We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

From the time that we checked in early on Friday until leaving late on Sunday, we had the most enjoyable time at this hotel! Our daughter's wedding reception was held in the Dauphin Ballroom and the accomodations, service, food and friendly staff made this celebration a night to remember. The entire staff, from check-in, restaurant, bar, housekeeping were genuinely friendly, making everyone in our party feel welcome and comfortable. They fulfilled their mission as being the "friendliest hotel in the country!" My wife wanted to make a special shout out for "Angee", who was exceptional, paying special attention to the parents of the bride at the reception!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnjMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear JohnjMc,

Thank you for writing a review of your memorable weekend with us. We are delighted to read your daughter’s wedding reception was just as we planned – wonderful. We realize weddings are a time to cherish and we are grateful for the opportunity to provide the service and accommodations to create such an unforgettable day. Our hallmark is outstanding customer service – and we continue to be inspired by such awesome feedback. I will be sure to recognize Angele for her commitment to service excellence.

We wish your daughter and husband all the best.

Kind regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    338
    150
    78
    43
See reviews for
736
118
63
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We recently booked a night here with adjoining rooms...a king and a queen room for our kids. After a long day at Hershey Park we arrived late. The hotel was easy to find and very clean. I was a bit leary because it looked older but was pleasantly surprised by the decor and kind staff. My husband took our 4 kids down to the indoor pool while I stayed in the room to put the baby to bed. The rooms were very large which made it possible for them to shower and not wake the baby.

After a restful nights sleep, we realised breakfast ended at 10AM. We quickly went downstairs hoping to still have time to eat breakfast before they took it down. Most restaurants would run the other way when they see a family with 5 children but the staff here was incredible! They made us feel welcome and the server, Jamie, was the best I have ever had. I also work in the restaurant business and I have never seen a server so amazing. She not only set up a table for us, she brought us crayons, sticker books and coloring books for our trip home back to Virginia.
She went to the kitchen and had them make fresh pancakes for us! She also helped us by explaining some of the great things we should visit in the area and Hershey Park. She not only was great at her job but one day would be great management material. She went above and beyond! I told the restaurant manager and he was already in the process of giving her an award for her service to another table! I would highly recommend this hotel and especially the restaurant and pool if anyone has children. Very kid friendly hotel. My husband stays in hotels on average of 4 nights a week, all over the world and he even was impressed.
The Despers

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and future travelers looking for outstanding value and exceptional service when visiting the Harrisburg/Hershey area – much appreciated. We continue to be inspired by the feedback we receive from our valued guests regarding the service and accommodations we provide them when they stay with us – it’s all part of our Hospitality Promise. Our mature property and awesome staff have a tremendous will and desire to exceed your expectations 24/7 – unmatched in the market.

We are thrilled Jamie delivered the type of service that made you smile. She continues to do whatever it takes for our guests (big or small) and for that, we are grateful. I will be sure to recognize her for doing what she does best – being Jamie!

Thank you for selecting us as your lodging choice. We hope see you back with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

From the staff at the front desk to Jamie B. our restaurant server we felt at home. Jamie was very friendly like talking to an old friend and a great server. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Beautiful indoor and outdoor pools. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Eileen411,

The feeling of home while you stayed with us is awesome and inspiring – thank you. We are thrilled to read all areas of your lodging experience with us were great – goal accomplished. Our guests continue to be happy with our spaciously appointed guest rooms, amenities and wonderful service.

Thank you for your business and acknowledging the efforts of Jamie and our front desk team.

Kind regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is a poor property. The lobby is unattractive, signage is poor, and place is confusing. The hallway carpet was threadbare, dirty and stained. It should be replaced. Guest room carpet was old, faded, and lumpy in places. The pillows were lumpy and filled with dust. Before I went to breakfast, I had to find a map of the hotel in the room to be able to find the restaurant. When I arrived at breakfast, all the deuces had dirty dished on them so I had to sit at a four top as a single diner. I ordered a Danish for $3 that was a cheap packaged Danish. This hotel also doesn't have public wifi in the lobby, an amenity that I expect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recmanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Harrisburg East, I would like to apologize for not delivering on the type of service and experience our guests expect and deserve when the stay with us. We strive to meet and exceed every expectation for our guests, but unfortunately we failed to do so with your visit, and for that I again apologize. I take full responsibility for the inconvenience we caused and left you a message via TripAdvisor to discuss my passion and desire to improve where possible in the areas you noted, and learn the location of your guest room. I reviewed your feedback with the appropriate departments - outlining action items to ensure a sense of urgency on cleanliness and directional signage is on full display moving forward. Carpets must continue to be deep cleaned until capital funding is approved for replacement. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire building, so I’m not sure what occurred when you tried to connect.

Again, we regret your expectations were not met as a valued guest, and hope for another opportunity to accommodate you should your travels bring you back to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.

P.S. Should any future travelers have concerns about our accommodations and service, please contact me directly at 717-704-0783.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Your staff is amazing... Kelsey (front desk), Mary & Missy in the restaurant/bar could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. Two different managers stopped several times by our group to ask how things were going and if we needed anything.

ALWAYS the best place to stay for the Hershey Invitational soccer tourney. THANK YOU...ds

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Dana,

I completely agree with your comment of – “Your staff is amazing”. Our culture of drive, determination, commitment and passion resonates throughout the entire team. We simply love serving our valued guests and always do it with the biggest smile 24/7.

Thank you for telling future guests how much we care. We appreciate your business and loyalty – see you next year!

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for soccer tournament with team. Excellent. Friendly staff, large rooms. Clean great value. Close to hershey park!great for kids. Poo outdoor and indoor. Play set volleyball. Basketball great outdoor space

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Antonio,

We appreciate your feedback and kind words of the recent experience you had with us – thank you. Our friendly service and fantastic amenities makes us the perfect choice for anyone traveling to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. You simply will not find a better value and service commitment anywhere in the area – guaranteed.

Thank you for selecting us as your lodging choice. We hope your team had a successful tournament.

Best regards,

Randall J Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, WV
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was in a nice location with respect to Hershey Park. We stayed here two nights around Memorial day. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was good also. It would be nice if there were exhaust fans in the bathrooms and coffee pots in the rooms, though. During our stay, one of the hot water boilers went down, we were told. We did not have hot water that night or the next morning, which was a bummer when showering. But what can you do when it's a holiday weekend? The front desk did comp us one night, which was appreciated. Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear WVTravelers4,

As a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor, thanks for sharing such valuable feedback with us – much appreciated. We regret to learn of your hot water issue, and the inconvenience it caused with your stay on the second night – my apologies. We did address it and are confident the issue has been resolved. Regarding the exhaust fans in the bathrooms – we have vents that draw out the air, which should have assisted with the moisture in your bathroom – I will double check with the engineering department to ensure the roof top vents are open and working property. We don’t have coffee makers with pots in our guest rooms, but we do have two cup coffee makers in each room. If your travels bring you back to the area, contact me directly and I will put a coffee maker with a pot in your room.

Again, thanks for bringing the noted opportunities to our attention and for allowing us to introduce our Hospitality Promise – Satisfaction Guaranteed 24/7.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
717-704-0783
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing