We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PA State Training” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“PA State Training”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for eight weeks durring a Training acadamy and was satisfied with the accomodations. However, the staff I believe went above and beyond in terms of customer service. They were all very friendly and were willing to assist me when I had a question or concern. There were several who realy stood but I was only able to get the names of three of them before I left; Nick and Terrence at the front desk and Abdul in Houskeeping, like I said there were many who stood out, but I did not get their names.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    308
    136
    75
    42
See reviews for
640
105
62
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were in town for an event at the Hershey Park area and our group reserved a block of rooms. The price was typical for the type of hotel. When I checked in, I was given a room upgrade without asking thanks to my reward points status. The agent at check-in could not have been more welcoming. We stayed on the 5th floor in a junior suite. This room was as big as my first apartment! The room was clean, comfortable, and functional while the dacor dated. The property has a functional indoor pool, outdoor for summer use and a year round outdoor spa, all close at 11 PM. The restaurant has a goo reputation, but we did not have an opportunity to eat there. Saturday night hey feature crab legs/prime rib buffet. This hotel is pet friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a rewards card, mention it at check in. If you are a gold or above at another prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfeg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

During 2011, a soccer tournament/convention was scheduled to stay at the hotel. There was concern of bed bugs. Before the teams arrived, management inspected every room to ensure it was safe. Then, Randy Stuart even called me post my stay to check on the accommodations! "Outstanding Service" by him and his team!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for having the confidence and trust in us about how serious we take bed bugs. We are safe property and take every step possible to ensure our guests feel comfortable and worry free while staying with us. We will never waver in our commitment to a welcoming environment, and encourage any arriving guest who has questions to contacts me directly.

We look forward to maintaining your loyalty and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although the building and common areas are somewhat dated, the rooms are absolutely fine. They have done furnishing updates. The staff and management were very accommodating and even found a great place for my daughter to practice her flute during our stay. The restaurant staff was also very helpful and found a place for our group of 20 to share a meal together at a moments notice. Our group also enjoyed the use of the pool and spa area and it was well maintained. Is this a shiny new hotel? No it isn't, but it is a great place to stay for the money in the Harrisburg area, with great highway access and a Supertarget with a Starbucks just across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We’re delighted to read you were happy with the service and accommodations we provided. Our convenient highway access, fun amenities and location to area shopping are a big hit with our customers, and we’re glad you were able to take advantage of them. Our team is very proud of our property, and while we realize we’re not brand new, we’ll never let that interfere with our #1 priority – great customer service!

Thank you for letting us provide you and your group with a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Carpet throughout (halls, rooms, conference rooms) so old and stained it gave me the willies. Maid service changed my sheets and towels. Ut never cleaned sink or tub (soap spots from morning still there). Sink was gurgling and rising - asked front desk to fix it in morning. That night gurgling so loud it woke me up @November 12:30 am and sewage was rising in sink. Called front desk who wasn't sure why it hadn't been fixed and had to change rooms @November 1:00 am. Half of lights in new room did not work and mattress was sagging big time.
Be afraid of thins hotel - avoid @Des all costs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chompiedeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Our sincere apologies for the recent experience you had with us. Cleanliness and condition is something we take great pride in and we’re extremely disappointed to learn of what occurred during your visit. Responding to guests needs is another area we usually excel in, so I will address the specifics of your claim in detail with the appropriate departments immediately to ensure we maintain our high standards of service and satisfaction.

You referenced November twice in your review - I would greatly appreciate hearing from you to understand more details about your visit, and how we can earn back your confidence to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family lives in the area and we frequent this hotel's restaurants on a regular basis. The sunday brunch buffet is scrumptious. Last night we took friends to the Seasons restaurant for their crab leg and prime rib buffet. It was an awesome night. The staff was friendly, the food was fabulous and the manager answered all of our questions. My friends loved it and cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and I found it just as nice as the first. The breakfast buffett was actually better the 2nd time - I understand it had a "makeover" since my first visit back in July - definitely worth the price!

I love the outside pool area - it looks so nice!

The only issue I had was with the ice machine on my floor. It wasn't working but I used the phone located in the hallway near the machines and called the front desk. They said they'd bring some to my room and in just a few minutes I had more ice than I needed!

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Beds were clean and comfy too. I like that there is an area to do hair/makeup, etc outside the bathroom w/ a good sized mirror.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for providing us with feedback of your recent stay with us. We’re thrilled to learn you’re a returning customer, and grateful for your business. We appreciate the comments regarding the breakfast buffet, as we’re continuously looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience. You’ll be happy to know we made the necessary repairs to the ice machine – thanks for acknowledging our quick response in providing you with some ice.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing