We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed October 12, 2012

my husband and i was in town for the car show. Jennifer, the night auditor, was exceptional in taking care of a matter that i had. she was professional and a joy to talk with. she was prompt and has a beautiful smile. she gave us information about local areas and shops. very nice girl.will visit again.

Room Tip: i stayed poolside was in town for the car show
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for the nice comments, I will be assure to pass them on. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 978 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we first arrived to check in the staff was very helpful. They told us about a restaraunt next to the hotel. Gave us directions on getting to my Aunt's house with out using the freeway. The staff was friendly, Jasmine was the one that cleaned our room most of the time. She always made sure the table was cleaned off and the ashtray was empty. The only problem I had was when I was putting our clothes in the dresser the dresser drawers we dirty, so I had to clean them and our key card didn't work all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. I have personally communicated with the housekeeping the staff the importance to ensure the desk drawers are. We continually try to ensure our key card system is reliable. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed at several Harrisburg Hotels/Motels in the last few years, but once I found Howard Johnson Harrisburg/Hershey it's the only place I stay. You can't beat the price and check-in is actually enjoyable. Karen, Nichole and Maryana just to name a few are always pleasant and will see that your stay is comfortable. This place is clean, quiet and has a great choice for breakfast. The rooms are bigger than most places I've seen. If you stay here once you will be sold on this place.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have their own entrance for loading and unloading your stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Creating an excellent value for our guests is what we strive to accomplish each day. Your repeat business is what our business model is all about. If we ever fall short of delivering please let me know so we can correct the issue promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Staff was nice and helpfull. Took care of us right away. Great restaurant next to hotel that is within walking distance that has good food. Breakfast bar was good. Hotel is close to Penn State Hershey Rehab so if you have a loved one or friend there it is a cheep place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We appreciate your patronage. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am 51 years old. This is the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed in. There were blood stains on the sheets, a spot on the pillow case that was underneath and on the pillow when I removed the pillow case, feces stuck to the inside of the toilet, dead bugs squashed on the walls, and vomit down the side of the bedskirt of the bed (as if a prior guest vomited over the side of the bed). We requested that our room be changed. The bloody sheets and feces was in our first room (103) and the vomit and dirty pillow case and sheets in the second room (153). I would LOVE to send you pictures!!!! I took them of everything! Please send me an email address so I can send them to you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I would agree the experience you had fell well short of our effort to deliver expectations that offer a great value. I discussed in length with our laundry supervisor that we need to discard any linens which dont meet our standards. We strive to do much better. I hope you will give us a chance to win back your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were good accomidations were good and this is my 5 week here.tammy at the front desk is wonderfull makes every stay worth it.. thanks tammy for making my stay so wonderfull not just now but each week ...tammy tammy tammy...thanks hojo for this wonderfull staff and tammy

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyin162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoHbg-Hershey, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North
5.4 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
4.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
#36 of 51 in Harrisburg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg

Address: 473 Eisenhower Boulevard/I-83, I-83 & 322 Hershey, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: $40 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing