We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice - Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice - Great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Definitely would recommend for families! Our visit centered around a baseball tournament in the area and the sales staff (Justin) assisted me very pleasantly with securing a block of rooms for a group of 10 families at a very reasonable rate! The hotel is very clean and the lobby very open and large making for a great gathering place in between events. Courtesy coffee service in the morning and cookies in the late afternoon an added bonus! Our front desk staff of Nicolas and Stephen were fantasic with room check in, laughed with our children and provided us with smiling assistance with directions, restaurant recommendations, and other misc items. Rooms were plenty spacious with two queen beds. The indoor pool was a very generous size. Team Brushbacks hopes to return next year.!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    318
    94
    27
    6
See reviews for
546
204
38
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family of 5 recently spent six nights at this hotel on vacation, and we were really pleased. The rooms are a good size, nicely decorated and very clean. We had a king bed with a pullout sofa, and the room had a fridge and a microwave. The air-conditioning was very efficient. It was a little loud, but not bothersome (it was not a harsh noise). The staff at the hotel were very friendly and well-trained. Coffee was available in the lobby in the mornings, and they put out cookies in the afternoon. The pool was warm and clean (my kids used it a lot during our stay).

My only warning with this hotel is that some of the hotel rooms face the indoor pool rather than having windows to the outside. We didn't have one of these rooms, but I could see that noise from the pool could be bothersome, and the view disappointing. The pool does close at 10 pm and stays closed until 6, though, so I don't think the noise should cause you to lose sleep unless a family of particularly early risers decides to use the pool while you're there.

Overall we were very pleased in this hotel, and would definitely book it again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room that doesn't face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here 1 night and will not be back. Room was small and looked out on lobby which made the room rather dark as noted in previous reviews. Fan in bathroom was not adjusted properly and we kept having to reseat it. Did not get HBO on our TV. Conctacted Front Desk and was asked if HBO was offered - It's on their guide.The Front Desk stated that someone would be up to check on it but no one ever showed up. No complimentary breakfast which should be standard for the price of the room being charged. When I checked with the Front Desk, I was told that it was not part of the "package" that I purchased. Only offering was breakfast buffet at the Irish Pub connected to hotel for $12.95. Very disappointed with our stay as we were at the Best Western in King of Prussia just a few days earlier and it was just lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. We were very pleased! Not sure why there are so many bad reviews. The hotel staff is absolutely wonderful! Steven at the front desk was amazing! The Lobby is huge, they have 4 computers for guests to use, which my boys enjoyed, as well as a printer. They had complimentary coffee, cookies and water in the lobby.

The rooms are spacious. We had 2 queen beds, 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable. Loved that they have the darkening shades on the windows. No bright sunlight beating in at 6:00 am waking you up. They have coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and mini fridge in the rooms, all which were nice. They offer laundry services as well as coin laundry.

The pool was big and clean. Towels available. Nice work out room. Hotel was very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel! It is about 15 minutes from Hershey Park.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is my 2nd year here at this property, as as always it was a wonderful stay. We had one concern on this trip and it was taken care of very quickly by the GM. I have read some of the other review and i dont agree. I didnt eat lunch of dinner at the restaurant because of the time. We eat at other restaurant in the area. I feel right at home here our room face the pool and some days it was a little noise but that to be expect when there are kids. We were there for a week and did want to leave. If you are looking for things that you wuold get when you go and pay 500-600 a night then maybe this is not the place for you. But if you want to enjoy your vac this is the place for you. SEE YOU NEXT YEAR:):)

Room Tip: if there is more then ask for the suite the one I had, had 2 queen beds and a pull of sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am so disappointed and totally disgusted with this hotel. The website photos are extremely deceiving! I feel like a vampire being that there is no windows facing out! Facing the pool is horrific because of the darkness and the noise. Upon check in our rooms were all wrong, totally not what we originally booked and it changed our moods immensely. No complimentary coffee all day. No complimentary anything for that matter. Overall I would never stay here again !!!!! I should of listened to all the bad reviews ahead of time. A total disgrace and the rooms being renovated, seriously when? Looks far from renovated , has a 1970's old dingy look!!!!! And the air conditioning is horrendous. A total disappointment ;(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysweets1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Central Guest,

We appreciate your constructive comments regarding your recent experience with us at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. We value our guests’ feedback, and thank you for providing us with valuable information which we will utilize to continue to improve our accommodations.

We recognize the lighting concerns that exist in a few of our guest rooms which overlook our beautiful atrium, and heated indoor pool. We are in the process of evaluating a few options that will assist our guests, and provide ample light throughout the entire guest room. Our renovations in 2011 were complete as we became one of 26 Best Western Premier properties located in the United States. We are proud to be a part of Best Western’s Premier properties, and are confident that we will develop our services to improve upon our Premier status.

We apologize we were unable to provide you with a great experience, as it is our goal to provide all of our guests with exceptional accommodations at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. We thank you again for assisting us in continuing to better our facilities for our guests.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The bedroom& bathroom was very small. It was very clean. The room was on the side of the highway so it was very loud with all the cars passing all day and night. Not but for what we paid! It was about 10-15 mins.away for Hershey. The Texas road house restaurant was great the food was very good and the staff was out of this world! The wafflehouse was nasty! So say you can tell we did not eat at the hotel. It did not look too kid friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damaram07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Four Points
Harrisburg Sheraton
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing