We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at this great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Oneonta, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at this great hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were part of a bus group that traveled from Alabama to Pennsylvania Dutch country and stayed at this hotel for three nights. This is a beautiful and well maintained hotel. Our room was great and the bed was very comfortable. We had a refrigerator and microwave in our room as well as a coffee maker. The coffee provided for the coffee maker as well as the coffee in the restaurant was very good. We had a great buffet breakfast in the restaurant each morning. The cost for our breakfast was included in our tour package but I believe it is $8.95 for the buffet. The staff was very helpful in meeting the needs of our group. This hotel is top-notch and I would highly recommend it for group or individual travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalton41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    340
    98
    27
    6
See reviews for
594
211
42
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay here was incredible. The staff went out of their way getting us an airport shuttle after hours. The room was a (cheap room) and we were treated like royalty. This is a very clean, beautiful hotel with a great restaurant/bar. It was very convenient to all attractions..qvc, strasburg, Gettysburg, and Hershey. A grocery store is right next to the hotel. Coffee, refrigerator, and microwave in room. Nice pool. Again, so pleased and highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Central Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your incredible stay with us at the Central Hotel Harrisburg! We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding the cleanliness, decor, and service provided by our team! We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

WOW what can I say about the Hotel Manager, Peter J Chiccarine. Peter was amazing, confident and so helpful!!!! We were orginally booked for 2 nights at the Fulton Steamboat Inn in Lancaster PA, we unfortunately had a fire at the hotel and could not stay. Peter who lives in the area and used to work at the Steamboat Inn came to the scene, assisted all the staff and was so calm and cool during a very stressful time. I spoke to Peter on rebooking at a closer hotel near Hershey Park, since our next day destination was Hershey, and he placed us at the BW in Harrisburg. What a beautiful hotel!!!! The next morning, bright and early, Peter was at the front desk making sure my family and I were doing OK!!! I worked the travel industry for years and Peter you are AWESOME!!!! Thank you making my PA CRAZY vacation GREAT again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I truly appreciate your comments regarding your recent experiences with the Fulton Steamboat Inn, and the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel Harrisburg! Our team takes much pride in providing exceptional experiences for all of our guests, and we are pleased that we were able to turn a very unfortunate situation into a memorable experience for you, and your family!

We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Central Hotel during a future visit to the Harrisburg/ Hershey area!

Sincerely,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Hershey Park. This hotel and rooms are clean and the staff is courteous and accommodating (they put our two room next to each other). We we definitely come back next year -- with our friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Booked a large group at this hotel for the corvette show and the staff, facilities and food surpassed our expectations. The catering staff (Karla, Courtney, head chef Chris and all the others working that night) were fabulous and did a great job with our reception. The front desk, Steven, Vincent and trainee Ann could not have been more gracious, professional and helpful. Great staff working at all times that I needed some assistance. The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. The only thing missing was some entertainment in the evening but hopefully that will change next time we are there. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning offering a good variety of foods. Loved the fruit and yogurt type of parfaits. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and easily accessible. Loved the fresh cookies in the lobby and the free coffee in the morning. I would not hesitate to take my group back there again and hope to do so maybe next year. Thanks to Justin in sales for working so hard to get us what we needed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were only here one night after a visit to Hershey Park. From check- in to check-out our experience was very pleasant. Steven at check-in was excellent and friendly. The other staff member working the front desk wasn't helping anyone, and also chatted with us about our visit to Hershey Park. Our room was extremely clean. Our room also looked over the lobby, but I had no problem with the lighting as mentioned by other reviews. It is not crazy bright, but I don't see the big deal either way. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet the next morning and found it very satisfying. Didn't have a problem with the $8.95 price considering we would have probably spent that much elsewhere for less food. Overall, a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and accommodating. We were given a room on the first floor which opened out to the pool, my boys loved that. We went with friends but booked separately, when we asked for adjoining rooms the staff were very accommodating. The room was beautiful and CLEAN, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was also very clean. The breakfast at the restaurant was good, big selection and the service was great. I will definitely be back next year and I will recommend this hotel to all my friends planning a trip to Hershey. Special recognition to Aida, she does an excellent job in those rooms.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids ask for a room by the pool, the kids love it and it's very conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton
Harrisburg Four Points
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing