We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A reasonable option - good location & price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A reasonable option - good location & price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire - very pleased with the result. We were looking for a convenient place to stay near the I81 with some nearby restaurant options in Harrisburg on a family trip back to Canada. Everything worked out fine - easy check-in, pleasant staff, OK room. Not the newest kid on the block, but I would stay there again in similar circumstances. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank castor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    118
    44
    25
    16
See reviews for
129
44
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I always have many choices staying in Harrisburg for events at the Farm Complex on Cameron Street. Since I have a rewards card and love when a hotel has complimentary breakfast, this one looked good, so I thought. Our arrival was flawless with my reservation, and our room was clean and comfortable. I did notice the elevators were dirty in the evening and the morning. The shocker was when the 3 of us, in the morning at 9:15, went to breakfast. First, the hallways were a disaster with cups and stuff. When we arrived to have breakfast, there was nothing left, except for some bagels and bread. There were 2 tables with people eating, but the rest were empty and not clean. The counter where the food was suppose to be had cereal all over it and other leftovers. We all looked at each other like, "Are you kidding me?!". I walked right over to the main desk and and asked if food would be filled. She immediatelt went back to the kitchen. As we waited in the breakfast area, a woman at the table overheard me saying to my friends how gross this was. She looked up at me and agreed with me. A worker came out out of the kitchen and looked at us like we just bothered him. As we stood there he started attempting to get more food doing at at snail pace and looked at us again with an attitude. As we looked at how dirty & a disaster the area was we looked at each other and decided to go out for breakfast. We went on the elevator and by the time we got our baggage to leave and came back down, I looked in the breakfast area and laughed since no food was there......I would have given a higher rating but the poor breakfast service and staff there left us aggravated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerseyHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear JerseyHorseLover,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you find our rooms clean and comfortable. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience the overall cleanliness of our breakfast bar may have caused. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in providing guest satisfaction.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had car trouble on the highway and needed a tow. I found out I was going to be stuck in Harrisburg for the night and started calling hotels. I called this one and Tracy was understanding, caring and very compationate to my situation. She made sure to express that I would not have any worries and she would see me when I got there. The staff was very nice but when Tracy heard I was there, she came right over and greeted me and asked me how I was. She went above and beyond with her gift of caring. I felt so invited and so cared for that I wanted to stay a few nights just because. :-) Thank you everyone at the hotel but I specially thank Tracy for going that extra mile and being so free spirited! Tracy - you're an asset to the company and I thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I called in at 6am asking to check in early. The guy at the front desk (Scott I believe), said yes without hesitating. He also gave us a military rate since my husband is in the army, which was very much appreciated. Our little dog was allowed to stay also, which is awesome. Its very hard to find a nice hotel thats pet friendly. My only complaint is the bed skirt on the bed was a little dirty, which wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay last minute this past weekend so my son could join his team and play in the weekend tournament. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was very friendly. Would def stay there again. Close to many amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mima9151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I must say the hotel may not be new But the service is great! Mandy is so helpful every time I come here she is so willing to help and make sure my stay is great. The whole staff is happy and is willing to accommodate there guest as best as possible. The internet works well never had an issue with it and for a continental breakfast it is not bad. Also Every time I have stayed there they seem to be doing some type of renovation (noting major to disturb your stay) but to keep it clean and up to date. There is no room service or spa that is why that is rated 1 on my chart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and had an enjoyable stay. We had a warm welcome when we arrived in the late evening which put us in a good mood after a long drive (the free cookies helped as well). The room was spacious and most importantly clean. Beds were comfortable and the heating system worked well. The only issue was the shower head was pointed out towards the bathroom floor for some reason which wasn't noticed until after the shower warmed up and the bathroom floor was soaked. The free breakfast in the morning was your standard Holiday Inn breakfast though the food looked and tasted a bit old (other than the cinnamon rolls) by the time I had breakfast. Hotel is also easy on and off the highway. I would definitely stay at this hotel as it provided a good nights sleep and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcasacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing