We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We are a family of 4. The stay was very nice, but we are used to a little nice atmosphere when traveling. There were no problems, but depending on how you arrive at the hotel you might feel a little nervous about the location. Very clean, quiet and continental breakfast were ok. Standard eggs, sausage, muffins cereal. My wife was a little nervous about the environment , but we are very spoiled. Everyone we met were very friendly . would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor, NO Elevators if that matters to you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flowersource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

very awesome place it might be hard to find you will miss it and be on 83 once you go under the fressle. but the hotel is very clean housekeeping is awesome they have the best coffee and breakfast is filling hats off to the folks at this motel. its also in a safe location didnt worry about anything and the view of the river is great will stay here again paid good money and it was worth it

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

As a single mom of 3 (14, 12, & 9) I did not feel safe outside the hotel at night. But the pool was nice and the staff were wonderful. Breakfast was good, rooms were clean. One thing we did that we all enjoyed was take our breakfast out to the river and enjoy the morning views. I think for the price, the hotel was what you expect. Only complaint is the location was a little on the trashy side. I just kept my kids close and we were fine. And I can't say enough good about the staff and their willingness to help.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinekidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel room was clean and smelled clean! The room was well appointed and I felt comfortable sleeping here. WE stayed two nights. No noise keeping you up at night, i.e. thin walls. The front desk was very accommodating especially Ehab! He gave a wonderful recommendation for dinner at the Passage to India restaurant!! Fantastic food!

Room Tip: The river view was lovely!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LVKopple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Let me start by saying that the staff of this hotel are indeed nice. However, one cannot put lipstick on a pig. The hotel is in need of a good cleaning and remodeling. We arrived at the hotel after a long day at Hershey Park and had that terrible oh no moment...when you realize that you have booked a stay at a bad hotel. There is no elevator to the second floor, so one is forced to drag their items up the stairs. The hotel is wall to wall musty old smelly carpet. The air conditioning only goes up to a certain temperature and therefore, our room was still warm even though we had it turned all the way up. The shower has clearly not been cleaned in a long while, as the bottom of the tub is dingy white and the water pressure is seriously lacking any force. When we laid down to go to sleep, we were immediately greeted by a six legged critter! There are also stains on the walls from where previous guests had killed bugs on the walls. I accidently wasted chocolate on the sheets and instead of replacing them, housekeeping made the bed with the same stained sheets. A cup of orange juice remained on the table from breakfast. Probably would have been too much to ask the cleaning staff to discard it. Breakfast, aside from the waffle maker, was a parade of microwaved horribles and old cereal. But again, the staff was indeed nice and would quickly microwave more food when the supply got low. This was not a pleasant experience. Quite honestly, the day we arrived we were ready to leave but where were to got at that point as we had booked this hotel months ago and most of the other hotels were booked at this point. Don't make the mistake that we made. The irony is that this hotel gets good reviews and lures the unwitting guest into booking here, thinking that they are getting a good deal. I suppose people have different expectations, but a smelly, bug infested room with a lazy housekeeping staff is not one of mine.

Room Tip: The best way to choose a good room is to choose one at another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

First let me thank you for commending my team on being hospitable. Providing all of our
guests with a positive experience is always our goal. I apologize that we were not able to do this for you. Our guest rooms all have a brand new bedding package that includes new pillows, comforters, bed skirts and duvets. This addition has been received by most guests in a very positive manor.

We have been adding different menu items to breakfast according to the standards set by Choice Hotels. These menu items have been selected from feed back from guests just like yourself as to what travelers would like to see in the morning. We would love for you to consider coming back again and giving us another try. Please feel free to contact me personally if you would like to share anything further. 717 233 1611

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hi Everyone,
We recently went to Hershey Park in May 2014 and stayed in this great motel close to Hershey. The place was no frills but a great place for the family to stay. It was very clean and the hospitality and check in was super speedy and so kind. The rooms were very clean and it was a no frills motel but had everything that you need at a very economical price. It included a serve yourself breakfast with all kinds of great food to eat a quick breakfast and a make your own waffle station which was great. Also, there was a 24 hour coffee station that was awesome!!! The fire alarm went off a couple of times due to some kind of a glich in the system so that was the only thing that happened in a negative way during our two day stay but it was really no problem with us. Hershey was only about a quick 10 minute drive and this motel was right off the highway and it was right on the river which the view was simply stunning. I know that there is another comfort in about 10 minutes away but I heard that the area is not really as safe as the area around this one. Don't waste your money getting a really pricy hotel when if you are only using it to sleep, it is perfect!! I would stay there again with my family. Thanks for reading this review :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed here on numerous occasions driving from NY to Virginia. The hotel js clean, beds comfortable, staff polite. We checked in on a busy Friday night, check in was easy, and we were given a first floor room that we requested due to my daughter is in a wheel chair. The room is a little tight, but we were able to get her chair to the desk where she could use her Ipad and watch videos. The TV in the room is an LG- good quality, with plenty of channels.

They are pet friendly which helped with our small dog.

In addition, in a cute neighborhood behind the hotel, great for walking along the river.

Only negatives (minor) would be to have a channel guide in the room (lots of channels to click when you aren't from the area and the sink drained a little slow.

Please note that the 4 stars are for the price range of the property. This is not a $300 night hotel, but is a good place to stay with families when staying in the area.

Room Tip: No elevator, but if you go to the second room on the back side, you can have a river view. Very nic...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 50 in Harrisburg
432 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#27 of 50 in Harrisburg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,114 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riverfront

Address: 525 S Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17104-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: $83 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the beautiful Susquehanna River in downtown Harrisburg, the Comfort Inn Riverfront is easily accessible to I-81, I-83, PA Turnpike(76) and Routes 322, 581 and 11/15. The hotel is walking distance to Harrisburg's Restaurant Row, Capitol Complex, City Island and the Whitaker Center. The hotel is 10 minutes to Hershey, 15 minutes to Carlisle and 30 minutes to Lancaster and Gettysburg. Amenities include a full hot breakfast buffet, free parking, use of our business center, fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool. In addition all rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed internet access. The hotel is all interior corridor with a restaurant and guest laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Riverfront Hotel Harrisburg
Riverfront Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing