We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One perfect night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“One perfect night”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I had business in Harrisburg and my company made this reservation for me. From start to finish this was a wondwerful overnight stay. Check-in was quick and easy and the front desk staff was very friendly and professional. When I came back down and asked for some local directions, they were quickly provided and were simple and direct.
The location is perfect...outside the downtown area but easily accesible off the highway and with plenty of restaurants nearby.

I've traveled a lot for business and I can't recall any other time that I've seen a PANCAKE- making machine and had Chipped Beef available to go with my eggs at a breakfast bar. Perfect way to start a day after an excellent night's sleep.

from start to finish this was a terrific, but way too shor,t stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NJSteveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to our area. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was "perfect" for you in every aspect. Our Guest Services Manager continually works with our staff members to evalute, and train, them in their ability to better serve our guests. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed our "newest" addition to our breakfast bar area! Our new pancake machine is the most recent change in the Holiday Inn Express family of hotels and it has been received very well. Hot fresh pancakes are the best way to start the day! We hope to see you again during your next business trip to our area.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    123
    48
    27
    20
See reviews for
139
46
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed one night - got a great price using Priceline.com...actually wanted to stay closer to Hershey - but this was not a bad drive (about 8 miles away). Loved the fact we could use their laundry area to wash our clothes and also took advantage of the 2 walkup computers with free high-speed internet and printer. The only complaint I had was that this hotel apparently books solid because of it's close proximity to a major thoroughfare and their common areas - specifically their breakfast area - is too small to accomodate the many guests in the hotel. My family of 4 had to eat in shifts, wait in a line for the pancakes and didn't get juice which was emptied by 9:00 a.m. and not refilled. People were eating at the computer desks, the front lobby, everywhere they could put their plates down - it was a silly sight to see. The food you could get was decent and there was a good variety.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_coch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. Yes, we are only 8 miles from Hershey with mostly highway driving, and If your willing to drive that distance, you might be able to save a lot on your rate, especially through online booking agencies. I'm glad that worked well for you! Your right, during high demand periods, we are limited in breakfast seating. We are definately planning to address this with future renovations. However, in the mean time, we do attempt to offer as much seating as possible, including our lobby area and, whenever possible, our meeting/banquet room. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel we found to be a little lower on scale of other holiday inn expresses. The location was good and fit our needs. Staff was very friendly. The rooms were decorated with dark colors which made it seem older. There were Just two problems with our room: our bed creaked and the roof above our shower had some mold. Overall I would say it was ok for a holiday inn

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khnluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest;

I'm glad to hear your overall experience during your visit to our hotel was positive. While we always like to believe we are perfect, we do understand that we make mistakes and may over look certain areas. I'm glad you brought these two concerns to our attention. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff memebers have now been paying closer attention to these details. Also, we are always in the planning stages for future renovations and we look forward the hearing the view points from our guests concerning the current/previous decor choices that were made. Your right, brighter might be better in the future! Please come back and visit us when you return to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just wanted to give the staff a compliment.. Our stay there on April 30 and May 1, 2011 was wonderful.. We were from out of town and had reserved our room on the Internet for 1 evening but once we got there we decided to stay 2 nights. The clerk that checked us in was very pleasant, I believe his name was Brandon. Our second night there Vanessa was the clerk all night then again in the morning. She was wonderful!!!!! I would like to commend her on her professionalism and courtesy. Thanks again for the wonderful treatment.. When we are in the area again you can bet we will be staying in this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpymom2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for this review. You don't know how proud our staff members are to see their names posted for the quality service they provide to our guests. I'm glad you where able to take time to remember their names and post your experience for others to review. This goes a long way! Thanks again, and please be sure to contact me personally for your reservations during your return trip!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the warmth and helpfulness of the entire staff. It made the stay very comfortable. Also, many shops and restaurants are within walking distance, which is a big plus in Harrisburg. The rooms are well-appointed, clean and everything was in working order. The only downside of the stay was that no microwaves are provided in-room. The microwave is kept right off the main lobby not far from the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAnneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear Guest;

I would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I'm very pleased to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and the staff friendly. Our staff members work very hard to to provide quality accommodations for our guests and your positive comments will go along way! We hope to see you again during your next visit to our wonderful area. Please contact me personally at 717-561-8100 for your reservation needs. Thank you again!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Everything about our stay at the HIE impressed us. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was wonderful. At the extremely affordable rate we got, we weren't expecting much, but I would say I enjoyed our stay as much as some much higher end hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. I also want to say "thanks" for all of your kind words. Our staff members work very hard to ensure our guests experience superior service with comfortable and clean accommodations. Your positive comments will go along way! We hope to see you again during your next visit to our area!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I stayed here while doing business in both Harrisburg West and the Hershey area over the course of 3 days--good central location for both. Lots of stores and restaurants within walk or short drive. Nice room, nice staff; provided all I needed for a comfortable nights rest. Breakfast was suitable with very good coffee. Clean, quiet room, nice decor. Good bed and a hot shower. Found a great deal for this room and was not disappointed. I kept thinking, for this price, there's got to be something wrong with the place - but there was absolutely nothing wrong! It was quite nice. I would book here again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUDISUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to the Harrisburg/Hershey are. I'm glad you found us be central to both location desitnations. Due to our highway access, you are able to quickly access many areas with ease. I was very pleased to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and our staff friendly. Our staff members work very hard and take great pride in their work to ensure our guests experience comfortable, clean and dependable accommodations. I hope that you will contact me directly (717-561-8100) for your reservations during your next visit to our area. Again, thank you for your kind comments!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
301 reviews
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing