We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Nj
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Attended a wedding in Harrisburg and stayed at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Also the breakfast was great. Not just bagels and danish. The Irish pub has a great atmosphere. They even had karaoke one night.

There is also free Wi-Fi and some computer stations in the lobby for your convenience. My overall stay was pleasant and relaxing. I enjoyed this hotel.

Also, note within walking distance: shopping plaza with supermarket, liquor store, dollar store, burlington coat factory, Panera Bread, Burger King. Also, Wells Fargo Bank just on the other side of the street.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room not facing the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantctgurl4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    346
    100
    27
    7
See reviews for
625
216
42
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western because we wanted to spend the weekend at Hershey Park. All of the hotels we looked at that were actually in Hershey were a little too expensive for our budget, so we looked outside of Hershey in Harrisburg and came across this Best Western. I am a AAA member so we got a great deal on the hotel. The hotel rooms were newly renovated and very modern looking which was great. We stayed for two nights and the maids did a great job in keeping the hotel room clean. The drive back and forth to Hershey was not far at all. It maybe took us 20 minutes to a half hour to get back and forth to our hotel, but it was worth it for the price of the room! Also, there were great restaurants around the area, they inexpensive and good, I didn't feel like I was in one of those areas where there is a tourist trap and you're stuck with no selection. I would recommend this place to anyone. Even though I am a AAA member and I got a good rate, before we discovered the AAA rate, we were going to stay at the Best Western anyway because it was the cheapest hotel we could find, and it was the cleanest and best quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikki213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to the Hershey area for a family reunion and absolutely loved this hotel! It's about 20 mins from Hershey and well worth it. Our family members had a corporate discount, but we would have even paid full price. The hotel rooms were beautiful, the indoor pool was wonderful. Love the Irish bar right in the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was phenomenal. It was great to start out the day to a hearty breakfast before heading to the park. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2getawayanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perkasie, pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here in June 2011 with another couple and had a wonderful time. We visited the outlets and Hershey Park while we were there. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly. The rooms were nice and clean. The food at the bar located in the hotel was descent and the atmosphere was quaint. Would recommend for anyone looking to travel in that area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debubble1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The service provided by the hotel for lack of better word was “outstanding”. The physical appearance is eye catching. The Hotel is very clean and well maintained inside out. The new paint selected blends perfectly with the carpet. The décor primarily in the lobby seems to be carefully selected to give an esthetic look. It blends perfectly well with everything else. Housekeeping did a great job to clean our room. Each bed was made with four pillows selectively placed to give an artistic look to the room. It was very impressive. Amenities were plentiful. My wife noted that it was the first stay ever she did not have to call the front desk for a shower cap. One was already placed in the room. The room provides video/audio/computer interface to hook up personal equipment. Wireless internet connection is provided almost everywhere in the premise. However, if a wired connection is desired, switches are provided in the lobby, just use your personal Ethernet cable and you will be on the web in a splash. Better yet, if you do not bring a computer and desired to use one, no problem. The lobby has a lot of them even with printers connected in an office setting configuration. The only thing is that “audio” capability seems to be disabled.
The complementary breakfast was fantastic. It was not a half Breakfast. It was a full one served in a well decorated restaurant located in the premise. There were a lot of selections from hot oatmeal to bacon or sausages. The food served was fresh. You can even request hot chocolate and other things from the waiter with no additional cost.
This is in all VALUE at best!
CONs: The frig is very small. However, it you have a cooler, this may not be a problem. There are a lot of ice machines throughout the premise that pump ice in a splash. Just leave some of your stuff in the cooler and fill it with ice when needed. Make sure you drain your cooler at least once a day to remove the excess water.
Room at the highway side seems to be very noisy. The cars/trucks ran all night long. But if a quieter atmosphere is desired, just ask to be moved to a different side of the hotel. We did just that the second night and it was truly a much better and quieter experience.
Things to do while there: The hotel is only about 8 miles from HERSHEYPARK. You can even purchase your discount ticket at the front desk, if you do not have one yet .Or you can stop by any nearby McDonald’s and pick a discount coupon that can be used at the Park. But if you want the multiday ticket, you have to purchase your ticket at the Park.
The Hotel provided great service. We loved it. We will stay there again if need be.
NB. We were able to find better rate at the Hotel’s Website.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Super-Cruiser623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was very dissapointed in this Hotel and the staff. I asked for a room not near the pool and was given one with a window that overlooked the indoor pool. It was very loud. asked for a room change and was told I couldn't change it despite the fact the Hotel was not nearly full. I also asked if we could upgrade to a bigger room and was told I couldn't because I booked through Trip Advisor/Hotels.com. The room was VERY SMALL! Barely any room to move around with a family of four in a room with two queen beds. Bathroom was even smaller and fogged up instantly. Breakfast was OK. I would not stay here again based on the lack of service and really small rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerryNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robblood, Owner's Representative at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear "GerryNJ"
The only thing I can do here is apologize for the experience that you had at our hotel. Both of the items that you mentioned should have been rectified. John Aldridge, our General Manger, has addressed your concerns with the Front Desk staff and my hope is that this situation does not repeat itself with any future guests.

You should have been placed in a room away from the pool and we should have been able to accommodate your desired upgrade if the rooms were available At our property training is conducted on an ongoing basis and critiques such as yours help us to better inform our staff of guests needs.

I would like to point our that our guest rooms are standard hotel room size and that we do offer a dozen double sized rooms and many adjoining rooms if any guest desires more space.

I hope that you will contact me personally at ------- in the future if you are in Harrisburg again. We would certainly like the opportunity to earn your business again.

All the best, Rob Blood | Owner's Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We ran into a bit of trouble with our check in because the hotel claimed to have never received our information from Expedia. Traveling with my mother, younger sister and 89 year old grandmother I was looking forward to making check in as quick and painless as possible. After sitting patiently for 15 minutes awaiting word from the front desk a few feet away I approached and was told that everything was set and was handed a room card. The same room card that had been sitting on the counter for some time. Miscommunication aside, we were told that we had been upgraded to a king suite with jacuzzi.

This hotel is very obviously updated and very spacious. Our fabulous king suite had more than enough room for four people to roam about comfortably. The bathroom is a bit small but its manageable. The sofa bed is a bit uncomfortable but it gets the job done. Our room was very clean and the fridge, microwave, coffee maker were a welcome touch.

We took advantage of the indoor pool AND in room jacuzzi. Both were pleasant and clean. We only stayed one night but made sure to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast buffet. The breakfast spread is very nice and everything is replenished promptly. There are waitresses that come around taking drink orders and cleaning tables. Gail, who waited on us, was such a delight. We enjoyed our hot chocolates with a smile and will definitely return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton
Harrisburg Four Points
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing