We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean Rooms and AWESOME STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Benson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Clean Rooms and AWESOME STAFF”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for three nights on a vacation to Hershey and Lancaster to tour the Amish country. Our room was very clean and very spacious. The staff here are extremely nice and very helpful. The lady at the front desk, Diane, was so kind and helped us in planning our day trip to see the Amish. She even wrote out step by step directions which led us straight to our destination with no problems. There is also a guy that works at night at front desk who wears a cowboy hat and we think his name was Scottie(sp?) He has the best personality and is truly a pleasure to deal with. THis hotel is also located in a very safe area with good lighting.If you are looking for a hotel, look no further. This is the place!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room with king bed and pullout sofa. Very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Harrisburg/Lancaster area. Many guest do not realize just how close we are to the Amish Country! I am very glad to hear that your visit to our hotel was very enjoyable and our staff very accommodating. Yes, both, Diane and Scottie, are truly "seasoned" hospitality professionals, and they commit themselves to make sure that every guest need is taken care of! Now that you us, I hope that you will come back and visit again us in the near future!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    123
    48
    27
    20
See reviews for
139
46
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stopped here on our way to Cooperstown Dreams Park for a baseball tournament. SInce it was over half way and had a great tourist spot in Hershey, it made the ideal location. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The pool was well maintained and the staff was very friendly. Check-in and out was very simple and we got a great night's rest. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your trip to your tournament. I'm glad that you found us to be central to your needs. Yes, we are very accesible to many locations! I am also pleased to hear that you found our accommodations very clean and our staff very efficient. Knowing that sporting tournaments occur on an annual basis, I hope that you will visit us again during your next trip to our area.

Again, thank you for staying with us!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent one night (less than 10 hours) on Christmas Day at this property enroute from Central NY to South FL. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Good area around hotel (street with sidewalk and snowcovered grassy areas) to walk a dog. Felt safe leaving a packed car overnight in the parking lot and walking dog at night around hotel.

Didn't have breakfast as we left too early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatskillMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear "Weary" Traveller;

Thank you for staying with us this past holiday season. I'm glad you selected our hotel as your resting point during your very long drive to Florida. As a parent, and pet owner, I know how important it is to find quality accommodations that will welcome all "members" of the family, including children! Now that you found us, I hope that you will come back and visit us during your next trip through our area. Make sure you allow enough time for our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Since your visit, we've now added a new pancake machine. Hot fresh pancakes, made to order, are the best!

Please call me for reservations. (717)-561-8100.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great hotel:) Staff was wonderful, room was clean, pool was great. Hershey Park was an easy ride we loved it:) Our kids did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stones_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us this summer season. I'm very pleased to hear of your positive experience with our hotel. Our staff team members work very hard, and take great pride, in providing our guests with consistent, clean, comfortable accommodations with great service. They will be very pleased to hear of your experience!

Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you next year when Hersheypark opens their new "state of the art" roller coaster! Please feel free to contact me directly at 717-561-8100 for your reservations.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The motel is conveniently located next the high way and many restaurants and grocery stores. The hotel service is unbeatable; the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saleh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest and choosing our hotel during your visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I'm very pleased to hear that your experience with us was a very positive one. Our staff works very hard to provide quality accommodations and superior service. Your kind words will be shared with everyone. I hope you will visit us again in the future!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red lion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Having had a bad experience at a HIE in Emporia, VA, I wasn't sure about staying here but this was GREAT! For the cost, we had a very nice room, wonderful breakfast, very nice pool experience and the staff was very courteous and helpful. Only 15 minutes to Hershey Park. Less than 10 min to Bass Pro Shops. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreeves21132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a "try" after your recent experience at another hotel. Horpfully, that was just an isolated case and your visit with us showed you the "real" Holiday Inn Express experience. We appreciate your very kind words and your experience will be shared with our team members. We hope you visit us again. Rumor has it, a 'new state of the art' roller coaster will be opening in Spring 2012. Get ready for the fun!!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I had business in Harrisburg and my company made this reservation for me. From start to finish this was a wondwerful overnight stay. Check-in was quick and easy and the front desk staff was very friendly and professional. When I came back down and asked for some local directions, they were quickly provided and were simple and direct.
The location is perfect...outside the downtown area but easily accesible off the highway and with plenty of restaurants nearby.

I've traveled a lot for business and I can't recall any other time that I've seen a PANCAKE- making machine and had Chipped Beef available to go with my eggs at a breakfast bar. Perfect way to start a day after an excellent night's sleep.

from start to finish this was a terrific, but way too shor,t stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NJSteveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to our area. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was "perfect" for you in every aspect. Our Guest Services Manager continually works with our staff members to evalute, and train, them in their ability to better serve our guests. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed our "newest" addition to our breakfast bar area! Our new pancake machine is the most recent change in the Holiday Inn Express family of hotels and it has been received very well. Hot fresh pancakes are the best way to start the day! We hope to see you again during your next business trip to our area.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
301 reviews
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing