We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay close to Hershey park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice stay close to Hershey park”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

nice rooms with everything needed, like being at home. good front desk service, stayed on a second floor room, stairs narrow, service personal stop and asked if all is good while walking outside. free breakfast in the morning (very good), Monday thru Thursday evening meal, changes each night but worth going to the main building to eat, also have tap beer, soda, coffee, tea, juice. close to the highway, but no food or shops/stores within walking distance. I would stay here again if back in the area.

Room Tip: if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localfamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Localfamily2,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our evening hospitality! We look forward to having you stay with us when youtravel back to the Harrisburg-Hershey area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    131
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
202
36
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This Residence Inn is one Hotel I would recommend to anyone and everyone traveling in the Hershey area. We stay here multiple times a year whenever we go to Hershey Park. The rooms are spacious, clean, affordable and the additional amenities are fantastic.From the indoor pool, to the outdoor pool, the breakfast buffet and "social" hour (4 times a week), this place can't be beat. The staff are friendly and are very accommodating to any special requests.

Room Tip: I highly suggest reserving a "penthouse suite" that includes a loft. It sleeps 6 to 8 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Suanne G, Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel and our great staff. You are right! Our evening hospitality is great and should be experienced by everyone. We look forward to having you visit us again when you are back in the area. Have a wonderful holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We always enjoy the Residence Inn when traveling through PA with the family, though this one was a bit awkward in layout:

1) There are several older units requiring an outdoor walk to the swimming pool which is located in the newer unit -- not great in 30 degree weather
2) The older units are neat and clean, but nearing time for renovation and doors open directly to the outside
3) The hotel is right on a highway in a relatively industrial area (though it felt safe enough).
4) Breakfast was excellent but also required an outdoor walk to get there

Maybe the logistics work better in the warmer months. There is a new-ish strip mall with Target and a bunch of decent restaurants about a minute south which is convenient for dinner.

Although the convenience to Hershey Park is nice and the service was great, we found the Residence Inn in Carlisle to be a better pit stop nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer units by the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Famroadtrip, I appreciate your comments on our property layout, and understand the concerns during bad weather. I am glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet! When you come back to the area, we would love to have you visit us again! Have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a family with the intention of visiting Hershey, Carlisle Army Barracks and Lancaster County. The location was excellent. The highway is right there and it is central to the area.

The two bedroom suite is nicely decorated with a lovely kitchen, dining, and living room. The beds, 1 King and 2 Queens, were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and had good pressure.

The front desk was extremely helpful in fulfilling our requests while we stayed there.

The only concern we had was the separate buildings. My children usually go to the breakfast buffet earlier in the morning while we sleep in. With the parking lots between buildings, we did not feel comfortable doing that, so my husband had to accompany them. The breakfast was great.

The overall area is a bit industrial and looks a bit shabby, but we did not feel unsafe anytime staying there.

I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear LisaF, Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed our 2 bedroom suites. I appreciate your concern with letting your children attend breakfast unattended, but am glad that everyone enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet. We would love to have you stay with us again when you come back to the area. Have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was a nice hotel but there were two parts, a new part, high rise, elevators and an older style Residence Inn, 2 story buildings, no elevators. Room was very nice, modern, clean. If you are in the newer part, you are a long way from breakfast. Breakfast was good once you get there. Shopping center with lots of restaurants was not far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Califiken, Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet! We look forward to having you visit us again when you are in the area. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent our weekend in a residence inn property when we were visiting hershey PA. The property is located at least 15 min away from the amusement park but across a shopping mall. We got a Penthouse loft room for a group of 8 people. It had 2 full baths, 2 queen beds (one in a loft, one on the first floor. A queen sofa bed by the living area. As usual the property has never failed us when travelling. a full kitchen and an oven can really make our dining more efficient.

It has An indoor pool but without the jacuzzi. The photo still shows it but its been covered and its no longer available. But the best thing is, the breakfast area. Well stocked, fresh and clean. Yes it may be the same breakfast but this property has Leonilla (LEON). Leonilla is like a mother feeding her children during breakfast just before school. she makes sure that we are eating well and quickly clears tables when guests leave the breakfast area. I hope when we visit again she will be our breakfast mom. Special Thanks to Ms. Kim of the front desk, she was the best ever! from welcoming us and making sure we were all set up in the room. You guys made our weekend from great to spectacular!

Room Tip: Get the building close to either the gate house or the pool area. if you are a large contingent...ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Tsak, Thank you for your great review of our hotel and our staff members. I am glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet! Our goal is to ensure that everyone of our guests have a great experience! We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were in Harrisburg for our son's wedding. This hotel is literally just a few minutes away from both downtown Harrisburg and Hershey Park. My husband and I, my 76 year old mother, our daughter, her husband and 2 toddlers and college age daughter, were all travelling together from GA. The hotel was incredibly clean and the staff was attentive and helpful, going above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. When we arrived, after a particularly long and frustrating travel day with two grumpy toddlers, the check in procedure was quick and painless and the front desk clerk happily reminded us that there would be a complimentary dinner bar with homemade meatball subs. We got to the rooms and they were immaculate and the staff had already set up the pack and play:) Beds were very comfy and kitchen was well stocked and clean! The next morning, my daughter asked for directions to a nearby playground. The front desk did not know of one off the top of her head, but she took the time to research one and found a fabulous, upscale playground, about 10 minutes away. We also took suits and dresses down to be picked up for pressing and had missed the pick up time (our fault) but she got on the phone and had them come back by to pick our things up. Breakfast each morning was very good and besides the usual hotel breakfast fare also included scrambled eggs, a breakfast meat and potatoes, making a very hearty breakfast for those of us who prefer more than a muffin. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay there when we come back to Harrisburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kari L:
Thank you for your 5-star review and gracious feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear our staff helped make your stay memorable and enjoyable while you attended your son's wedding. We look forward to seeing you again when you come to visit your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4480 Lewis Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey hotel offers guests spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, free wireless Internet access, pool, heated spa and Sport Court-all the comforts of home. Attractions near the hotel are Hershey Park & Stadium, Indian Echo Caverns, Whitaker Center, Zoo America, AACA Museum, National Civil War Museum, RiverSide Stadium, State Museum of Pennsylvania and the State Capitol. Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey shopping is plentiful at Harrisburg Mall, Colonial Park Mall, Outlets at Hershey and Strawberry Square. Guests to the hotel enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet daily and light dinners Mon-Thurs. Visitors to University of Harrisburg and Temple University are within 5 miles of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. Come stay with us at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel allowing pets in studio and Penthouse suites only for a $100 non refundable fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing