We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Diner

Capitol Diner
Ranked #11 of 533 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Cuisines: American, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Traditional diner. No surprises. Good food, good service, fair prices. Exactly what I expected! You can't go wrong here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoupsOn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    211
    81
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
425 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Pass on the beef dip and fries”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We'd just flown in and not much was open. We arrived at about 10:30 pm. I was glad to see a sign indicating they served wine and beer. Great -- just what the doctor ordered after flying all day. But wait! No beer or wine after 10 pm - restaurant policy. The server wasn't sure why this was so.

I ordered the French (beef) dip and fries. The au jus was so salty that I couldn't eat it. The fries were the flimsy kind - as though they'd sat out for a while. The meal came with cole slaw - about a thimble full.

The service was great! The restaurant was very clean. My husband ordered a piece of coconut cake was huge and delicious!

We would only go back if it were the only non-fast food place open.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The meal was very good. Nice portions. Excellent waitress. Would eat there again. The diner was very clean.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good enough I would come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Was staying next door at red roof so it was great to grab take out. I based this on other reviews about it being busy - could have eaten there plus it looked very nice. I ordered the grilled chicken on lettuce and it was heavenly - spicy which I loved - soda was tiny for the price. Would have eaten here again and will when I come back to the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pemcorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great classic diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just what you would expect. Lots of tasty food in big portions. Good for breakfast or lunch. Big menu options

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Diner also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing