We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovations Underway But We Won't Tell You Til You're Here!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Harrisburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Harrisburg
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Renovations Underway But We Won't Tell You Til You're Here!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Instead of a long rant about this hotel, I will do a by category review:
Rooms- nice new sinks, mattresses bad in two rooms we had
Public areas- carpet and most of the decor is dated, nice electrical taped spots on carpet, did not use any of the bars or restaurants in the hotel but they appeared to be nice
Honors members breakfast area- a joke, not enough seating to accomadate a weekend business nor enough staffing to keep it filled.
Used honors points for this stay and regret it!!! What a waste. 40,000 points per night, should be 25000-30000 at most. Addressed issues with hotel and corporate but nothing addressed just a generic apology while addressing nothing and satisfying no one. FYI- if your dump of a hotel is being remodeled, let me know during the reservation process NOT when I am checking in !! So if hotel management or corporate says this is an exaggeration or that my issues were addresses, that would be some [--]!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princewood_court_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case, we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.
We will be continuing with our guest bedroom renovation through the Autumn and will then move into our public spaces. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to see the finished product!
Phillip Neiswender
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    332
    167
    75
    47
See reviews for
204
160
36
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The King Bed Tower room I stayed in was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. It was a nice mix of modern and contemporary furnishings. Staff was extremely helpful. Food I ordered from room service was much better than expected. Great cheese cake!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Khiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Khiara,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and it is great to know when we have hit our mark. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Versailles, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Uncleaned rooms, high priced food, locked bathrooms, and an indifferent staff. And those are the good qualities. And more scary, when faced with a guest with low blood sugar, the night front desk "lady" literally steered us about 200 yards to the parking garage for a vending machine that worked. Valet parking - well, yes, as long as it's during the hours that they want to work (but don't look for a sign that posts valet hours). Seriously - don't stay here. You'll thank yourself later.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Good morning Michele,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case, we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Thank you for recognizing our PM Manager on Duty for their efforts to make amends for your experience. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped here on our road trip for an over night stay. We booked on the fly using hotels.com mobile site. So we arrived at the hotel, the guy for valet parking stopped us and asked if we are valet parking and we said we are self parking. So he directed us to parking lot and said its a charge of $10. So we went up the parking lot, and then we read a message if your a hotel guest you need. "Red card " to get in the parking lot. Apparently the card is given at the checkin. Nothing was mentioned to us by the valet guy. So we stand there make calls to the hotel and get in after like 15 min. Seems like a petty complain but if you are tired and reached late night at a Hilton, you wouldn't expect that. We got a room, went up to the floor and we could smell smoke and the room was stinking. So, we call guest services and ask if its a non smoking room and he says yes. We then go down stairs and ask the lady at front desk that it seems like a smoking room and we booked a non smoking. Then she says, oh yeah that's a smoking room but we also sell as non smoking and she said that since we booked online it does not say that we needed a non smoking when the reservation reaches them. Not sure if its hotels.com issue or the hotel's issue. Overall not good experience.

Room Tip: if you booked a non-smoking room online, confirm ahead at the front desk before checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Pearl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Our team has spoken at length about the arrival process and will use your feedback to continue monitoring the service that we are providing in that area and to help streamline that process. Please accept my sincere apology for your experience regarding your room request. We will be undergoing a hotel refresh which will completely eliminate this situation. You are always welcome to reach out to the hotel in advance and make any special requests. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I travel annually to Harrisburg for business and this is by far the nicest accommodations in downtown area. The hotel is older and a little outdated, but the in house Starbucks and great room service makes up for it. The rooms are clean and nice, and other than issue with plumbing during my last stay I have no complaints regarding the rooms. There is also an indoor pool and very nice gym facility. It is also walking distance from any restaurant in downtown Harrisburg which is convenient. I would recommend to anyone traveling to the area to check out the downtown Harrisburg Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilWorldTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Lil World Traveler,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. I am pleases that the location of the hotel is convenient for your visits. Please know that we are working on a guest experience refresh and look forward to unveiling it soon. Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel. We are pleased that this will not be your last visit and that you will be staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

While bathrooms have been nicely updated rooms are older and showing wear. I have heard they are updating in the next year or so - but not up to par - loud heating cooling system. Staff is nice and professional

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation.
I'm happy to hear you like the new bathrooms! We are moving into the bedroom area in the next few months and plan to have every guestroom updated by mid-winter! We will then move into our public spaces. We look forward to welcoming you back to see the finished product!
Phillip Neiswender
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is just a short walk away from many resturants and bars. Not to mention a short drive to HersheyPark in PA. They are under renovation at the time of our stay but it was sightly noticable. Would stay here again anytime we go out to PA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Robert,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit with us. I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and that you plan to be staying with us again. As you have pointed out we are working to refresh the guest experience within the hotel and hope to unveil it soon. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Harrisburg

Property: Hilton Harrisburg
Address: 1 N 2nd St, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#10 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Harrisburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfort at the Hilton Harrisburg hotel, located in the heart of downtown Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and minutes from Hershey, Pennsylvania and Hersheypark. This Harrisburg hotel, just two blocks from the State Capitol Complex, is connected by an enclosed walkway to the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and Strawberry Square, a retail and office complex.Make Hilton your choice among Harrisburg, Pennsylvania hotels and enjoy many practical amenities. Work productively in the business center, fully equipped with all the latest technology. Maintain your work-out schedule in our fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength training equipment, or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool. Relax in a contemporary guest room, suite, or executive room with complimentary WiFi and all the modern amenities. Upgrade to an executive room for incredible views of the Harrisburg skyline and the Susquehanna River, and enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Club with complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing