We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for......”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Harrisburg PA for a quick Memorial Day weekend family getaway to Hershey Park Amusement Park. Typically our family stays in mid-range hotels such as Holiday Inn or Homewood Suites but we decided to give Red Roof a try since they were the most reasonably priced in the area. Overall the outside appearance of the hotel is OK, not great but not horrible either......just OK. We were on the 2nd floor of the back building and immediately my wife felt unsafe due to the fact that none of the entry doors to the building upstairs had any locks on them which we felt would allow non-customers the ability to enter the building "after hours". Not a deal breaker but at least worth mentioning since this isn't the norm anymore. As far as the actual room, they claim that they are all newly renovated which I'd say they "may be" but they simply cannot get rid of the old smell which must be trapped in the rugs, walls, ceilings????? Not sure but the hotel smelled old if that's possible. As for the decor, again it seems like it may be renovated but it was apparent that they did it on an extremely tight budget as the rooms seem very bland with next to nothing on the walls and all of the furniture is basic 1 color vinyl. Nothing elaborate, very boring actually. Beds - OK.....firm but did get a decent night sleep. Bathroom - shower was decent but the toilet was like playing roulette.......you never knew how many flushes it would take until it decided to flush. Was it 2, or 3 or even 6 - we had fun with this game especially with 4 people sharing the room. Also I'd look elsewhere if you have 4 people or 2 adults and 2 kids in our case. The bathroom has the sink / mirror ect unlike the pictures where it is outside of the bathroom. This made getting ready very difficult as only 1 person could get ready since everything was in the bathroom vs the sink being outside in the room like in the pictures provided. Housekeeping - we're still really unsure if they have housekeeping. While we left for the day my wife decided to pull the comforter to the top of one bed while leaving the other bed unmade. When we came back later that evening the one bed was made but the other bed still had the comforter pulled up the same way we left it. Then all of the pillows were literally thrown on one bed as the other had none. We found 2 empty pillow cases on the desk for some reason and they were generous enough to leave us 2 towels for the next day. Not sure if the housekeeper's shift ended mid-cleaning our room but the hair which was left in the sink was a good sign that they had no intention of coming back.

Over all I guess you get what you pay for and if you're looking for a mediocre hotel at a decent price in the area then this may be your place. Personally I'd suggest spending and extra $30 a night since there are about 6-8 more mid-tier hotels in the same area which I'm certain would have better suited our taste.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdradko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a response regarding your stay. We appreciate your feedback and want you to know that we are in the process of re-evaluating and addressing all areas of opportunity that are presented to us. We strongly encourage you to give us another try when you are in the area.
We would love to have you back to impress...impress....impress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    68
    42
    40
    30
See reviews for
76
57
48
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Some things aren't as good as the first. But, that definitely isn't the case here! Bryan, Donna and Donn at the front desk do everything to ensure that my stay was enjoyable and are always professional. If people would be considerate and not litter, which the staff takes care of, the cleanliness would be like the other scores. I really enjoyed my stay here and this is one of favorite places to stay outside of home!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csdub7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are pleased that we were able to happily accomodate all of your needs as we continually strive to better serve all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for a night at this hotel, in one of the new standard king rooms. Looked exactly like the picture. The clerk at check in was very friendly and efficient. The room and bedding were clean. Everything was very nice, good value for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeniam826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, NH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our first time in the area, we were very pleasantly impressed with the well kept grounds and the standard business king sized remodeled rooms. There's a nice restaurant right across the street, as well as Dominos and McDoanlds and a nice chrome diner within walking distance to cover any tastes. Location to highways is very good.
Staff was extremely pleasant and I advise anyone looking for a decent clean stay to check out this Red Roof.

Room Tip: If staying for 7 days, ask about a reduced rate for non daily maid service. This hotel told me about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive and energetic response. We were very happy that we were able to accomodate you and we are even happier that you enjoyed the area. We are very proud of our location and all of the amenities that are close by. We extend an open invitation to you and your family or friends to visit us again. It would be a pleasure to have you back.
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed recently for overnight prior to going to airport. the rooms were very clean and have been remodeled. The staff was nice and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, I had king room and had a computer work space. They also have new flatscreens which is nice too. It is a definite bargain I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We at the Red Roof Inn are ecstatic that you enjoyed our renovations and enjoyed the in-room amenities. We encourage you to come and visit us again as we are still in the process of completing some updates. There is no doubt that your next visit will be even better.
Thank you for your response,
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was a great find for us. It was just outside the busy part of the city but still close enough to everything that we didn't have to drive far to get to things. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and made checking in and out very easy and painless. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning AmberU,

Thank you for your kind words! I am very pleased to hear that your stay at the inn was pleasant and met your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a well maintained & very clean motel. A 5 minute drive to lots of things to do & restaurants.
The king room is the most expensive & a very nice room & spacious. Comes with a microwave & frig.
Not the place to impress. But for the money, a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#37 of 50 in Harrisburg
276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
#45 of 50 in Harrisburg
932 reviews
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 950 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2311
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#12 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing