We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very clean ,very small rooms ,value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very clean ,very small rooms ,value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

entering to the room i was surprised how small the room and the bath room was,one of the smallest i have ever seen.on the other hand , the room was very very clean and very compact. it seems as it was planned for 1 person travveling for 1 night.when leaving the receptinist told me i could add 10$ and get a bigger room.any how it was more then ok for the money i paid.

Room Tip: add the 10$ and get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    57
    31
    31
    26
See reviews for
56
47
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while visiting my son who lives nearby. It was nice to get a room on the ground level where I could park my car right outside the door. I had a king bed. The price is what sold me on this hotel this time, as I was on a very tight budget, but I would probably not stay here again.

First the positives. The check-in procedure was quick and the lady at the desk was very friendly (as was the man when I checked out). The location is convenient to many highways and right next door to both a McDonald's and Capitol Diner (which is great for breakfast!). There is a coffee pot in the room and also coffee is offered in the office each morning but there is no fresh milk so I went to the local places. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room along with a nice flat screen tv and free wifi.

I noticed that they are working on some of the rooms and hopefully that is a nice makeover that they give the room I was in because the dark blue carpet was so nasty I wore socks any time I could. It was gummy and greasy and just the thought of bare feet touching it made me gag. I am guessing that is why the room smelled awful. I tried spraying it with perfume but that was a temporary fix at best. Also, there are chips coming off the bathtub and there was a pretty decent fuzzy patch of mold on the ceiling of the bathroom.

The air conditioner was set to 68 but it felt like the arctic. It was also really loud but I was pleasantly surprised that the room was quite insulated from sound other than the awful air system. When I turned the thermostat up a couple of degrees that helped the temp be more comfortable but the odor in the room was magnified in a very disagreeable way.

You get what you pay for so I guess that I should not be surprised at thin towels and really poor quality bed linens. I would just like to be surprised sometime in a good way.

Loved the fact that there was lots of hot water and the housekeeping staff did a good job with what they had. The bathroom was very clean and everything set up nicely.

I stay in Harrisburg at least twice a year and this was my first time going this low budget-wise. Guess it will be my last for a while. I did not sleep well at all due to smell, air system and shabby bed so hope to save up better for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had booked this Red Roof Inn hotel for a Hershey Park family trip. We had 4 different families and everyone stayed at different hotels. Another was at Red Roof Inn on Corporate; another was at the Marriott, another was at the Hershey Lodge. Staying at the Red Roof Inn where we were, it was cheaper than the Marriott and Hershey Lodge but in hindsight, the free shuttle to Hershey Park from the Lodge would've made better sense. Our room was 2 full beds and we registered as 2 adults and 2 kids. I called for more bath towels. They came up quickly. Nice! There was no refrigerator in the room and no real table or desk. Just another sofa-type of chair. It would've been nice, and there was space for, a round table just to put stuff on. Beds were more comfy than I thought, plenty of parking spaces right where our room was. The front desk woman was very helpful and courteous. The bathrooms were clean. It's not a bad stay but for a trip to Hershey Park, I would pick somewhere with shuttle service to the park next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLKtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room was clean and a great price. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and one of their assets is the front desk clerk named Donna Rhinehart-she couldn't have been more helpful and nice. Will continue to use this hotel and highly recommend to anyone that wants a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benezette, PA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place is updated and very clean. I stay here several times a year for 1-5 nights. I generally arrive late, around 8:00 or 9:00 The trick to getting the room you want is to call the hotel directly and book through them, instead of the 800 number. I ask for a King Superior Room on the 1st floor and always get it if I call the hotel directly. To use your redicard free night you need to call the 800 number to book, but I make a follow-up call directly to the hotel and tell them that I am arriving late and what room I want. I always get it. The staff here are always friendly and willing to help out.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benezette_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel was a great place for the price. We booked through Booking.com, and got a $54.99 rate for a king room. Everything was comfortable, bathroom was small, but good. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. And the staff was nice and accomadating. Location was great as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#35 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
#45 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
6.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#22 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 950 Eisenhower Blvd., Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#12 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing