We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Traditional Italian”
Review of Sammy's

Sammy's
Ranked #43 of 538 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Traditional Italian”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very traditional feel as you walk in. Not overly fancy, but nice and comfortable. When we got there at 6:30, it was almost empty. By 7PM the place was packed. My wife had a veal special with shrimp. Home made pasta noodles were excellent. We also had a salmon appetizer that was good, but pretty expensive for what we got. My wife is allergic to mixed greens, so she asked if the waiter could prepare a vegetable. He sautéed carrots and squash with olive oil and garlic. They should put THAT on the menu. I had the Vodka cream sauce and seafood which we also enjoyed. Prompt and friendly service. Nice night out to re-connect with my wife.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryMc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a great Italian dinner then grab a bottle of wine and head to Sammy's.
We have been here several times and the food is awesome. It is always piping hot and has so much flavor you will crave it until the next time you can visit.
The menu has so much to choose from. The staff is friendly and eager to please and chef Sammy's creations will melt in your mouth.

Helpful?
Thank Tami F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
218 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A real italian eatery”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a great dinner here with my brother-in-law, who lives in Harrisburg but had never eaten at Sammy's. Upon entering, we were the only diners on a week night but were quickly joined by other diners. Daily seafood and Italian specials abound. No cocktails, but understood that you could BYOB. (I'm not from Pennsylvania so I'm unfamiliar with the state's liquor licenses).

Our server was attentive and Sammy, the proprietor, prepared our meals. I had a crab meat over linguini entrée and chocolate cake (prepared by a local bakery) and wasn't disappointed. Entrees were ample, so ample my brother-in-law had to take a portion of his home.

A very wonderful place to eat; hope to return someday.

A short walk from Second Street business district has you there in about 8 minutes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Sammy's. Not our first time here. I had a ribeye special, well actually I had half a ribeye special because it was so large, and absolutely delicious. My husband had the eggplant rollatini, also delicious. Dessert was crème caramel - plenty to share and amazing. We have resolved to dine here more often, not just on special occasions, because Sammy makes each time special. Waiter was Tim and he was a pleasure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here because the menu looked so tasty. The momemt we sat down and ordered its a byob restaurant their entrées are so expensive and they give so little. I ordered fettuccine alfredo it tasted like regukar boiled noodles the side salad was 5 huge pieces of lettuce and my boyfriend had almost the same with an exception of clams our order was almpst 80 totally not worth it. I'd rather spend 80 at red lobster or olive garden.

Helpful?
3 Thank Daynia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing