We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River View, pool, location, What more could we ask for?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Millersville, Md
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“River View, pool, location, What more could we ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family of five stayed at this hotel in route to Hershey Park over Labor Day. It had a peaceful river front setting right in town. We choose this hotel for the location and value compared to Hershey. It is an easy to get on 83 as the on ramp is right outside the parking lot. It was also about half the cost of most Hershey locations. We arrived and the hotel was under renovation but it should show off well very soon. We were greeted very professionally and check in was a breeze. We had our kids with us so the hotel gave us an upgraded room with two queens. The room was very spacious and was recently renovated. The décor was very contemporary and up to date. It had a flat screen TV, a river view, new tile, a nice granite toped vanity and comfortable beds. We had no complaints. In the morning it was quite and they had a standard inclusive break feast. The eating area was also renovated and very clean. From the staff to rooms and location we will definitely plan on coming back when coming thru the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelsForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. We could not agree with you more about our close proximity to Hershey and that our rates trend less than those hotels right in Hershey. We are happy to report that the work on the exterior of our building is complete as well and it looks great!

We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    96
    63
    26
    36
See reviews for
77
89
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

we were returning from washington and stayed at this hotel for a night, the area did not look the greatest but the river front view was great, it was just a short walk to the restaurant strip down town the outdoor pool area was nice and the room was clean, the breakfast was standard comfort inn style, all in all good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and free hot breakfast buffet in the morning.

We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am currently working in Harrisburg on a weekly basis and have stayed at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. I feel like I am coming home at the end of the day, especially when they even tell me "welcome home" upon returning to the hotel.

I stayed once at another hotel in downtown and have found this hotel's staff to be nicer and more friendly. The parking is free ($20 at other place) and the free hot breakfast in the morning is a plus too. The pool looks nice however I have not used it. The rooms are clean and spacious and having a refrigerator and microwave are very appreciated.

I will be staying at this hotel for many weeks to come so I will let you know if it is just a fluke or if it stays the way it is now.

Room Tip: the second floor rooms that overlook the river give you a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdb0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are so glad that you have choosen our hotel to be your home away from home. We hope you are enjoying your stays with us and if there is ever anything that you need, please be sure to let us know. We could not agree with you more that we have the best view in the city.

Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recentley stayed at this Hotel, It is a little older but was in good Condition, Had a very nice view in back over looking the water. Being Downtown is a litle pricey, this place was very reasonable & only few blocks away from everything

Room Tip: I Personally think ground floor is Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. We always say that we have the best views in the city and we feel we are the best value too! We are the only hotel in downtown Harrisburg to offer free parking and a free hot breakfast buffet.

We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 4 (including 2 young adult children) took advantage of the location of this hotel within walking distance of the State Capitol building. The walk took 15 minutes or so through downtown Harrisburg.

Breakfast was outstanding -- eggs, meat, waffles, cereal, fruit, breads, juices, coffee, etc.

Since we used a discount coupon, the experience was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Nj
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I liked this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! I stay in the area on a regular basis to visit family. This place is reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. It is on the river and distant from the downtown hustle and bustle. But the neighborhood is quaint. The rooms are clean and the bathroom looked updated. I only have two complaints. I think they should update their bedding. Comforter looked a little worn. Also, housekeeping knocked on the door at 9am. I thought that was a little early and I guess it was my fault for not putting the DND sign on the knob. But I never had an experience of them trying to clean the room before 11 so I didmn't think it would be an issue.

Free breakfast was pretty good and the exercise room was small but nice and clean. I never made it to the pool but it looked well maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank grantctgurl4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrPA129, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We greatly appreciate your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. New bedding is coming this winter and hopefully it will be in place before you come to visit your family the next time. Also, we have addressed the issue of the housekeeper knocking on your door, however, yes it is best to always use your do not disturb sign.

We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

How many hotels offer riverfront views, free breakfast and cookies, a terrific pool overlooking the river, and a location a few blocks from the center of the capital city, all for $90 AAA? Throw in very friendly desk staff and you have the whole enchallida. The only gripe was a slow tub drain which they fixed after being told. The place was mobbed--for good reason!

Room Tip: No need to pay more for a riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
0.4 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#11 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#33 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riverfront

Property: Comfort Inn Riverfront
Address: 525 S Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17104-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the beautiful Susquehanna River in downtown Harrisburg, the Comfort Inn Riverfront is easily accessible to I-81, I-83, PA Turnpike(76) and Routes 322, 581 and 11/15. The hotel is walking distance to Harrisburg's Restaurant Row, Capitol Complex, City Island and the Whitaker Center. The hotel is 10 minutes to Hershey, 15 minutes to Carlisle and 30 minutes to Lancaster and Gettysburg. Amenities include a full hot breakfast buffet, free parking, use of our business center, fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool. In addition all rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed internet access. The hotel is all interior corridor with a restaurant and guest laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Riverfront Hotel Harrisburg
Riverfront Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing