We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reva, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here on July 4th and it was a last minute pick. We called the manager from a parking garage to see if they had any openings, he promised to hold a room for us even though we told him it would be about an hour before we got there. The manager was great, a pleasure when we got there. The room was nice as I always expect from Holiday Inn Express. The place was packed since it was a holiday night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    121
    44
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
45
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms were wonderful, as were the staff at the hotel. Very accomodating and willing to make our stay as pleasant as possible.The Breakfast buffet was to die for, the kids really loved it.It was an easy access to reach from the highway or back & forth from Hershey Park. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious, clean and complete with everything we needed to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

There were 2 employees who really made our stay memorable--LaQuinn and Kinjal. We stayed during the labor day weekend and it was crazy with guests and kids every where. Kinjal took care of everyone's needs and went the extra mile to try and hook up our boy's playstation. Even though it wasn't possible, she came to the room to try. LaQuinn was in charge of the breakfast bar and never stopped refilling, cleaning and ensuring every demand was met with a smile. Every table in the breakfast area and lobby was full and constantly rotated. She did a remarkable job. People make all the difference in your experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for a trip to Hershey because a car show was in town and all of the hotels were booked. I guess I'm a bit of a hotel snob and used to staying at a full service hotel. With that said, the rooms were clean and comfortable, including a mini-fridge. And the complimentary breakfast in the morning was actually pretty good. The location is close to the highway but not much closeby except for chain restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allthingsfadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear allthingsfadra,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation. We are delighted to learn that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

Since our guests are the center of our focus, it is customary for our hotel staff to continually create and provide the best product always. Therefore, we are pleased that these efforts reflected in your total guest experience.

If in the future you find yourself in our area or if your business travels bring you back to our hotel we would love to have you as our guest again, as it would be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

At the time of our stay only ground floor rooms were available. Although our room was nonsmoking, the room carpet etc smelled of smoke, and clearly, this had been a smoking room in the past. The flat screen tv was plugged into a nonworking socket, and when we moved the socket, the cable was not working and the reception was terrible. The room adjacent to us had plywood nailed over the window. There was mildew in the corners of the shower. The one thing this hotel had going for it was that the front desk staff was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ground floor nonsmoking rooms smelled of smoke. But from what we heard from others we were with on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pittsburghmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear pittsburghmom01,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you found our staff to be pleasant. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations that fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

One drawer and one cabinet door had missing knobs on them. I found one of the knobs in one of the drawers. One of the queen beds had black stains on the sheets. The front desk staff were friendly as were housekeeping. There was only one washer and one dryer for the entire hotel and was always being used by one guest or another. The elevator took a very long time to arrive at your floor. The doors to the rooms shut pretty loudly. I would not come back here or recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Chloe L,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the condition of the room amenities and elevator service. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

Once again, thank you for posting your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I did a weekend stay here at this holiday inn and It was just awesome! The front desk lady, brandy shartzer, made sure I felt very welcomed, made sure i had the correct room, made me laugh, and held a conversation with me and made me feel very comfortable with my stay there. She was just all out awesome and made sure I had a great time!! I'm looking forward to visiting again next June!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing