysol wipes when traveling since I feel most hotel rooms aren't as clean as I would like but did not feel the need to use them here except for door handles,light switches and remote controls which I am sure aren't usually cleaned anywhere.The beds were very comfortable and smelled very fresh. Nicholas and Emily at the desk were beyond friendly. When we left we felt we had made a friend of Nick and due to him booked another 2 nights in June. We also had a problem with the drapes but Nick sent Jim to our room (another very friendly fellow)and he quickly fixed the problem.This hotel actually gave us new soap every day!I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pako0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We liked both the reviews and rates for this property and we're pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff, especially Dawn, Nicholas and Emily, and amenities this property offered. The lobby is huge, there is complimentary coffee served in the morning and cookies served in the evening. Although we didn't swim, the property has a very large indoor pool. I would highly recommend The Central Hotel & Conference Center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked this room on Hot Wire, like we do all our rooms. We requested two queen beds. When we arrived at the hotel the parking lot was empty and the girl on duty, Ann, told us we had a room with a king bed and a sofa bed, she told us that was all she could give us because the hotel was sold out! The hotel was clean enough the problem was the help Ann, and the supervisor, Steve just flat out lied to us and gave us a room at the back of the hotel not what we requested and next to the freeway. The hotel lot never had more than 10 cars in it, the hotel was certainly not full.
The manager did call us at our request, and he tried to pacify us, which was the right thing to do. But i do not like dealing with people who flat out lie. So I rate this hotel poor for customer service! There is a Holiday Inn across the street, next time we will stay there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sguidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Central Guest,

We appreciate your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. Thank you for your positive remarks in regards to our guest room cleanliness as our team is proud to provide a fresh, clean experience for all of our guests.

We recognize your request through Hot Wire for specific accommodations, however, although guest vehicles at the property appeared to be minimal, the hotel was indeed sold out during your time with us. We had several motor coach tours occupying the majority of the hotel, leaving many open parking spaces during your time with us. Our hotel is centrally located to Hershey, Lancaster, and Gettysburg providing a great location for a motor coach, or tour group interested in visiting these areas.

Our team members take tremendous pride in providing our guests with superior guest service. I am confident that both Ann, and Steve simply could not accommodate the guest room requested due to unavailability, and we truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again when you visit the Hershey, Harrisburg area in the future.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was travelling with a bus load of senior citizens when our bus wouldn't start. We had already checked out and loaded our luggage. We spent the day in the lobby waiting for our bus to be fixed. The manager and staff were very accommodating. They served free coffee all day and even brought out a case of cold water. They served hot cookies and we were a group of over 50 people. We were there 12 hours before Diamond Tours agreed to pay for another night there and we got checked in; in no time at all. Great staff with great attitudes. It renewed my faith in good customer service again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Loved this hotel. My only regret is not being able to stay more than one night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was incredible ! Great Irish Pub, and lovely breakfast. Our room was clean and well-appointed. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to sleep all day. The air conditioner worked perfectly and the lighting was easy to find. I also loved the bathroom. Lots of room and counter space. Plenty of towels and really nice sample sized shampoo and lotion. My husband loved the office chair in the room. Free wifi and good coffee ! The lobby was beautiful, with a piano bar and comfy lounge chairs. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Level Contributor
475 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in room 108 which for some reason was quite noisy. We could hear music almost all night and the heating/cooling system clicked a lot. Room itself was very nice; we loved the pillows and duvet and the couch was very comfy. We liked the way the sliding door concealed the fridge etc., very neat. Computer worked well and the flat screen was great! I liked the little touches - a shower cap, magnifying mirror and soap dish. Breakfast was to our disappointment not included but it was negotiable apparently. Enjoyed our stay. Nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Central Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Central Hotel for your overnight accommodations in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania! It is great to hear that you enjoyed clean, comfortable accommodations, and were also able to benefit from the complimentary Wi-Fi provided throughout the hotel!

Although breakfast is not included with our guest room, we do offer all hotel guests a $4 reduction off the menu price for our extensive hot breakfast buffet. Our team places much emphasis on providing a superior hot breakfast, and we understand the importance of providing our guests' with a great value!

We thank you again for your comments, as it is through our guest comments that we will continue to improve our accomodations! We certainly look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Four Points
Harrisburg Sheraton
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing