We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Large, very clean room, up to date room. Nice big flat screen. Clean, modern bathroom. Comfy matress, but the pillows were sooooooo lumpy. Quiet. Easy access to nearby highways. 5 minutes to Farm Complex. Front desk staff was pleasant. Easy check in and out.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjrzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 353 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2009

While driving home from DC via Lancaster, we decided to stop along the way. Noticed a coupon for $69 in the Room Savers guide and knew that this hotel was newly redone. (Ad on 3/16 in USA Today listed 500-ish HI-brand locations as redone.)

Got a room with 2 queens (going rate with AAA was 99 so we saved!) Very comfy. Beds were great. Four pillows each-2 firm, 2 soft (embroidered on pillow cases). Nice toiletries, great shower and fluffy towels.

The breakfast was great: : scrambled eggs (probably pasteurized, NOT powdered!), bacon, biscuits, gravy, cinnamon rolls, coffee, tea, juices, pastries, etc. MUCH better than other hotels.....I stay in Marriott brands all the time, and this was better than ANY expanded continental in the limited service brands, and even better than a lot of Full Service buffets as it was HOT!

Had to get the sink stopper fixed, but that took just a few minutes. Free, fast, wireless internet in rooms and 2 computerswith 1 printer in lobby. Guest laundry on 1st floor as well.

Several restaurants around-I did take out from "Your Place" across the street. Not a fancy place.. I call it a nice "dive bar!!" Reasonably priced and yummy crab cake sandwich and a ham, cheese and pepper and onion calzone! For about 16 bucks!

IF you need to be in this area, the HIExpress Harrisburg East would be a great choice. Very easy to find off the exit! Give it a try. We are picky and had basically no issues!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisermeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

A friend and I stayed at this hotel 1/20 and 1/21/09. The hotel is well-kept and new-looking. Check-in was no problem, though 20-something clerk was rather hyper, speaking very quickly and loudly and giving an impression he wasn't fully listening.

Room was pleasant, with good heat control, very quiet with good soundproofing.
Equipped with two comfortable queen-sized beds. Room had high-definition flat-screen tv in a new-looking wall unit that also contained good-sized storage drawers, a small room fridge, coffee maker. Bathroom fine.

All rooms have access to free wireless internet, and clerk explains sign-in procedure upon check-in; you must register online each day to reactivate the service. Internet worked well on both days.

Probably a dozen restaurants within a half-mile. Most are fast food, but several a step or two above that. Hotel is on a side street, one block removed from the Union Deposit Road indicated in its address, (Pfeiffer Road?).

Breakfast room off the lobby was on the small side, rather full on second morning, but no wait for a seat. First morning offered powdered scrambled eggs, nice bacon, yogurt, cereals, bagels, Danish and other pastries, etc. Second day: pre-packaged cheese omelet, biscuits and gravy plus yogurt, cereals, etc. All you could eat (or would want to eat) for free, eliminating need for lunch if you wish. Not haute cuisine, but adequate.

Two shopping centers across the street in two directions. Not exactly a scenic place, (what is in Harrisburg?) but safe and well-lighted. Two other motels nearby. Didn't see any warehouses as mentioned in another review.

Drive into the city center took perhaps 15 minutes. Checkout a breeze.

With taxes, quoted $99/night room price came to about $115 total per night.

Overall a very positive impression.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Teach1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed here for one night recently. Nice hotel, nice rooms. Free internet in lobby with printer etc, really useful. Friendly & helpful staff. Plenty of parking.

Only drawback to this place, it is in an area like a retail park, with lots of warehouse style shops and Mc Donalds / TGI's/ Ruby Tuesdays etc. Great if you want fast food within walking distance, not great if you can't stomach fast food!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SumoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Very clean room, but room was very small compared to other rooms we have recently stayed. This hotel has been converted from a Comfort Inn & Suites. Room size was about 240 sq. ft. Also, when I booked, they claimed to have 32 " LCD flat panel TV's in every room. Our TV was 25 inch tops, and was an older model, blurry picture, hard to read "crawlers" on ESPN, CNN, etc. along the bottom. Tiny bathroom (25 sq. ft.) but this was an Express, so no big deal. Heated outdoor pool was nice, but it needed cleaning badly, which I did with the net. Front desk people were nice, but not very knowledgable about the restaurant that they gave us directions to, it was closed and had been for a while. This restaurant was also advertised in their guest directory. Overall good experience, but disappointed with size of room for $126/night with AAA discount. Perhaps because it was near Hershey Park they jack the prices up, but price should have been closer to $99 for size of room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Flying-Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Harrisburg East quite by accident during our recent visit to Hersheypark and Chocolate World.

Our main purpose was to relax and sleep so we were looking for something affordable that accepted pets. After a dozen or so calls in the Chocolate World parking lot (with no reservation) we found this little gem. They only had a non-smoking room with a King bed and a sofa bed. When we arrived they first gave us a King Bed with no sofa bed. This was quickly corrected.

We paid $94 per night (during peak Summer season on a weekend night) with our AAA savings and the PA Room-Saver booklets that you can find at the PA Rest stops.

The King bed worked perfectly for three of us and the sofa bed was fine for our 2 older kids. The beds were very comfortable.

The TV was very dated (19" tube tv) and had a big green spot on the right side but the furniture is very modern to fit a flat screen TV (as shown in their brochure). I'm sure they will be replacing these TVs soon.

The bathroom was VERY modern clean and decorated.

This was the best "contintental" breakfast that I had in a long time with cheesy omelets, sausage, bacon, variety of toasts, yogurts, fruits, etc. Checkout could have been a bit better as I had to actually go to the office. Also there is only 1 elevator in this hotel which caused delays. I took the stairs most of the times.

This hotel is a short 15-20 minute drive to Hersheypark.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewEnglandCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Ginette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: $95 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing