We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but eh”
Review of Harrisburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harrisburg Hotel
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned home from a few day stay at this hotel. First I have to say that the staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating! Our room was very nice and clean but the rest of the hotel left a lot to be desired. The unbearably hot elevators were old and scary. The hallways smelled of a horrible must problem. The smell did not enter the room but we were hit with hit as soon as we opened the door. The ceiling tiles had also been taken out and it just kinda looked wrong. The pool was very nice and the area around it was well manicured but it could have used a quick skim. Again, I can't state enough how very friendly the staff was and how nice the room was. In the end, the room is the important part so I would stay again. The management just needs to address the issues I really think are just aging problems.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Harrisburg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Although the rooms are very attractive and the bed was comfortable the AC was just barely able to cool the room so we could sleep. The elevator should have been called a Hellavator it was so hot. The first floor by the reception desk was comfortably cool. All other hallways were miserably hot. I liked the hotel but it is definitely not new and they were trying to save $ on cooling. Oh, and they charged for substandard microwaved egg sandwiches. A free breakfast would have really helped the value. It costs to go to a restaurant every morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chihuaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

First let me thank-you for your review. I can tell we did have some ac issues during the externally hot weeks we have had recently and I am sorry you had some while visiting. We have recently purchased several new units to replace the ones we had problems with and also have serviced our commercial space so they can better handle the hot summer we are having. We are happy you did enjoy our room and it's amenities and do hope you will visit us in the future. Please call me direct and I will be sure to make it right. Thanks again for your comments.

Steve Tremmel
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel
Harrisburg Hershey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here recently for lacrosse tournament in Hershey. This hotel is very nice with clean rooms. Hershey is a short 15-20 minute drive. Our room even had a microwave and mini refrigerator-which is available upon request. The elevators are very slow-which would be my only complaint and the ice machines are hard to find and ran out of ice. Little barista in lobby was great for snacks and drinks-staff was very friendly and filled our water bottle with ice and water each morning with a smile. We did not have a problem with hot water as noted in earlier reviews and the hotel was sold out. Right off highway, easy to find and get to. Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaxMom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank-you for your comments. We are very glad you discovered the Wyndham Garden Harrisburg/ Hersey.. As you mentioned our location is great for seeing the many attractions Hershey has to offer . We do pride ourselves in cleanliness and it is job one with our housekeeping department. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Harrisburg/ Hershey area.

Steve Tremmel
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was a nice hotel with very clean rooms. Had flat screen tv's and the rooms were pretty modern. There wasn't a free continental breakfast but they had a nice place in the lobby that sold breakfast goods for a few dollars. This hotel was about 20 minutes away from Hershey Park but there was more to do in Harrisburg than near Hershey. They need to update their elevators though, it was the only thing that didn't fit in with the hotel and they didn't feel the safest. We couldn't find an ice machine, not sure if that's normal. I'd stay here again though.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hargirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank-you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Garden Hotel in Harrisburg/ Hershey. As you mentioned we pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms and hotel. We are in the process of making some upgrades to our elevators. Also i am glad you were able to enjoy the many things Harrisburg has to offer and that we are central to them all. I look forward to having you visit again.

Stephen Tremmel, GM
Wyndham Garden Hotel
Harrisburg/Hershey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I do not understand the low review I saw. We had a nice corner room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Great view to the north east. Two big picture windows. I read other reviews and noted what they said. Yes, you might expect everything to be perfect for a high price but we paid half price. For that this is an outstanding deal. (would be a good deal anyway) The room was very clean, spacious, great linens, had a very nice chair with outlets for gadgets. There was a desk too. Small fridge and microwave. Very good, strong shower, unlimited hot water. Very clean bath. Nice touches here and there. Good flat screen TV. So we stayed 3 days so we could do our laundry (traveling cross country) and rest a bit. There isn't an ice machine on the second floor because they put the washer and dryer in. Other floors have ice though. The pool is outside and clean and pretty big and there are a lot of lounge chairs. The elevators are somewhat worn but our room and the halls looked really good. Plenty of parking in a nice area. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby. Easy access to highway. Our room faced the road and was very quiet. Air worked great. The exercise room has 4 machines. I would visit here again for sure. Absolutely no complaints. There is no free breakfast but there are items you can purchase. That doesn't bother us.

Room Tip: I think the corner rooms are a little bigger. Those in front have a great view as the hotel is on a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizatutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice hotel very close to the turnpike and hershey. Stayed 1 night for business and was satisfied both with price and hotel. Room was avg size, nice laptop work chair, lighting in room was not great and A/C might be underpowered for a hot day, however was ok for my stay in the 80's. easy in and out from the hwy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I was very unhappy with this hotel. The rooms are very small. The staff were not friendly. I would NOT stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tesimpson1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
#17 of 50 in Harrisburg
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Harrisburg
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
#25 of 50 in Harrisburg
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrisburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisburg Hotel

Address: 765 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2308 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Harrisburg/Hershey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: $69 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrisburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrisburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Wyndham Harrisburg
Harrisburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing