We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful...deeply regret not staying at the Ramada. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just awful...deeply regret not staying at the Ramada. ”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I checked in here on 4/18/14 & upon checking in we saw the TV screen stated "rated #1 in Harrisburg by Travel sites!" It also falsely advertised this hotel had been renovated. We booked a double room but they put us in a king(which was not renovated). we came into our room, dropped our bags amd met friends for dinner and a late movie. upon our return, when I needed a shower, I realized our room had hardly been cleaned. There was still used soap and and an empty conditioner bottle in the shower, as well as hair, and the toilet had not been cleaned. The floor was sticky, and our bed sheets had hair all over them. I called the front desk and immediately made them aware of the condition of our room, I even politely asked them if someone could please clean our bathroom the next day. They apologized and said it'd be taken care of. The next day, we returned from purchasing a new vehicle only to find our room hadn't been touched. I hand wiped the toilet seat myself, dealt with the dirty shower, I mopped the floor with a wash cloth and lint rolled the sheets. We will not be staying at a red roof ever again. I deeply regret not booking the Ramada as usual.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MishiaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Good morning and thank you for letting me know about this situation. I cannot apologize enough for the less than positive experience you and your fiancé had during your stay. Rest assured that what you experienced is NOT a normal practice here and I will be looking into this matter to assure this does not happen again! The renovations done to my hotel were in fact completed to include new flat screen TV's, new carpet, new beds and a fantastic new 44 channel line up. I strongly encourage you to allow me the opportunity to show you what this hotel can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    65
    38
    40
    29
See reviews for
74
55
48
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had booked a room for 4/9/14 for an overnight stay. When we arrived an elderly lady was trying to check-in. The person behind the desk was named Molly as I recall. She was telling this elderly lady that they don't hold specific rooms, its on a first come first serve basis, even thought the lady was severly handicapped. She was told there was no ground floor unit to be had. The elderly lady protested that she had made the booking 1 month earlier. She was told quite rudely nothing could be done. At this time her husband came in telling her that he had found alternative accommodations that suited their needs and they left. As I started to check-in, I noticed several invoices behind the counter with ground floor room numbers attached. Apparently, they were being held for the guests that had not arrived . I asked the person behind counter why the rooms were being held when their policy was on a first come basis. She replied that it was her manager's decision and to take it up with him/her . The lady behind the counter in my opinion was rude and not in control of the situation. Because my wife is handicapped we had also requested a first floor room but she insisted that we could only have a second floor room. We subsequently cancelled our booking and left. We found a lovely hotel right around the corner.

Andy. Massacussetts

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Good morning and I apologize for the confusion surrounding this matter. The weekend that we are speaking about was a sold out weekend because of one of Harrisburg's fantastic canine events and Red Roof cannot guarantee a first floor room (unless it is an ADA accessible room). This is why anytime you book the question is posed as a "request" and not a guarantee. We of course will try to accommodate when we are able to but with events like these in town almost every guest requests a first floor room which is why you heard the response "first come first serve". I cannot express how apologetic I am but the registration cards you saw behind the counter were for guests that came in early in the day to check in and guests that were already here re-registering. What I would suggest if possible when making a reservation is to call the inn directly if requesting a first floor room, and inquire if an ADA accessible room or a standard king room is available which is the only way to guarantee a first floor room (as we only have these on the first floor).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was towing a 12 ft U-haul trailer and parked parallel to my ground floor room. I was awakened at midnight by an irate guy blowing his horn and screaming that the desk girl said that she could not do anything. I opened my curtain and he came running, threatening to move my van & trailer himself. It was below zero and I informed him I would move. I drove to the office and the girl(very polite & professional) said that there was no parking at motel but I could park in a vacant lot way across the street. I did but worried about it all night. The snow banks had nothing to do with the parking problem. Quite simply....no provisions for anything other than a passenger car or pickup. My room was obviously a smoking room also. I had reserved a non smoking. My whole experience was not typical of many other Red Roofs I have stayed at. Definitely would not recommend this one for anyone towing anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean, staff is very friendly and eager to accomodate guests. Donn, Donna, and Brian are great! If you are ever in the Harrisburg/Hershey area, stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I absolutely love the red roof inn, harrisburg. The manager Brian does a really great job, along with Donna, Donn, and Pollly. The room was nice and clean when we got in it and has been cleaned everyday ever since. The housekeepers do a great job. I will not be staying any where else but here for now on!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apierce905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with my stay here. Promo was immaculate and they had thought of the little things that make a traveller's stay a bit easier. For example, in this day and age, who doesn't travel with at least a few bits of electronics that need charging overnight ? I even travel with an extension cord in my bad so that I can have plugs by the bedside table. What this location has done is provide three outlets right beside the bed mounted under the bedside table but flush with it for easy access. A small thing but goes to show that they are thinking about their guest's experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CJD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Donna is great. I had a few issues and she resolved it quickly and to my satisfaction. The room was clean and in good condition. Always a good deal, location is great. Donna is very helpful when deciding on where to eat and the nite life. Thank you for a job well done.

Mike Morrison

Room Tip: Stay in the very back, it is not as busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#36 of 50 in Harrisburg
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
6.0 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
#44 of 50 in Harrisburg
916 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 950 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2311
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#12 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing