We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Great Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed February 14, 2009

I was traveling through the Hershey area and stayed at the Scottish Inn and Suites.
They have a very helpful staff and clean rooms at a really good price.

I would recommend you and your family staying at the Scottish Inn.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank vimal1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

Dark room. Bathroom a bit dirty. Dirty old towel from previous occupant hanging on the bathroom door. Room smelled of really strong super perfume-y cleaning product. Couldn't sleep because of smell. Dirty mirrors. Bed was spongy and unconfortable. Windows were very dirty. Something good to say: the receptionist was pleasant.

Maybe we just got a bad room....

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thescreamingmimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Jonestown Rd location just outside Hershey. Spoke to front desk directly on phone Thursday night, requested for a room with a queen bed for me and my wife. Confirmed 2 day stay in queen bed.

Technically, the attendant tried to confirm a reservation for a twin bed room, and I corrected him saying "No, I'd like a queen bed please" to which he responded "Oh, a queen, yes. Right."

Arrived next day, at check in I was greeted by same person from phone conversation to find there was no queen bed room available! Had no choice but to accept two twin beds.

I got the feeling I was fed lip service just to get the business. Didnt even get an apology from the front desk either!! Now I'm hostage to their 48 hour cancellation policy, so I can't just take my business elsewhere or I would have. 6 hours away from home I was kind of helpless.

$80 a nite for two nites was the cheapest we were able to find in the area, so thats why we chose this location. Not a bad price for the condition of the place, if you're lucky enough to not have the experience I did. Nearby places were $100-$150 a night being so close to Hershey.

The room we got (#105) was directly across from the elevator, and right off the lobby. This lent to lots of noise from the hallway in the evening. Floors and walls are thin, neighboring people next door and upstairs (a bunch of young girls until midnite) were noisy (not hotels fault, but the thin walls & creaky floors didnt help). The bathroom door didnt close all the way to latch.

The building was relatively new and clean though, water pressure was good for the shower.

Quite unhappy with the stay. I kind of feel like I was tricked. Would have appreciated some offer of compensation for the botched reservation. They didnt even appear to be close to half full. I wont recommend them or go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Yorktown_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

If you are planning a trip to the Hershey or Harrisburg, PA area, this is certainly the place to stay. Let me preface my statements by saying that my family is extremely hard to please when it comes to hotel accommodations. However, we were very impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the room. The amenities were excellent. The second floor even had a computer for guests to use to get directions to the many places of interest in the area. The location is simply perfect, right in the center of all of the attractions of the state. The continental breakfast served was extraordinary. All of the members of the hotel staff that we came in contact with went out of their way to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. The members of the staff were very friendly and very accommodating. This hotel is conveniently located to Hershey Park, Knoebels Amusement Park, downtown historical district, capital buildings in Harrisburg and Chocolate World. It was approximately a five to seven minute drive to the entrance of the Hershey Park.

Our stay at the Scottish Inn & Suites in Harrisburg, PA was very enjoyable. We will certainly frequent this hotel in our future vacations to this area of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank becky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights in June. The hotel is nearly new and right next door to a Country Hearth Inn. The whole place is clean, everything worked, free internet was available and the staff were all helpful and friendly. We walked in with a coupon and got a very good rate of around $45 + tax. For this rate, breakfast was completely satisfactory. The hotel is also well situated for Hershey.

The only downside is its general location. This exit on the freeway seems to be a major truck stop. Most of them actually seem to stay the night on the opposite side of the freeway near Perkins and MacDonalds but there is a weigh station near the hotel so there are a lot of trucks around (not audible inside in our room though). So drive about 100 yards one way and you find yourself in pleasant residential areas, 400 yards the other and its truck haven.
There is nothing really for children to do here after a hard day at Hershey so not recommended for a long stay with kids but for a couple like us making a short visit or for anyone passing through it was fine. The hotel staff are doing a great job in unpromising surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cheshireite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Not in the city; out in the boonies. Good place to stay on the way out of town north/east. Vanilla. Nice and clean. Basic accommodations. Sounds carry through walls some. No coffee pot, fridge, microwave, shampoo. Only one vending machine: Pepsi. Closest restaurant is a Perkins at the neighboring truck stop - pleasant: regulation Perkins fare.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank All50States-n-More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

i recently stayed at the scottish inn. i stopped because i needed a rest after driving all day and found the staff to be friendly (answered the billion questions i had about food, weather, things to do, etc) and the rooms to be clean. it was exactly what i needed after a day of driving.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roadwarrior79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
#33 of 50 in Harrisburg
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Harrisburg - Hershey North
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#4 of 9 in Grantville
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North

Address: 7975 Jonestown Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-9717 (Formerly Scottish Inn and Suites Hershey/Harrisburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: $54 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns & Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Scottish Inns And Suites Harrisburg
Scottish Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing