We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 2 room suite - building separated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice 2 room suite - building separated”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a family with the intention of visiting Hershey, Carlisle Army Barracks and Lancaster County. The location was excellent. The highway is right there and it is central to the area.

The two bedroom suite is nicely decorated with a lovely kitchen, dining, and living room. The beds, 1 King and 2 Queens, were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and had good pressure.

The front desk was extremely helpful in fulfilling our requests while we stayed there.

The only concern we had was the separate buildings. My children usually go to the breakfast buffet earlier in the morning while we sleep in. With the parking lots between buildings, we did not feel comfortable doing that, so my husband had to accompany them. The breakfast was great.

The overall area is a bit industrial and looks a bit shabby, but we did not feel unsafe anytime staying there.

I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear LisaF, Thank you for your comments. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed our 2 bedroom suites. I appreciate your concern with letting your children attend breakfast unattended, but am glad that everyone enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet. We would love to have you stay with us again when you come back to the area. Have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    132
    39
    17
    8
See reviews for
206
39
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was a nice hotel but there were two parts, a new part, high rise, elevators and an older style Residence Inn, 2 story buildings, no elevators. Room was very nice, modern, clean. If you are in the newer part, you are a long way from breakfast. Breakfast was good once you get there. Shopping center with lots of restaurants was not far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Califiken, Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet! We look forward to having you visit us again when you are in the area. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent our weekend in a residence inn property when we were visiting hershey PA. The property is located at least 15 min away from the amusement park but across a shopping mall. We got a Penthouse loft room for a group of 8 people. It had 2 full baths, 2 queen beds (one in a loft, one on the first floor. A queen sofa bed by the living area. As usual the property has never failed us when travelling. a full kitchen and an oven can really make our dining more efficient.

It has An indoor pool but without the jacuzzi. The photo still shows it but its been covered and its no longer available. But the best thing is, the breakfast area. Well stocked, fresh and clean. Yes it may be the same breakfast but this property has Leonilla (LEON). Leonilla is like a mother feeding her children during breakfast just before school. she makes sure that we are eating well and quickly clears tables when guests leave the breakfast area. I hope when we visit again she will be our breakfast mom. Special Thanks to Ms. Kim of the front desk, she was the best ever! from welcoming us and making sure we were all set up in the room. You guys made our weekend from great to spectacular!

Room Tip: Get the building close to either the gate house or the pool area. if you are a large contingent...ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Tsak, Thank you for your great review of our hotel and our staff members. I am glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet! Our goal is to ensure that everyone of our guests have a great experience! We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were in Harrisburg for our son's wedding. This hotel is literally just a few minutes away from both downtown Harrisburg and Hershey Park. My husband and I, my 76 year old mother, our daughter, her husband and 2 toddlers and college age daughter, were all travelling together from GA. The hotel was incredibly clean and the staff was attentive and helpful, going above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. When we arrived, after a particularly long and frustrating travel day with two grumpy toddlers, the check in procedure was quick and painless and the front desk clerk happily reminded us that there would be a complimentary dinner bar with homemade meatball subs. We got to the rooms and they were immaculate and the staff had already set up the pack and play:) Beds were very comfy and kitchen was well stocked and clean! The next morning, my daughter asked for directions to a nearby playground. The front desk did not know of one off the top of her head, but she took the time to research one and found a fabulous, upscale playground, about 10 minutes away. We also took suits and dresses down to be picked up for pressing and had missed the pick up time (our fault) but she got on the phone and had them come back by to pick our things up. Breakfast each morning was very good and besides the usual hotel breakfast fare also included scrambled eggs, a breakfast meat and potatoes, making a very hearty breakfast for those of us who prefer more than a muffin. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay there when we come back to Harrisburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kari L:
Thank you for your 5-star review and gracious feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear our staff helped make your stay memorable and enjoyable while you attended your son's wedding. We look forward to seeing you again when you come to visit your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay while visiting Hershey Park area for a week to accommodate our five member family with children ages 2, 6, 9. Residence Inn was perfect for our needs. We got a two bedroom suite with 2 baths, a full kitchen with dishwasher, dining area and living room and 3 TV's. All this at roughly the same price as you'd pay for a higher end hotel room offering only two Queen beds. In addition there was an indoor and outdoor pool, workout room, outdoor basketball court and laundry room. They offered a very nice breakfast for free with choices like waffles, scrambled eggs, muffins, fruit, cereals and drinks. The room and facilities were clean and very well kept. The beds and pillows very comfortable. We had loads of space for moving about and made many meals at the end of a long day right in the room. I can't say enough about the staff. They were friendly and very helpful. Located 8 miles from Hershey Park and equally close to Harrisburg and about half hour from Gettysburg. Our family loved the comfort, convenience and location of this facility. Plus, close to two shopping centers and several restaurants to boot. Great place!

Room Tip: Get a room or suite in the building with the indoor pool and work out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear John H:
Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased you and your family enjoyed staying at our hotel and were able to take advantage of all our hotel has to offer from the large suites, to the pool facilities along with breakfast. These amenities are key when travelling with your family. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hershey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. Good value for price.
Felt very much like a home base for our travels. So clean and comfortable. Wished we were staying there longer. Will look for other Residence Inn rooms in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear GWisconsin:
Thank you for providing such a great review on our hotel! I am so happy you to hear you felt like home during your stay. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. All Residence Inn hotels provide the same type of amenities and I am happy to hear based on your experience you will look for our properties where ever you may travel. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property if you are ever in Harrisburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my husband's and my first trip to this area; we stayed for 6 nights. This property contains two different types of Residence Inns: there are 10 3-sotry buildings without elevators, and rooms are accessed through the exterior (not through a hallway). (When I travel alone, I avoid these types of units, so I mention this for those of you who are like-minded.) There is also another building that I'm guessing was built later -- building 11. It is also 3 stories tall, and has an elevator. One has to have a door key in order to get into the building. I have mobility problems, so I was glad that we weren't in the other section where I'd need to navigate multiple walkways and potentially stairs. We also welcomed the extra security. (This is not a scary area by any means - but since I've traveled alone so much, I guess I just look for these things.) We didn't know about these two different types of accommodations before we arrived.

Since we like to have the windows open, even when we're sleeping, we have our Marriott profile set for a high floor. We checked in at about 9:30 pm after having flown all day. Much to our dismay, we were given a first floor room. We told the agent, Emily, that we didn't like first floor rooms; she said she had no other 1 bedroom units left. (We are Platinum Elite. Guess that didn't matter.) At our request, Emily left a note indicating we wanted to change rooms the next day. We went to dinner before we even went to our room since it was so late.

We were assigned to room 1112 (in building 11). Much to our dismay, not only was this room on the first floor, it was directly across the hall from the vending machines and laundry. And, the parking lot was right outside the windows (about 12 feet away), so any cars parking anywhere near us would be noticed.

We went back to the front desk, and another agent, Natalie, was there. We told her about our disappointment. She indicated she saw the note left by Emily. With a few taps of her fingers, she found us another room -- another 1 bedroom with a fireplace (this was an upgrade from our 1 bedroom without a fireplace) -- and it was still in building 11 and on the third floor! We were thrilled. (Who likes having to change rooms?) We ended up in room 1316. The rooms on this north end are close to US Route 322, and you can hear the traffic, but it wasn't a big deal -- just kind of a dull roar.

The only morning the breakfast area was really busy was Saturday (lots of families). At all times, the breakfast area was kept clean and orderly. This property also has a small free dinner and beer Monday-Thursday nights. We only went one night as we were out and about on the other nights; it was BBQ night.

Our body clocks were still on Pacific time, so often we didn't leave the room until 2 or later. We were thankful that Housekeeping personnel were still on duty and were able to service our room.

If we were in the area again, we would stay again, and would specifically ask for floor 2 or 3 in building 11.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems or want just a bit of extra security, ask for building 11. If you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Lepha:
Thank you for providing such a detailed review from your recent stay with us. I apologize we were not able to initially meet your request for a high floor. Thankfully enough we had a late cancellation which allowed us to get you comfortable on a higher floor. We do attempt to meet every guest request, especially our Platinum Members. You are loyal to Marriott and we sincerely appreciate it! Glad to hear the remainder of your 6-night stay was enjoyable at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4480 Lewis Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey hotel offers guests spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, free wireless Internet access, pool, heated spa and Sport Court-all the comforts of home. Attractions near the hotel are Hershey Park & Stadium, Indian Echo Caverns, Whitaker Center, Zoo America, AACA Museum, National Civil War Museum, RiverSide Stadium, State Museum of Pennsylvania and the State Capitol. Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey shopping is plentiful at Harrisburg Mall, Colonial Park Mall, Outlets at Hershey and Strawberry Square. Guests to the hotel enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet daily and light dinners Mon-Thurs. Visitors to University of Harrisburg and Temple University are within 5 miles of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. Come stay with us at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel allowing pets in studio and Penthouse suites only for a $100 non refundable fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing