We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
conshohocken
1 review
“Wonderful from start to finish”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I planned an overnight corporate event here in Sept 2012 with 100+ employees. We had dinner, and breakfast the following morning. Planning was a breeze, communication was constant. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. The banquet staff was tops, they were on it from start to finish. They accomodated specialty food requests and very late arrivals with ease. The rooms were clean and handicapped accessable for some of my guests. The pool was open later than posted, the kids loved it. Not one complaint from over 100 guests. I would definately go back again. Thank you for making me look good with my employer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meeting, and look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    253
    186
    76
    68
See reviews for
326
79
34
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Harrisburg on August 24th-26th 2012. We booked the room thru Travelocity. The room did not occupy the correct amount of guests we listed. NO ONE would correct it. This was known many days prior to our stay- actually right after booking! When Travelocity gave us our room details AFTER the transaction. The Hotel said "sorry you booked through a third party can't help you" and passed it back to Travelocity. WHO WERE EVEN WORSE. They said we could NOT cancel without loosing the entire booking amount for the "cancelation fee"--- that is a whole long story besides the Hotel itself . But we will NEVER book anything again thru them. As for the Hotel itself, It is an older updated Hotel. But not at all in good maintainence. The staff was nice, our room was kept clean, the decor on the room was nice. It was quiet. However the carpets looked like they really needed scrubbed, the elevators were BROKEN- only one worked and you had long crowded waits to get on. At one point NONE WORKED! The pool was ok- but when I went there were no towels. The Hot tub broken the whole time- they emptied at night and FILLED UP with Hot water! They told my husband this! The food was astronomically priced. They served ZERO complimentary breakfasts to us. The one thing my kids enjoyed was the movies beside the pool at night outside. (but was crowded and hard to hear they said). Sadly for the money we paid- we could have ahad a FULL FAMILY SUITE with a kitchenette-at a newer hotel with same ameneties-- plus enough ROOM, and a free breakfast for my family. Needless to say- total disappointment. We reached out to Both the Hotel AND Travelocity and neither made ANY EFFORT to help us. On top of that- Travelocity DID NOT PUBLISH MY REVIEW OF HOTEL!!! So what does that say? Even MORE misleading to potential customers looking at reviews. wow

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate any and all feedback. Of course we do try to make all of our guests' happy, but sadly it is not always possible. We never make any secrets about the set up of our guest rooms or what ammenitites the hotel has to offer. We only pray that the third party companies that help sell our "vacant" rooms, represent our rooms and hotel the same way.

We do thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at other SPG hotels including Sheraton, Westin and Fourpoint and I have to say has never been disappointed. Even though this one is a category 2 hotel in the SPG ranking, it was pretty decent compared to holiday inn or econnolodge and others in that range. Pool was great Indoor/outdoor and a heated/pressured jacuzzi. We ate breakfast buffet ( pretty good) on Sunday and a la carte Monday and order take out at the Dog & Pony pub, it prices were within reasonably range and food also decent.

A bit disapoinnted they did not have staff to carry your luggage to the room but that's ok 'cause I save some tipping.

Front desk was courteous and rooms clean.

Room Tip: If you want to get best rate, book with starwood points which is usually fixed price for points and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which i have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Everything was great with this hotel. Rooms and common places were clean and orderly, and the food in the restaurant/room service was delicious. Every employee that I met was friendly and helpful - from the restarurant to the front desk. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was, at times I felt the pool area should have been cleaner, and the pool should have been skimmed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which i have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

As a 5 year Starwood Preferred Member I'm very used to Sheratons. I've never been so disappointed in a hotel, at any level, including Red Roof Inn, which is not on this level.

There were children running around screaming, public restrooms which didn't work, abysmal service in the restaurant, to name a few. This is a horrible hotel as far as I & my family can tell

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I apologize we were not able to meet your standards. We welcome all feedback, as it helps us to get better. If you are ever in the area again please reach out to me directly, so that I can handle your reservation personally and make your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have never seen a hotel with such a good stigma look so disgusting or have such poor service! First, those of you with kids need to know that tonight, 9/1/12, a 7 year old found that the light in the bottom of the hot tub was loose and hanging by a wire!!! He was excited and the rest of us were shocked!! Earlier, we ate in the restaurant downstairs, sat there for 30-40 minutes, finally asked where our food was and they had forgotten us! They didn't refill our drinks until we asked after they passed our table several times. The tea in our room was not replaced though we specifically asked for it. There were kids running up and down the halls and outside around the edge of the pool all times, yelling, until late at night. All kids were in the hot tub no matter their age. Bleach stains were on the rugs in the halls. The elevators were smudged and disgusting. I didn't even want to touch the knob for the shower. The bathroom is cramped. The restroom near the restaurant had stalls taped off, towel dispensers with no paper towels. Oh, amd several kids in a small hot tub is not my idea of relaxing. The whole experience has been awful. The only redeeming thing was the comfortable bed. We will NEVER come back. EVER!! DON'T COME HERE!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joceybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are always welcome to information that may help us better serve our guests. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. It is not alway easy to make everyone happy, though we do try our best!

Of course, thank you for staying with us! We hope at some point you would give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently stayed here for a 1 night stay for a visit to Hershey park. We used our starpoints, which was a great value. The check in was easy. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double bed room. The room was a good size. It was clean with a nice working station. We had a view of the pool which was great, but it could get pretty noisy. The pool does not close till 11pm. So the noise lasted till then. 1 out of 2 elevators was not working, so that was a bit of a pain waiting for the other elevator. We did not take advantage of both the indoor and outdoor pools, but they looked very nice. We did have the breakfast buffet which was a decent value. The service at this restaurant was very, very good. It was great getting a Starbucks coffee to go! This hotel is about a 15 minute drive to Hershey park, and it's right by a Target if you need to get anything. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again using our starpoints. It does need a makeover. The furnishings are starting to show it's wear and tear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommy2cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are in an ideal location. Just 15 minutes from Hershey Park and equal distance to downtown Harrisburg, home to our State Capital Building. Next time you are visiting, stop by the front desk and let us guide you to some great sights and directions to the downtown area. If you time it right, you could also see a Harrisburg Sentators game on City Island. You'll be happy to know, we are consistanly upgrading our facility. Infact, while you were here, our elevators weren't actually "down", they were/are being upgraded. While one car is down, we still provide our guests' with three other fully operating cars. We know there is never a good time to do upgrades, but we insist on doing them to provide our guests' with the best product we can. Thank you again for your comments! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
2.1 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
#16 of 50 in Harrisburg
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey

Property: Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Address: 4650 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel's central location is just minutes away from downtown, the airport, and Hersheypark with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing