We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably better hotels in area...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Small room. Cramped bathroom with nonworking heat light. Dog odor in hallway. Average breakfast. However, it was quiet and location was good.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your recent visit to our area. Our staff members take great pride to ensure that our guests receive quality, clean and comfortable accommodations during their stay. For this reason, I was greatly disappointed to learn of your experience with us. Please be assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of our Maintenance Engineer and Executive Housekeeping Manager, and additional staff training is being conducted to eliminate future occurrences.

I was pleased that you found our location quiet and convenient and I hope that will stop back, during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area, to give another try to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact me personally at (717)-561-8100 if you would like to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stopped here on our way from NYC to GA. The location is great right of the interstate. Plenty of resturants close by to eat dinner at. The rooms were clean, hotel had nice decor. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolores193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your quick trip passing thru our area. I am very pleased that your stay was a very positive experience and that you would definitely stay with us again in the future. Our team members take great pride in providing clean accommodations and superior service, and they will be most pleased to learn of your experience with us! We hope that will visit us again in the future.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

There are many good points for this hotel:
- good location with several stores and restaurants nearby
- nice large lobby area
- large room with comfy beds, nice work area
- everything worked properly (fridge, LCD tv, heating unit, WiFi)
- fair size breakfast area with good breakfast items
However there were two points that lowered my rating.
The check in took a long time. There was one staff person behind the counter and 2 people ahead of me with many questions to ask checking in. After dealing with the people and a phone call I did not find the staff very friendly. I should have been acknowledged earlier or another person should have been present. Also no mention of my priority club membership. This may have been a rare occasion but it happened this time.
I found the room especially the bathroom (eg blackened grout) needed a sprucing up (eg paint job).
If and when in the area again I will try this hotel once more and hopefully I'll be able to rate it higher.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagger_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was very pleased that, overall, you found our hotel to be very appealing and our location convenient. I would like to apologize for the lengthy process at check-in time and also not being greeted appropriately. Being in the hospitality industry, this is of great concern to me and will be addresses immediately with all team members. Also, please be assured that your comments regarding the condition of your room have been forwarded to our engineering department and they have begun a maintenance program to address these concerns. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you will return and visit us again during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed two nights and everything was great. The night lady Diane was more than helpful, she was great!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I was very pleased to read your review of our hotel and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Yes, Diane is truly a hospitality professional and guest service leader at our hotel. She will be very proud to see this review. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave your comments. I hope that you will visit us again in the very near future.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Holiday Inn/ Harrisburg East is a nice property in a convenient location. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Located just off Union Deposit Road, it's convenient to a nearby shopping strip with an Outback Steak House. A second mall with a TGIF Fridays and a Lowes is on the other side of Union Deposit Road.

Room furnishings are modern and well maintained. Textured wall paper is used in the rooms and the public spaces. The downside to using textured wall paper is that it shows subpar patch work. I did notice a couple of patched holes stood out against the nice mahogany textured wall paper in the men's rest room. And, the sink in the lobby men's restroom was cracked.

There was a small hair-line crack in the on/off light switch in the bathroom of my room. It's possible that these cracks are a sign of the volume of traffic the property experences. It's also possible that the maintenance budget is smaller than the hotel warrants given the large volume of traffic it handles.

Fitness room and equipment are well maintained.

Nevertheless, the front line Reception Desk and room maintenance staff place a warm, helpful and friendly face on this property. The attributes of the staff dwarf the minor signs of wear and tear evident in the physical hotel property.

Room Tip: I was on the fifth floor facing the street. Occasionally, I heard truck noises from traffic passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post this review and give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very pleased to hear that you found our hotel team members to be warm & friendly, and our hotel to be well maintained. I also want to thank you for informing us of the few maintenance issues that need to be addressed. The feedback we receive from our guests is a great training tool for our team members and also places focus on items that we need to attend to first, as seen through our guests eyes! Also, great point regarding the traffic noise. Your comment will be noted in our next operations meeting with our Guest Service team members. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will visit us again during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.


Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family and I stayed for 5 nights, the hotel decor was very nice, the staff was very friendly and the property was clean & well maintained. Vanessa was very helpful with our reservation and went out of her way to ensure our stay was hassle-free. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaEric00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and leaving such a wonderful review of our hotel. I'm so pleased to hear that Vanessa has very helpful during your stay with us. She is an awesome example of a customer service professional and she will be very pleased to read this review. We hope to see your family here again in the near future. Do you like rollercoasters? Hersheypark is scheduled to open their new "state of the art" rollercoaster this Spring? That brings their rollercoaster total to 12!! Thanks again, we appreciate your business.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I enjoyed this place, it was not right in the city but on the outskirts in a somewhat busy location. I liked the size and cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was very small and the bathroom light made a lot of noise, I could not hear my husband talk to me the fan was just so loud and buzzing the whole time I was in the bathroom doing my make up or hair..... But other than the small bathroom with the fan that needed to definitely be replaced, it was a very nice place.The breakfast buffet and complimentary USA today paper was an added bonus. There was also free WIFI which was great. I love how these mid priced hotels give you more than the more expensive priced hotels, free brkfst, free wifi and no added fees. Only wish they had in room movies to purchase.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I also appreciate you for taking the time, out of your busy schedule, to give us your feedback and post a review of our hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us! We are pleased to be able to offer these additional ammennities complimentary to our guests, so please pass this information on to others what we have to offer! In addition, I would like to apologize for the loud bathroom fan, but I'm glad that you shared that in you review. That was a great tool for our Maintenace Engineer when inspecting rooms. I hope that you will stop back an visit us again soon. Remeber, Springtime in Hershey is a great experience!!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road, PA
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#18 of 51 in Harrisburg
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: $120 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing