We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night before a show in Hershey. The hotel was nice and the breakfast was amazing! They had so many options and I left stuffed! Our room was small, but good for our night stay. The staff was very nice and friendly! I like that the hotel is near a small town, but if you go to far you end up is a kind of sketchy area that made me feel uncomfortable. It isn't too far from Hershey though. If you are looking for an amazing sunrise and subset, this is a great place to stay! The sunset on the water, was breath taking! We enjoyed our stay- only tip would be to provide bigger pillows haha

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lkcessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    100
    67
    28
    36
See reviews for
81
94
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an older hotel that is well kept right on the river within easy walking distance of restaurants on Second Avenue and less than half a mile from the Amtrak station. It has free parking and was clean with friendly staff. The breakfast was average with no rotation of items during the week I was there.
The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator so you can bring in food since there is not much to do at night in the area. There is an Indian Restaurant next to the hotel, but I did not try it. If you are going to Harrisburg Hospital you can walk right to the main entrance in less than five minutes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EDDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

A friendly desk person, a comfortable clean room , microwave, fridge, coffee maker, free wifi (though it drifted in and out sometimes). Highly satisfactory for an overnight stay. There is even a great view of the Schuylkill River just past the parking lot. One improvement might be net curtains for the lower level windows but now I'm just being picky.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Needs to be remodeled: new carpet, new beds. But you can't beat the location, right by the river. Was a little concerned at twilight with homeless people In The park. Would not want to walk alone. The city needs to do something about that situation. Good service both at the front desk and breakfast. We did get a bag with water and a snack since we were Choice members. Breakfast usual(wish they could have cinnamon rolls like Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darleneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are apparently two very different parts of this hotel. I arrived quite late on the last leg of a business trip. I had a meeting in Harrisburg the following morning, and I had just come from the Philadelphia area. I didn't get to experience too much about this hotel due to the fact that I was only there for about 9 hours from check in to check out, and most of that time was spent trying to sleep.

My first impression was that the lobby was pretty well maintained and the staff was excellent. I was assigned a room at the other end of the hotel, which was described to me as one of the "newer rooms." Once I parked and grabbed my necessities from my car, I walked in to the building to find a hallway that was a bit run down. I took the steps to the second floor, at the outlet of which there are the vending machines and what not. Unfortunately, another guest didn't anticipate my arrival as a grotesquely overweight and hairy man (I am a bigger, hairier man, myself) in nothing but his too-small boxer shorts and an awkward smile was getting a Diet Coke. After shaking off that experience, I found my room down the hall, which I found to resemble more of a motel room, as the hallway was little more than an enclosed walkway as you would find on a motel. This is not a huge problem, but the room itself was poorly designed. The room was clean enough, but electrical outlets were impossible to access, the bed was placed somewhat awkwardly where it was, and there was little walking room where the desk chair, closet, and bathroom door converged. The bathroom itself, while clean, was awkwardly shaped and difficult to efficiently maneuver. The bed was sufficient, but not the most comfortable bed in the world.

I had to get up and go in the morning, so I grabbed a quick pastry on my way out after checking out. The breakfast was standard fare for a Comfort Inn, which is better than the average budget hotel breakfast. Overall, I was not too overly disgusted with my stay, and most of my disgust was the result of another guest and not the hotel. I would not be likely to stay in this hotel again as I prefer another property in the area (and I am typically in town for work, and work is on the other side of town), but I would recommend this place to a budget conscious, more forgiving traveler.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what the other rooms are like, but the rooms in the "new wing" are awkwar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmunyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

There are lots of things to love about this hotel. The front desk people are very attentive and helpful, there's a charming little gift package if you're a Choice Hotels member with water, snacks, etc., and the back has a lovely view of a river in the state capital.

The best though -- and I can't understand why they don't promote it -- is that there's a stunning Indian restaurant called Passage to India right next door, sharing the same parking lot! The restaurant is world class and has caused us to aim for this hotel every time we can make an excuse to draw our route within 100 miles of this place. The hotel is old but very restful, the Internet service is good and free, the breakfast is substantial and also free -- but the Indian restaurant, WOW!!! We've now stayed here five or six times and will be making a beeline for it again soon. Many major highways north, south, east and west cross within a few miles of this picaresque state capital, and I think you'll find it well worth detouring for a good hotel experience and a fabulous meal!!! (If you oversleep breakfast, don't worry -- the Indian restaurant has an expansive and surprisingly low priced breakfast/brunch!!)

Room Tip: If you have a room on the back side, you get a view of the river -- really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

9/3/2013

The front desk people were friendly and mostly*** helpful.

The room was a bit rundown looking, but clean. A wheel on the desk chair was broken, but replaced after we called. This chair should not have been in the room in the first place, The top edge was shredded so badly that you could see its innards. The replacement chair was nice, not new, but not broken.

The toilet bowl was of the super low variety for people that are accustomed to using holes in the floor. Yes, it felt that low. How about higher toilets, oblong shaped so that those of us with bad knees to not have to suffer! The rest of the bathroom was fine.

The bed was not hard nor soft, but is a bit warped so that from wherever you lie, the body would want to roll towards the middle.

Breakfast is a continental breakfast with waffle makers, hard-boiled eggs, sausage, all the breads etc. No complaints with breakfast.

The pool looks nice but we did not get a chance to use it. That's too bad since the depth on it was quite nice - not the 4 or 5 foot depths of many motel pool.

There was only one rickety luggage cart for the entire first floor. There are no elevators to the 2nd floor. Think before you book a room.

One side of the motel faces the river and walking along the river is nice. The location is good, but it can be difficult to find the entry way when traffic is barreling along the one-way roads. Once you figure out the traffic patterns, it's not so bad.

To eat, you need to drive to restaurants or walk. It is not too bad a walk to 2nd and Market St. where many restaurants can be found; a bit farther are the capitol and government offices. It is a lot of walking if you don't want to drive these heavily traveled roads and one-way streets, or pay for the cost of parking.

We did have one real complaint that was somewhat blown off by the front desk in the morning of checking out. That is with the practice of shoving closing bills under the door early in the morning before checking out. These bills do not always make it under the door completely, and with names and addresses appearing on the bill, anyone can find out who you are, where you live and that your are hundreds or thousands of miles from home. This makes it easy for someone with ulterior motives to contact a friend in your hometown and rob that home of yours, as a example. Knowing someone's name can also be used in scamming relatives out of money when thieves claim they are calling on your behalf because you are "injured," for example. These kind of stories are on the news all the time. A simple solution would be to NOT use a persons name and address on these billing statements.

*** The front desk did not seem to care about leaving bills in hallways for anyone to pick up and claimed that this only happened " today." I really doubt that. The motel should really care and try to prevent ID theft, etc. Being blown off by the front desk is what irked us the most. They did not even apologize. I was tempted to pick up the bills in the hallway and send post cards to each of the addresses on those bills, but that would have been wrong too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rft0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Comfort Inn Riverfront. We appreciate your honest feed back. The team here does take pride in providing our guests with great customer service. Our housekeeping team has had a very busy summer and have done a great job keeping our rooms clean! The complimentary breakfast at the Comfort Inn Riverfront includes waffles, eggs and sausage amongst other delicious items. With our newly upgraded Free Hi Speed internet our business travelers also seem to be very pleased with the services that we are providing for them a the RIGHT PRICE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
0.5 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,077 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 50 in Harrisburg
424 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riverfront

Property: Comfort Inn Riverfront
Address: 525 S Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17104-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the beautiful Susquehanna River in downtown Harrisburg, the Comfort Inn Riverfront is easily accessible to I-81, I-83, PA Turnpike(76) and Routes 322, 581 and 11/15. The hotel is walking distance to Harrisburg's Restaurant Row, Capitol Complex, City Island and the Whitaker Center. The hotel is 10 minutes to Hershey, 15 minutes to Carlisle and 30 minutes to Lancaster and Gettysburg. Amenities include a full hot breakfast buffet, free parking, use of our business center, fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool. In addition all rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed internet access. The hotel is all interior corridor with a restaurant and guest laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Riverfront Hotel Harrisburg
Riverfront Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing