We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hershey Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Medford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hershey Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for 1 night,great location, outdoor pool is huge, clean rooms and friendly staff. Randy and Zak were great took care of all our needs and upgaded our room at no charge, only 8 miles to Hershey Park.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    315
    140
    75
    43
See reviews for
654
105
62
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great overnighter from start to finish. Called ahead of time, and Mick-hotel representative, was able to arrange an early check in for my family, as well as an adjoining room with the friends we were travelling with. Room was clean and well appointed. Pool area was fantastic--large pool with a fun playground area for the kids, as well as a hot tub. We were able to eat lunch poolside (order at the outdoor snack bar). Close location to Hershey, shopping right across the street as well. When you book, make sure to ask for Mick--he's the man! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Alli416,

Thank you for writing a review of the recent experience you and your family had with us – much appreciated. Our team is committed to doing whatever it takes to ensure our guests receive the best possible service and accommodations throughout their entire stay – goal accomplished. We are happy you found our great location and awesome amenities perfect for all your needs. I will be sure to let Mick know what a positive impact he had with your experience – it will make him smile!

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here before a very early flight out of HIA. The shuttle to the airport was fine. The front desk staff was helpful. Other than that, the hotel had a very old and worn feel, and our room was very small. The rate charged was not a lot but should have been even cheaper considering the amenities of the hotel. Next time if we need an overnight near HIA, we’ll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Patrema,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for not providing the type accommodations our guests expect and deserve. Failing to meet your expectations as a result of your March 2013 stay is something we never want any guest to experience, and is completely unacceptable by our standards. Improving the overall guest experience has always been our goal, and will continue to be our focus moving forward.

In an effort to improve the overall guest experience, I sent you a private email message via TripAdvisor to better understand your needs. I hope we have the opportunity to earn back your confidence and business in the future.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chose this hotel because the concert venue is close by.

Arrived early hoping to rest before the concert.

We arrived at approx 1 pm. Check in is at 4 pm. Was told to hang around the reception area because no rooms available yet. After waiting for about an hour or so, i notice that some of guest are being checked in. So i aproached the reception area again, if i did not ask her again, why
she hasn't given us our room.
So she made some remarks that they are being checked in the other wing, well if you have rooms give it to us. So she finally checked us in but in the other wing. We got the second floor. I would suggest provide maps where the rooms are at.

Room - its ok, typical room. Nothing spectacular. 2 double beds . Since we were given the 2nd floor behind is the parking lot. The curtains doesn't pull all the way, so with the sheer curtains people from the outside can see you. After our concert, we park near our room, you need a key to enter in the back. We got back around 2 am and the lighting around the parking lot is not too bright. Then luckily we got in, there were a couple men after us and when we went to the wrong hallway, the two men where knocking the door expecting us to open it. We ran as fast as possible and kept our lights off ( it was scary). Not sure if there is a camera in the back.

Did not try the restaurants.

It is ok if you ask me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Maritez,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us – much appreciated. We truly value when a guest lets us know about their experience. We focus every day on trying to do whatever it takes to make our guests very happy. Unfortunately, sometimes we miss an opportunity to accomplish our goal with an early check-in request - my apologies. Regarding your curtain, you are correct, they do not close the all the way, but the blackout shades do, which will prevent anyone from looking in your room. Our security report did not indicate any men knocking on doors, and the building is secure at every entrance - with access only by your guestroom key. Please feel free to call the guest services desk (dial 0) should you ever need assistance in the future.

I appreciate your time and courtesies in speaking with me the other day regarding your experience. I’m grateful for your plans to return – I will make sure you can check-in early.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kindest regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family planned a reunion from 7/4 to 7/7, for about 50 people. The hotel was very accomodating to our needs. The staff was helpful and very friendly. There is a nice pool and the Sunday brunch was amazing. I want to say a special Thank You to the GM who was on duty on Sunday, he was great. Also to Letitia Thomas! We had a great time during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futureceo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Futurceo2007,

We appreciate your time and courtesies in posting a review of your recent stay with us – thank you. Feedback is something we always welcome, as it allows us the opportunity to understand our guest’s experience, which is most important to us.

Our full service property and amenities are perfect for family reunions - especially during the summer months.

We enjoyed hosting your family reunion.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose this hotel for a weekend trip away with our two young children based largely on the reviews on this site.

Pros: great location, staff very friendly, restaurant and its staff are great, pools (indoor and outdoor) and playground
Cons: Layout is confusing and not stroller/handicap friendly, hallways in our wing had very worn carpet and walls.

Check in was a breeze. We got to our room and unpacked. The room was very large, which was great because we were putting our youngest in a pack 'n play to sleep. We were on the ground level with a sliding glass door to lead out to a small patio. While unpacking, we killed at least 4 different bugs (spider, fly, etc.) in different areas of the room. We got the kids ready for bed, and made up the pull out sofa for our oldest. My husband sat on the corner of it and fell right through! It seems the springs were broken. Luckily, neither he nor my children got hurt, but this is something that should come up in a regular inspection of the room. By this time, it was around 9 at night- already past bedtime. We called the front desk, they offered to change our room, but we were already unpacked and ready for bed- couldn't they just switch out the sleeper sofa? They did, though it took a bit longer than I would've liked - we finally got the kids to bed around 10:30.

We stayed for a total of four nights. The first three nights were very quiet, but the third night (a Saturday) was very loud. There was a pageant and a large family reunion going on. There were large numbers of young boys thundering up and down the hallways. Thankfully the AC in the room provided great white noise. I wish the hotel staff would police the noise and running more- we almost got run over by these kids several times in the hallway.

This hotel had a great playground for my 3 1/2 year old. I've never seen that in a hotel before. It was great and provided lots of amusement. We didn't use the outdoor pool due to the high temperatures, but it looked really nice. The indoor pool was great - our kids enjoyed it.

Kids eat free when you are staying there, and we had all 4 breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner in the hotel restaurant. We had the same waitress, Jamie, for 5 out of our 6 meals. She took great care of us and gave us a lot of local knowledge on places to go. We had dinner there on Saturday night, and had a different waitress. She was largely absent, and the restaurant's AC was on the fritz, so it was a somewhat unpleasant experience. However, they gave my 3 1/2 year old a bag of goodies including play dough, coloring items, etc. What a surprise!

Housekeeping was a bit spotty. For some reason, we never had the correct amount of towels. We asked for more towels the first day, and you'd think they'd replace 4 towels with 4 towels (for 4 people in the room), but they did not. One day they did not replace the hand towels at all. Our kleenex box was left empty for 2 days until we asked for a refill. The bathroom was clean and the beds were nicely made, but some of the furniture was dusty. There was also the aforementioned bug issue the first night.

Finally, the layout of the hotel is strange, and parts of it are not wheelchair or stroller friendly. We wanted to take our stroller to the playground so our youngest could sit in the shade while the older child played. There was no clear way to get there from our floor that did not involve steps. I eventually used the grass hill in the back of the hotel but would not recommend this. I asked if there was an easier way to get back inside, and a maintenance person directed me to doors off the pool. However, the elevator didn't seem to access my wing (A1 - we were room 265). I found my way to the lobby and asked another maintenance/engineering person. The gentleman was kind enough to help carry my stroller down the steps to my room. He asked me why I didn't request a room change - we had no idea when we checked in that we would have this issue. What if someone in our party had mobility issues and needed a wheelchair or had trouble with stairs? This should be disclosed to the guests up front when assigning the room.

All in all it was a good stay. I think our rate was a high for the class of hotel, but it was a holiday weekend. It required prepayment in full.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues or anticipate using a stroller, ask if this will be an issue with your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danilynn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear danilynn17,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. Kindly be assured that our management will look into these concerns. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just returned from our 3 night stay and have to say of all the places I have stayed this is by far the best. Our first encounter was when we had 2 single rooms, there were 8 of us. We went to the front desk and Ashley and Jamelle had us in new rooms in a matter of minutes. They were so patient and friendly with all the kids. John the food and beverage manager was great and the entire staff in the restaurant especially Liz and Jamie were awesome. Housekeeping did an incredible job too. Keisha, spelling is probably wrong but she gave us alot of good tips for our visit to Hershey. The outdoor pool was just wonderful and the indoor pool was just as nice. This was just a great visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing