We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad customer service :(”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked this room on Hot Wire, like we do all our rooms. We requested two queen beds. When we arrived at the hotel the parking lot was empty and the girl on duty, Ann, told us we had a room with a king bed and a sofa bed, she told us that was all she could give us because the hotel was sold out! The hotel was clean enough the problem was the help Ann, and the supervisor, Steve just flat out lied to us and gave us a room at the back of the hotel not what we requested and next to the freeway. The hotel lot never had more than 10 cars in it, the hotel was certainly not full.
The manager did call us at our request, and he tried to pacify us, which was the right thing to do. But i do not like dealing with people who flat out lie. So I rate this hotel poor for customer service! There is a Holiday Inn across the street, next time we will stay there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sguidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Central Guest,

We appreciate your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. Thank you for your positive remarks in regards to our guest room cleanliness as our team is proud to provide a fresh, clean experience for all of our guests.

We recognize your request through Hot Wire for specific accommodations, however, although guest vehicles at the property appeared to be minimal, the hotel was indeed sold out during your time with us. We had several motor coach tours occupying the majority of the hotel, leaving many open parking spaces during your time with us. Our hotel is centrally located to Hershey, Lancaster, and Gettysburg providing a great location for a motor coach, or tour group interested in visiting these areas.

Our team members take tremendous pride in providing our guests with superior guest service. I am confident that both Ann, and Steve simply could not accommodate the guest room requested due to unavailability, and we truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again when you visit the Hershey, Harrisburg area in the future.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    340
    98
    27
    6
See reviews for
596
211
42
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was travelling with a bus load of senior citizens when our bus wouldn't start. We had already checked out and loaded our luggage. We spent the day in the lobby waiting for our bus to be fixed. The manager and staff were very accommodating. They served free coffee all day and even brought out a case of cold water. They served hot cookies and we were a group of over 50 people. We were there 12 hours before Diamond Tours agreed to pay for another night there and we got checked in; in no time at all. Great staff with great attitudes. It renewed my faith in good customer service again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Loved this hotel. My only regret is not being able to stay more than one night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was incredible ! Great Irish Pub, and lovely breakfast. Our room was clean and well-appointed. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to sleep all day. The air conditioner worked perfectly and the lighting was easy to find. I also loved the bathroom. Lots of room and counter space. Plenty of towels and really nice sample sized shampoo and lotion. My husband loved the office chair in the room. Free wifi and good coffee ! The lobby was beautiful, with a piano bar and comfy lounge chairs. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in room 108 which for some reason was quite noisy. We could hear music almost all night and the heating/cooling system clicked a lot. Room itself was very nice; we loved the pillows and duvet and the couch was very comfy. We liked the way the sliding door concealed the fridge etc., very neat. Computer worked well and the flat screen was great! I liked the little touches - a shower cap, magnifying mirror and soap dish. Breakfast was to our disappointment not included but it was negotiable apparently. Enjoyed our stay. Nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Central Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Central Hotel for your overnight accommodations in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania! It is great to hear that you enjoyed clean, comfortable accommodations, and were also able to benefit from the complimentary Wi-Fi provided throughout the hotel!

Although breakfast is not included with our guest room, we do offer all hotel guests a $4 reduction off the menu price for our extensive hot breakfast buffet. Our team places much emphasis on providing a superior hot breakfast, and we understand the importance of providing our guests' with a great value!

We thank you again for your comments, as it is through our guest comments that we will continue to improve our accomodations! We certainly look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just stayed in this hotel with my children, and a friend and her children for the night between Gettysburg and Hershey. The location was great with convenient shopping very close by and we got a pretty good rate through the Best Western website.

When we checked in, the staff was friendly and helpful.

The rooms were a bit dated, but it was the bathroom that showed the most age. There was some mold in the shower/tub, and the floor could have used a bit more in the cleaning department. My friend said her shower was clean!

The beds were clean and comfortable, and overall the stay was fine for one night - probably wouldn't want to be there for multiple days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experiences with us! Our team is proud to provide helpful, friendly service to all of our guests, and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy a comfortable stay with us!

Just a short drive from Gettysburg, and minutes from Hershey, our Central location is perfect to experience the history, and excitement of these prevalent attractions! We provide many guests interested in visiting these sites, in addition to Harrisburg and Lancaster, a Central destination for full service overnight accomodations!

We look forward to another opportunity to provide your family and friends with a memorable experience at the Central Hotel Harrisburg!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was on a bus tour to Amish Country iwth my granddaughter. The rooms were clean and the remodeled hotel was beautifully done. The staff was kind and considerate. They have a nice exercise room and a larger than average indoor pool that we used. The continental breakfast was good.
I would consider stopping there again!

Room Tip: Totally non smoking hotel. That's a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iIndiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived here on a Dianond Tour to New York City. Found this to be a top notch Hotel to spend the night. They have excellent breakfeast and great restrurant O Reiley's. Excellent food and great bar area to wind down the day. we were luckey enought to stop here again on our way home to Indiana.

Room Tip: Great beds and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaternite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton
Harrisburg Four Points
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing